Paul Knipe

Year: 2014 – Province: British Columbia

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Mount Baker Secondary School
1410 Baker Street
Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 1B2

Principal: Mr. Jason Tichauer
School Tel.: 250-426-5241
School email: Jason.tichauer@sd5.bc.ca
School website: http://sd5.bc.ca

Subjects and grades taught: Grades 10-12, 1st year college, Drafting, Adapted Technology

Teaching approach

Progressive, passionate and professional, Mr. Knipe's drafting classes attract a broad range of students. Under his helm, they learn the importance of using their new skills to give back to the community and creating positive change in the lives of others.

Outstanding achievements:

  • Created the Adapted Technology course, to introduce developmentally disabled students to using technology and encouraging community involvement. The course has become a model of inclusivity throughout BC;
  • Continuously develops important community projects every semester (e.g., building a full-sized playground for a First Nations campground or building schoolyard '"Buddy Benches" for elementary students);
  • Introduced AutoCAD, the industry standard computer drafting and design program for engineering and architecture, to his school with a joint venture between the College of the Rockies and School District No. 5 South East Kootenay;
  • Awarded Certificate of Appreciation by the Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of BC for supporting career awareness throughout the province.

Rave reviews

Paul has quietly gone about the school over two decades as the 'silent heartbeat' of the school and community, inspiring and allowing a multitude of students to follow their dreams and reach for the stars.

Principal

You are awesome! Thank you for being such a supportive, positive and encouraging person. You have helped me out so much this term—in any case, know that you are making a big positive impact.

Student
Date modified:

Paul Knipe

Année : 2015 – Province : Colombie‑Britannique

Lauréat d'un certificat d'honneur

Mount Baker Secondary School
1410, rue Baker
Cranbrook (Colombie‑Britannique) V1C 1B2

Directeur : Jason Tichauer
Téléphone de l'école : 250‑426‑5241
Courriel de l'école : Jason.tichauer@sd5.bc.ca
Site Web de l'école : www.sd5.bc.ca

Années et matières : de la 10e à la 12e année, première année collégiale, dessin industriel et technologie adaptée

Méthode d'enseignement

Avant‑gardiste, passionné et professionnel, M. Knipe attire une grande diversité d'élèves dans ses classes de dessin industriel. Sous sa gouverne, ils apprennent l'importance d'utiliser leurs nouvelles compétences pour redonner à la collectivité et créer des changements positifs dans la vie des autres.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • A créé un cours de technologie adaptée, en vue d'inciter les élèves handicapés par un retard de développement à se servir de la technologie et encourager la participation de la collectivité;
  • Le cours de technologie adaptée est devenu un modèle d'inclusion partout en Colombie‑Britannique;
  • Il ne cesse de pondre d'importants projets communautaires chaque semestre (p. ex., aménager un grand terrain de jeu pour un terrain de camping des Premières nations ou bâtir des bancs de l'amitié pour les élèves du primaire);
  • A présenté dans son école AutoCAD, un programme conforme aux normes de l'industrie en matière de conception et de dessin assistés par ordinateur pour les domaines du génie et de l'architecture, et a établi à cet égard une entente de coentreprise entre le College of the Rockies et le district scolaire no 5 de South East Kootenay;
  • A reçu le certificat d'appréciation des géoscientifiques et ingénieurs professionnels de la C.-B. pour son soutien à l'égard de la promotion de ces carrières dans l'ensemble de la province.

Commentaires élogieux

Depuis plus de deux décennies, Paul fait tranquillement son travail à l'école, âme silencieuse de l'école et de la collectivité, inspirant une multitude d'élèves à réaliser leurs rêves et à viser plus haut.

Le directeur

Vous êtes fantastique! Merci d'être une personne positive, encourageante et toujours prête à apporter son soutien. Vous m'avez tellement aidé ce semestre; sachez que vous avez un énorme impact positif.

Un élève
Date de modification :