Monica Lee

Year: 2015 – Province: British Columbia

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

David Livingstone Elementary School
315 23rd Avenue East
Vancouver, British Columbia V5V 1X6

Principal: Mrs. Bridget Browning
School telephone: 604-713-4985
School email: mylee@vsb.bc.ca
School website: liv-online.vsb.bc.ca

Subjects and grades taught: Kindergarten, All Subjects

Teaching approach

Many people think young learners lack the ability of complex and critical thought: not Mrs. Monica Lee! She believes with the right opportunity and stimulating learning environment, students can set goals and act as leaders and role models for their peers.

Outstanding achievements:

  • Created a "Choose Your Own Adventure" digital SMART Board project for students struggling with fine motor skills; students designed a story without challenges of physical hand writing;
  • Her classes performed well in literacy tests; over 85% of her students read at or above grade level, 20% of those students reading at a Grade 2 level;
  • Promoted leadership skills amongst her Kindergarten classes with the "Welcome to Kindergarten" event. Students set goals and worked within a two month timeline to organize a school tour for 44 incoming Kindergarten students and their families;
  • Presented at the Learning and Development Communities Conference in Yichang, Hubei, China on integration of SMART Boards in the classroom;
  • Took a five-month leave of absence to volunteer full time with the international non-profit organization International China Concern at an orphanage for children with special needs in Hengyang, China.

Rave reviews

What has impressed me is the way that she weaves the use of technology into her teaching without sacrificing anything important. With her, it is never 'technology for technology's sake', and she never overlooks her students' academic, social, emotional or physical development.

Parent

Her teaching is grounded in research—as an example, she is currently involved in an inquiry of the Reggio Emilia approach to learning. Monica provides opportunities for her children to learn through exploration and discovery.

Principal
Date modified:

Monica Lee

Année : 2015 – Province : Colombie‑Britannique

Lauréate d'un certificat d'honneur

David Livingstone Elementary School
315, 23e avenue Est
Vancouver (Colombie‑Britannique)  V5V 1X6

Directrice : Bridget Browning
Téléphone de l'école : 604‑713‑4095
Courriel de l'école : mylee@vsb.bc.ca
Site Web de l'école : liv-online.vsb.bc.ca

Années et matières : maternelle, toutes les matières

Méthode d'enseignement

De nombreuses personnes pensent que les jeunes apprenants ne peuvent pas faire preuve de pensée critique et complexe : ce n'est certainement pas le cas de Monica Lee! Elle croit qu'en offrant les bonnes occasions et un milieu d'apprentissage stimulant, les élèves peuvent établir des buts et devenir des chefs de file et des modèles pour leurs pairs.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • A créé un projet numérique à l'aide de tableau SMART Board, « Choisis ton aventure »,  pour les élèves ayant des difficultés de motricité fine; les élèves ont imaginé une histoire sans avoir à se buter à la difficulté d'écrire;
  • Ses classes réussissent bien les tests de lecture; ainsi, plus de 85 % de ses élèves lisent au niveau de l'année ou au‑dessus de celui‑ci, et 20 % de ces élèves lisent au niveau de deuxième année;
  • A développé l'esprit de leadership dans ses classes de maternelle en instaurant une activité visant à souhaiter la bienvenue à la maternelle. Les élèves ont établi des objectifs et ont travaillé pendant deux mois à organiser une visite de l'école pour 44 nouveaux élèves de la maternelle et leurs familles;
  • A fait une présentation à la conférence Learning and Development Communities à Yichang, Hubei, en Chine sur l'intégration des tableaux SMART Boards dans la classe;
  • A pris un congé de cinq mois pour offrir son aide à plein temps à l'organisation internationale sans but lucratif China Concern à un orphelinat d'enfants ayant des besoins spéciaux à Hengyang, en Chine.

Commentaires élogieux

Ce qui m'impressionne est la façon dont elle intègre l'utilisation de la technologie à ses méthodes d'enseignement sans rien sacrifier à la qualité. Pour elle, la technologie pour la technologie n'a aucun sens; elle tient toujours compte du développement scolaire, social, émotionnel ou physique de ses élèves.

Un parent

Ses méthodes d'enseignement sont intimement liées à la recherche. Par exemple, elle participe actuellement à une étude sur l'approche pédagogique Reggio Emilia. Monica donne l'occasion à ses enfants d'apprendre par l'exploration et la découverte.

La directrice
Date de modification :