Amos Lee

Year: 2014 – Province: British Columbia

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Burnaby South Secondary School
5455 Rumble Street
Burnaby, British Columbia V5J 2B7

Principal: Lee Anne Kristmanson
School telephone: 604-664-8560
School email: leeanne.kristmanson@sd41.bc.ca
School website: www.south.sd41.bc.ca

Subjects and grades taught: Grades 8-12, Math and Calculus

Teaching approach

Mr. Amos Lee's goal is to make math a fun learning experience instead of a burden. He counters the question of "When are we ever going to use this?" by showing the link between math and real world applications such as business and sales optimization and the use of infinite geometric series in cellphone chip development.

Outstanding achievements:

  • Under Mr. Lee's lead, Burnaby South Secondary School is one of the first schools to pilot the AP Capstone program, which provides Grade 10 students the skills needed for post-secondary education. Only four schools in BC and 100 schools worldwide have had the privilege to test this program;
  • Frequently conducts workshop, seminars and speaks at high-level conferences (e.g., British Columbia Association of Math Teachers, Vancouver Advanced Placement Conference, and teacher orientated Professional Days in Burnaby, Surrey, Vancouver and North Vancouver);
  • Advocate of the Rebels Food program, an initiative that provides lunch to Burnaby South students every day;
  • Developed a new 'end of term' exam for honours students to broaden their understanding of mathematics for the upcoming year—many other teachers have adopted this exam;
  • His support has helped several students gain acceptance to Ivy League universities—Princeton, Harvard, MIT and Berkeley.

Rave reviews

Students love to work with Amos and he inspires them to give it their best and achieve high standards. They have fun, learn a lot, and make great memories along the way.

President, BC Association of Math Teachers

Amos has high expectations of students—not just to be a good student but to be a good citizen. He challenges students to think and encourages them to strive for nothing but the best. Amos has always emphasized to students that it is not only the grade, but the learning experience—being a life long learner.

Colleague
Date modified:

Amos Lee

Année : 2015 – Province : Colombie‑Britannique

Lauréat d'un certificat d'honneur

Burnaby South Secondary School
5455, rue Rumble
Burnaby (Colombie‑Britannique)  V5J 2B7

Directrice : Lee Anne Kristmanson
Téléphone de l'école : 604‑664‑8560
Courriel de l'école : leeanne.kristmanson@sd41.bc.ca
Site Web de l'école : www.south.sd41.bc.ca

Années et matières : de la 8e à la 12e, mathématiques et calcul

Méthode d'enseignement

Amos Lee a comme principal objectif de rendre les mathématiques amusantes, au lieu d'un fardeau. Il rétorque à la question « Quand allons‑nous vraiment nous servir de ces notions? » en démontrant le lien entre les mathématiques et les applications au monde réel, comme l'optimisation des activités et des ventes et l'utilisation de séries géométriques infinies dans le développement de puces pour cellulaires.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Sous la gouverne de M. Lee, l'école secondaire de Burnaby South est l'une des premières écoles à mettre à l'essai le programme AP Capstone, qui permet aux élèves de la 10e année d'acquérir les compétences voulues pour faire des études postsecondaires. Seulement quatre écoles en C.‑B. et 100 écoles dans le monde entier ont le privilège de mettre à l'essai ce programme;
  • Mène fréquemment des ateliers, séminaires et exposés à des conférences de haut niveau (p. ex., la Brisith Columbia Association of Math Teachers, Vancouver Advanced Placement Conference et les journées professionnelles destinées aux enseignants à  Burnaby, Surrey, Vancouver et North Vancouver);
  • Ardent promoteur du programme Rebels Food Program, une initiative qui a pour objectif de fournir chaque jour le dîner aux élèves de Burnaby South;
  • A mis au point un nouvel examen de fin de semestre pour les élèves à rendement élevé afin d'élargir leurs connaissances des mathématiques pour l'année à venir. De nombreux autres enseignants ont adopté cet examen;
  • Son soutien a aidé plusieurs élèves à être acceptés aux universités de la Ivy League  (Princeton, Harvard, MIT et Berkeley).

Commentaires élogieux

Les élèves adorent travailler avec Amos et il les inspire à donner ce qu'ils ont de mieux et atteindre les plus hauts sommets. Ils ont du plaisir, apprennent beaucoup de choses et se créent des souvenirs mémorables en cours de route.

– Le président de la BC Association of Math Teachers

Amos a des attentes élevées à l'égard de ses élèves, non seulement pour qu'ils soient de bons élèves mais également de bons citoyens. Il met au défi ses élèves de penser par eux‑mêmes et les encourage à viser rien de moins que l'excellence. Amos a toujours  souligné à ses élèves qu'il ne s'agit pas seulement de notes, mais de l'expérience de l'apprentissage, pour ainsi maintenir  le goût d'apprendre toute leur vie.

– Un collègue
Date de modification :