Scott Ormiston

Year: 2014 – Province: British Columbia

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

School District 42 Maple Ridge-Pitt Meadows District Office
22225 Brown Avenue
Maple Ridge, British Columbia V2X 8N6

Principal: Mr. Ron Lanzarotta
School telephone: 604-463-4200
School email: ron.lanzarotta@sd42.ca
School website: www.sd42.ca

Subjects and grades taught: Grades 8-12, Academic support for all courses

Teaching approach

Mr. Scott Ormiston believes the tools for lifetime learning and becoming a socially responsible citizen are critical thinking, goal setting and working with others. He encourages these skills by providing specialized study sessions to build students' confidence, using the "Brag Board" to highlight achievements and guiding his students as they start projects that generate money for the school community.

Outstanding achievements:

  • Valuable member of a leadership team responsible for 25% gain in Aboriginal graduation rates throughout the school district;
  • The Garibaldi Special Education Department, developed under Mr. Ormiston's leadership, was used as an exemplary case model for resource departments in other schools;
  • Implemented the "Brag Board" to promote student success. Hundreds of students place an academic achievement on the board that translates into entries for a prize draw. The more achievements the better odds to win;
  • Partnered with Shell Oil Canada to provide funds to develop a student operated recycling fund;
  • Dedicated volunteer coach during the last 43 years for both school and community sports organizations. Mr. Ormiston's leadership and devotion has impacted hundreds of young athletes earning many provincial titles and a national championship.

Rave reviews

When our little girl lost hope, Mr. O was the beacon that brought her a renewed sense of purpose and identity. He helped her realize that a big heart, a caring soul and good intentions are all that ever matter in life, and mirrored the very light he asks of himself. He is the definition of commitment.

Parent

Scott is truly an amazing educator. Year after year former students feel the need to come and visit him. This reflects the amazing relationship that Scott has with his students and the impact that he has made in their lives. Scott fosters mutual respect with his students and as a result creates relationships that are meaningful and important to both him and the students.

Colleague
Date modified:

Scott Ormiston

Année : 2015 – Province : Colombie-Britannique

Lauréat d'un certificat d'honneur

School District 42 Maple Ridge-Pitt Meadows District Office
22225, avenue Browne
Maple Ridge (Colombie‑Britannique)  V2X 8N6

Directeur : Ron Lanzarotto
Téléphone de l'école : 604-463-4200
Courriel de l'école : ron.lanzarotto@sd42.ca
Site Web de l'école : www.sd42.ca

Années et matières : de la 8e à la 12e année, soutien pédagogique pour tous les cours

Méthode d'enseignement

Scott Ormiston croit que les outils servant à l'apprentissage continu et à devenir un citoyen socialement responsable sont la pensée critique, l'établissement de buts et travailler avec les autres. Il encourage ces compétences en présentant des séances d'études spécialisées en vue de bâtir la confiance des élèves, à l'aide d'un tableau mettant à l'honneur les réalisations; il guide ses élèves quand ils entreprennent des projets qui génèrent de l'argent pour l'école.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Précieux collaborateur d'une équipe responsable d'une hausse de 25 % du taux d'obtention de diplôme chez les élèves autochtones dans son district scolaire;
  • Le Garibaldi Special Education Department, mis sur pied sous la gouverne de M. Ormiston, a servi de modèle exemplaire pour les départements de ressources des autres écoles;
  • A mis sur pied un tableau d'honneur pour promouvoir les réussites des élèves. Des centaines d'élèves affichent leurs résultats scolaires sur le tableau qui se transforment en inscription pour le tirage de prix. Plus ils obtiennent de bons résultats, plus ils ont de chance de remporter un prix;
  • A établi un partenariat avec Shell Oil Canada en vue de donner des fonds pour créer un fonds de recyclage géré par les élèves;
  • Entraîneur bénévole dévoué pendant 43 ans pour des organisations sportives de l'école et de la communauté. Le leadership et le dévouement de Monsieur Ormiston ont contribué au développement de centaines de jeunes athlètes et leur ont permis de décrocher de nombreuses victoires provinciales et un championnat national.

Commentaires élogieux

Lorsque notre petite fille a perdu espoir, M. O a été celui qui lui a donné un sens renouvelé en matière de détermination et d'identité. Il l'a aidée à réaliser qu'un grand coeur, une âme aimante et de bonnes intentions sont tout ce qui compte dans la vie; il reflète ce qu'il exige des autres. Il est la définition même de l'engagement.

Un parent

Scott est un enseignant exceptionnel. Année après année, d'anciens élèves ressentent le besoin de venir lui rendre visite.Voilà qui reflète la relation extraordinaire que Scott entretient avec ses élèves et l'incidence qu'il a eue sur leur vie. Scott encourage le respect mutuel avec ses élèves, ce qui permet de créer des liens tangibles et importants tant pour lui que pour les élèves.

Un collègue
Date de modification :