Jamie Leduc

Year: 2015 – Province: Manitoba

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Sisler High School
1360 Redwood Avenue
Winnipeg, Manitoba R2X 0Z1

Principal: Dr. George Heshka
School telephone: 204-589-8321
School email: gheshka@wsd1.org
School website: www.sislerhigh.org

Subjects and grades taught: Grades 10-12, 2D Animation, 3D modelling, Web Design & Graphics

Teaching approach

Mr. Jamie Leduc's "game changing" moment as an educator came when he attended a conference. Delegates were challenged to "tear down the walls of the classroom" and focus on experiential learning with mobile technology. Mr. Leduc applies the same principles in his classroom, using video conferencing, bring you own devices (BYOD) and online collaborations to provide students with real life learning experiences.

Outstanding achievements:

  • His work with digital technology at Sisler High School is one of the reasons the Intelligent Communities Forum named Winnipeg one of the top seven most intelligent communities in 2014;
  • Provided online resources to supplement in class learning such as 350 teacher-created video tutorials on demand;
  • Developed Digital Voices, a vocational media course for students interested in Indigenous Education, to document and digitalize cultural stories and artefacts;
  • Designed SoapBoxEd, an educational speaker platform that presents subjects in a variety of video learning formats (debates, speaker series, live surgeries and mock trials). Over 8,000 students in over 100 Manitoba and international schools have integrated the program into their classrooms;
  • Has won numerous awards and accolades including the Adobe Educator's Choice Award, Microsoft's Partners in Learning and finalist for the National Face of Innovation Award.

Rave reviews

There is much ongoing discussion in the world today about social emotional learning and building relationships in our schools, families and community support systems. It is evident that Jamie Leduc does this, and is successful in nurturing confidence, self esteem and relationships among his students and colleagues in order to pursue their learning in an innovative way.

Colleague

Last year, Jamie engaged his Digital Voices students in philanthropic efforts for our organization. With their talents (taught to them by Jamie) the students produced a promotional video for our charity for one of our biggest fundraising events—at no cost. He not only promotes community spirit and giving to his students—he embodies the meaning behind supporting charitable endeavors. And those are life lessons that will live on with the students for many, many years to come.

Executive Director, Charity
Date modified:

Jamie Leduc

Année : 2015 – Province : Manitoba

Lauréat d'un certificat d'honneur

Sisler High School
1360, avenue Redwood
Winnipeg (Manitoba) R2X 0Z1

Directeur : George Heshka
Téléphone de l'école : 204-589-8321
Courriel de l'école : gheshka@wsd1.org
Site Web de l'école : www.sislerhigh.org

Années et matières : de la 10e à la 12e année, animation 2D, modélisation 3‑D, conception de sites Web et graphiques

Méthode d'enseignement

Le moment qui a changé la donne dans la vie de Jamie Leduc en tant qu'enseignant a été lorsqu'il a assisté à une conférence. Les délégués ont été mis au défi d'abattre les murs de la classe et de se concentrer sur l'apprentissage par l'expérience et la technologie mobile. M. Leduc applique les mêmes principes dans sa classe, à l'aide de la vidéoconférence, du concept Apportez votre équipement personnel de communication (AVEC) et de collaborations en ligne en vue d'offrir aux élèves des expériences d'apprentissage concrètes.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Son travail dans le domaine des technologies numériques à l'école Sisler High School est l'une des raisons pour lesquelles le Intelligent Communities Forum a nommé Winnipeg comme l'une des sept collectivités intelligentes en 2014;
  • A fourni des ressources en ligne à titre de suppléments à l'apprentissage en classe, comme 350 ditacticiels vidéos créés par les enseignants sur demande;
  • A  conçu Digital Voices, un cours multimédia de formation professionnelle pour les élèves s'intéressant à l'éducation autochtone, afin d'étayer et de numériser les histoires culturelles et les artefacts;
  • A conçu SoapBoxEd, une plate‑forme éducative qui présente des sujets sur divers formats d'apprentissage par vidéo (débats, séries de conférences, opérations chirurgicales en direct et procès simulés). Près de 8 000 élèves de plus de 100 écoles du Manitoba et à l'échelle internationale ont intégré le programme à leur classe;
  • A remporté de nombreux prix et accolades, notamment le Adobe Educator's Choice Award, Partenaires en matière d'apprentissage de Microsoft et finaliste du National Face of Innovation Award.

Commentaires élogieux

Dans le monde d'aujourd'hui, on parle beaucoup de l'apprentissage social émotionnel et de l'établissement de liens au sein de nos écoles, familles et systèmes de soutien communautaire. Il est évident que Jamie Leduc procède ainsi et réussit à soutenir la confiance, l'estime de soi et les liens avec ses élèves et ses collègues afin de poursuivre leur apprentissage de façon novatrice.

Un collègue

L'an dernier, Jamie a mobilisé ses élèves de Digital Voices pour qu'ils concentrent leurs efforts philanthropiques au bénéfice de notre organisme. Grâce à leurs compétences (enseignées par Jamie), les élèves ont produit une vidéo promotionnelle pour notre organisme de bienfaisance pour l'une de nos plus importantes activités de financement, et ce, gratuitement. Non seulement favorise-t-il l'esprit communautaire et le don de soi de ses élèves, il donne un sens à ces actions visant à soutenir des causes charitables. Et ce sont ces leçons de vie que les élèves retiendront pendant de nombreuses années à venir.

Le directeur exécutif, organisme de bienfaisance
Date de modification :