Carol Roberts

Year: 2015 – Province: Newfoundland and Labrador

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Holy Trinity High School
23 Lynch's Lane
Torbay, Newfoundland, A1K 1A6

Principal: Mr. Andrew Hickey
School telephone: 709-437-5563
School email: andrewhickey@nlesd.ca
School website: http://www.hths.k12.nf.ca

Subjects and grades taught: Grades 10-12, Science, Biology, Chemistry

Teaching approach

Learning how to learn is the foundation of Ms. Carol Roberts' teaching philosophy. She believes that learning is accomplished in a collaborative environment that encourages critical thinking. She achieves this unique environment by employing strategies for her students to share their learning with others, designing hands-on outdoor education lessons and providing opportunities for problem solving real issues.

Outstanding achievements:

  • Used her "each one – teach one" strategy to empower her students to deepen their understanding by sharing. Students at all levels help their peers and check with each other as they solve problems;
  • Opportunity for hands-on learning in scientific fields. Ms. Roberts took several of her classes on Oceans Learning Partnership's field programs to speak to scientists about ocean science and use oceanographic equipment while supervised;
  • Volunteered with the research project "Student Perceptions on the Relevance of Science" with the University of Alberta to understand how students perceive science and promote strategies to increase student motivation and love of the subject.

Rave reviews

Carol has the most amazing and unwavering positive attitude of any individual I have ever known. Carol's positive attitude is backed by a purpose; her purpose is to stimulate a desire to learn in her students. Her motive is to demonstrate to students that the world is intriguing and full of opportunities.

Colleague

The extra effort Ms. Roberts gave me during high school really helped to spark my interest in science – the lunch time experiments with fruit flies and boat building competitions at the university. So thank you. It's the push to see what's beyond the books that really opens doors and imaginations.

Former Student
Date modified:

Carol Roberts

Année : 2015 – Province : Terre‑Neuve‑et‑Labrador

Lauréate d'un certificat d'honneur

Holy Trinity High School
23, ruelle Lynch's
Torbay (Terre‑Neuve‑et‑Labrador)  A1K 1A6

Directeur : Andrew Hickey
Téléphone de l'école : 709‑437‑5563
Courriel de l'école : andrewhickey@nlesd.ca
Site Web de l'école : http://www.hths.k12.nf.ca

Années et matières : de la 10e à la 12e année, biologie, chimie

Méthode d'enseignement

Apprendre à apprendre est le fondement de la philosophie d'enseignement de Carol Roberts. Elle croit que l'apprentissage a lieu dans un milieu productif qui encourage la pensée critique. Elle réussit à créer cet environnement unique en utilisant des stratégies qui permettent à ses élèves de faire part de leur apprentissage à d'autres, en concevant des leçons pratiques de cours en plein air et en offrant des possibilités de régler des problèmes.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • A mis en oeuvre l'enseignement mutuel en vue d'encourager ses élèves à approfondir  leurs connaissances en les partageant. Les élèves de tous les niveaux aident leurs pairs et se consultent quand ils règlent leurs problèmes;
  • A offert des occasions d'apprentissage pratique dans les domaines scientifiques. Mme Roberts a emmené plusieurs de ses classes à participer aux programmes d'excusions Oceans Learning Partnership afin de parler aux scientifiques de l'océanographie et d'utiliser l'équipement océanographique tout en étant supervisés;
  • A participé avec l'Université de l'Alberta au projet de recherche sur la perception des élèves concernant la pertinence des sciences en vue de comprendre comment les élèves perçoivent la science et de promouvoir des stratégies visant à accroître la motivation des élèves et leur intérêt à l'égard de cette matière.

Commentaires élogieux

Carol est dotée de la plus grande attitude positive et indéfectible de toutes les personnes que j'ai connues. L'attitude positive de Carol repose sur l'objectif de stimuler chez ses élèves le goût d'apprendre et de leur démontrer que le monde est intrigant et regorge de possibilités.

Un collègue

L'aide supplémentaire que Mme Roberts m'a accordée au secondaire m'a vraiment aidé à raviver mon intérêt à l'égard des sciences : les expériences à l'heure de dîner avec des mouches des fruits et les concours de construction de bateau à l'université. Alors, merci! Elle nous a permis de voir ce qui peut, à part les livres, ouvrir les portes et faire place à l'imagination.

Un ancien élève
Date de modification :