Anna Whalen

Year: 2015 – Province: Nova Scotia

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Charles P. Allen High School
200 Innovation Drive
Bedford, Nova Scotia B4B 0G4

Principal: Ms. Stephanie Bird
School telephone: 902-832-8964
School email: cpah@hrsb.ns.ca
School website: www.cpa.ednet.ns.ca

Subjects and grades taught: Grades 10-12, Visual Arts, Advanced & IB, Textiles

Teaching approach 

For Ms. Anna Whalen, innovation is at the core of creating a great learning experience for youth. She is constantly on the lookout for new ways to inspire her students' love of art whether it is providing opportunities to link art making with technology or demonstrate how art can benefit a community.

Outstanding achievements:

  • Instrumental in the development of a multimedia lab that focuses on making art and design through technology;
  • Collaborated with music and drama departments to create a show about the exploration of the Halifax Explosion, entitled 904. Charles P. Allen High School was the only school invited to participate in the Nocturne at Night local street art festival;
  • Provided students multiple opportunities to use their art to spark discussion around social issues such as "Art Against Youth Violence"—an annual event hosted by the Halifax Shopping Centre where several hundred youth create murals with positive messages;
  • Spearheaded innovative projects such as "Creative Children Connecting with Community" which helps students use art to connect with the people and places where they live;
  • Has won several awards for her work in education such as the Pioneer Teaching Award, Brault & Boutlier's Educators Award and the national FitzHenry-Whiteside Award for innovation in education.

Rave reviews

Despite their competence in the arts, Ms. Whalen teaches young people to be the best people they can be. She demands the highest of standards, leads by example, and is rewarded by extraordinary respect and love from her students.

Colleague

There were numerous occasions for former art students of Ms. Whalen to gather at her home during the school breaks to share their news, learn a new craft and share a meal. Great teachers form strong relationships with their students and show that they care about them as people. Ms. Whalen is an example of one such teacher, always enthusiastic, accessible, thoughtful and above all, passionate about art.

Parent
Date modified:

Anna Whalen

Année : 2015 – Province : Nouvelle‑Écosse

Lauréate d'un certificat d'honneur

Charles P. Allen High School
200, promenade Innovation
Bedford (Nouvelle‑Écosse)  B4B 0G4

Directrice : Stephanie Bird
Téléphone de l'école : 902‑832‑8964
Courriel de l'école : cpah@hrsb.ns.ca
Site Web de l'école : www.cpa.ednet.ns.ca

Années et matières : 10e et 12e année,  arts visuels, art textile

Méthode d'enseignement

Pour Anna Whalen, l'innovation est au coeur de la création d'une expérience d'apprentissage hors de l'ordinaire pour les jeunes. Elle est constamment à la recherche de nouvelles façons d'inspirer ses élèves pour aimer l'art, que ce soit d'offrir des occasions pour lier la création artistique à la technologie ou démontrer comment l'art peut bénéficier à la collectivité.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • A joué un rôle crucial dans la mise sur pied d'un laboratoire en multimédias qui vise à faire de l'art et du design à l'aide de la technologie;
  • A collaboré avec les départements de musique et de théâtre pour créer un spectacle sur l'exploration de l'explosion d'Halifax, intitulé 904. L'école secondaire Charles P. Allen a été la seule école invitée à participer au festival d'art de la rue Nocturne at Night;
  • A offert de nombreuses occasions aux élèves d'utiliser leur art pour susciter la discussion sur les enjeux sociaux tels que « Art Against Youth Violence », un événement annuel tenu par le centre commercial d'Halifax plusieurs centaines de jeunes créent des murales affichant des messages positifs;
  • A dirigé des projets novateurs, notamment le « Creative Children Connecting with Community » qui aide les élèves à se servir de l'art pour forger des liens avec les personnes et les endroits ils demeurent;
  • A remporté plusieurs prix pour son travail en éducation, comme le « Pioneer Teaching Award », le prix Brault & Bouthillier destiné aux enseignants et le prix national FitzHenry‑Whiteside pour l'innovation en éducation.

Commentaires élogieux

Nonobstant leurs compétences dans le domaine des arts, Mme Whalen enseigne aux jeunes élèves à être les meilleures personnes qu'elles puissent être. Elle demande les normes les plus élevées, mène par l'exemple et est récompensée par un respect et un amour extraordinaires témoignés par ses élèves.

Une collègue

Nombreuses sont les occasions pour les anciens élèves en art de Mme Whalen de se réunir à son domicile pendant les congés scolaires pour échanger des nouvelles, apprendre une nouvelle activité artisanale et partager un repas. Les bons enseignants savent créer des liens avec leurs élèves et montrent qu'ils ont à coeur leur bien‑être. Mme Whalen est un excellent exemple de ce type d'enseignante, toujours enthousiaste, accessible, réfléchie et, surtout, passionnée de l'art.

Un parent
Date de modification :