Beth Fischer

Year: 2015 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

John Diefenbaker Secondary School
181 7th Street
Hanover, Ontario N4N 1G7

Principal: Mr. Mark Ozorio
School telephone: 519-364-3770
School email: mark_ozorio@bwdsb.on.ca
School website: www.jdss.bwdsb.on.ca

Subjects and grades taught: All Grades, All Subjects

Teaching approach

Mrs. Beth Fischer's students face a variety of challenges—mental health issues, unstable home lives and influences from negative peer groups. With dedication and selflessness she works together with her students to achieve academic success. A combination of community partnerships and student-led projects allows her to provide them with the skills to be positive, contributing members of society.

Outstanding achievements:

  • Collaborated with students to create "The Box" a school space where students felt included and comfortable and can reach out for help; the first of its kind in the school board;
  • Developed partnerships with community groups such as CHOICES Counselling, YMCA, Youth Roots and Victim Services to meet and provide services for "The Box" and the school community;
  • Sparked the idea of a Student Achievement Centre to assist students with studying, independent learning and credit recovery. It has been instrumental in increasing student engagement and has earned students over 200 credits combined;
  • Trained staff, students and community partners in areas such as Mental Health First Aid and "Safe Talk".

Rave reviews

Her career is marked with success due to the unceasing belief she has in students who no longer believe in themselves. She has the uncanny ability to see potential in those students that sometime seem past recovering. What's more important, she can communicate and instill this belief of potential in the students themselves. Beth is a bright light for students who feel alone, disenfranchised, overlooked and unloved.

Colleague

Over the two years I've been at JD, Mrs. Fischer has helped me through a lot…family issues, school, depression and much more. She's always there when you need to talk and she's always ready to listen. I don't think I would have even made it through my Grade 9 year without all the help she has given me.

Student
Date modified:

Beth Fischer

Année : 2015 – Province : Ontario

Lauréate d'un certificat d'honneur

John Diefenbaker Secondary School
181, 7e rue
Hanover (Ontario)  N4N 1G7

Directeur : Mark Ozorio
Téléphone de l'école : 519‑364‑3770
Courriel de l'école : mark_ozorio@bwdsb.on.ca
Site Web de l'école : www.jdss.bwdsb.on.ca

Années et matières : tous les niveaux, toutes les matières

Méthode d'enseignement

Les élèves de Beth Fischer sont confrontés à une grande diversité de problèmes : problèmes de santé mentale, vie familiale instable et influences négatives des pairs. C'est avec dévouement et altruisme qu'elle travaille avec ses élèves pour qu'ils réussissent à l'école. Une combinaison de partenariats communautaires et de projets menés par les élèves lui permet de leur faire acquérir les compétences pour devenir des membres positifs et productifs de la société.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • A collaboré avec les élèves pour créer « The Box », un espace dans l'école les élèves se sentent acceptés et à l'aise et peuvent demander de l'aide; il s'agit d'une première au sein du conseil scolaire;
  • A établi des partenariats avec des groupes communautaires comme CHOICES Counselling, YMCA, Youth Roots et Victim Services, pour offrir des services pour « The Box » et la communauté scolaire;
  • A lancé l'idée d'un centre de rendement scolaire pour aider les élèves sur le plan des études, de l'autoapprentissage et de la récupération des crédits. Elle a joué un rôle essentiel pour obtenir une participation plus large des élèves et a permis aux élèves de récolter plus de 200 crédits combinés;
  • A formé le personnel, les élèves et les partenaires communautaires dans des domaines comme les Premiers soins en santé mentale et l'initiative Parler sans risque.

Commentaires élogieux

Sa carrière a été jalonnée de succès en raison de sa conviction indéfectible qu'elle a envers les élèves qui ne croient plus en eux‑mêmes. Elle a l'incroyable don de voir le potentiel de ces élèves qui semblent parfois incurables. Qui plus est, elle peut leur communiquer et leur insuffler la confiance à l'égard de leur propre potentiel. Beth est une source de lumière pour les élèves qui se sentent seuls, démunis, laissés pour compte et mal aimés.

Une collègue

Au cours de mes deux années à JD, Mme Fischer m'a aidé à bien des points de vue... que ce soit des problèmes familiaux, à l'école, de dépression et bien plus. Elle est toujours là lorsque vous avez besoin de parler et elle est toujours prête à écouter. Je ne crois pas que j'aurais pu réussir ma neuvième année sans l'aide qu'elle m'a apportée.

Une élève
Date de modification :