Charlie Glasspool

Year: 2015 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Macphail Memorial Elementary School
49 Campbell Street, P.O. Box 160
Flesherton, Ontario N0C 1E0

Principal: Mrs. Laurie Gilkinson
School telephone: 519-924-2752
School email: mac_mail@bwdsb.on.ca
School website: www.mac.bwdsb.on.ca

Subjects and grades taught: Grades 2-8, Music

Teaching approach

Mr. Charlie Glasspool's love of music has brought him all over the world, touring with musicians and releasing multiple albums. He believes music is something anyone can enjoy and excel at. He routinely brings in guest musicians to inspire his students, involve the community in impromptu jam sessions and give young learners the skills to create their own musical masterpieces.

Outstanding achievements:

  • Created and organized the Flesherton Hills Music Fest—a massive day-long music festival with elementary students performing to 600-700 community members;
  • Set up digital recording stations (e.g., microphones, laptops, mixing consoles) so students can learn the software and technology skills of the music industry;
  • Taught young students how to compose their own music and teach it to others; an original composition was performed in a neighbourhood church and recorded by Mr. Glasspool;
  • Under his leadership, his students have won numerous awards such as Gold at the Music Alive 2013 concert, with an invitation to play at the Canadian Musicfest National Finals, and Silver at the Canadian Nationals 2013;
  • Offered individual piano lessons the community and donated the money to the school's ongoing music program.

Rave reviews

He brings a contagious enthusiasm to his role that makes it very easy for students to lower their guard and become enthusiastic about music themselves. The large scale events he mounts—the outdoor concerts, school performances, field trips and fundraisers—are wonders of creativity and energy and contribute greatly to the strong school spirit at Macphail.

Former Principal

Mr. Glasspool means so much to us. The music room is a place to escape the stress of the day and have a good laugh. He teaches us to not only hear the music but to feel it. And he believes in every single one of us.

Student
Date modified:

Charlie Glasspool

Année : 2015 – Province : Ontario

Lauréat d'un certificat d'honneur

Macphail Memorial Elementary School
29, rue Campbell, C.P. 160
Flesherton (Ontario) N0C 1H0

Directrice : Laurie Gilkinson
Téléphone de l'école : 519‑924‑2752
Courriel de l'école : mac_mail@bwdsb.on.ca
Site Web de l'école : www.mac.bwdsb.on.ca

Années et matières : de la 2e à la 8e année, musique

Méthode d'enseignement

L'amour que porte Charlie Glasspool à la musique l'a amené à se promener par le monde avec ses musiciens et à sortir de nombreux albums. Il croit que la musique est quelque chose que tous peuvent aimer et se distinguer. Il invite régulièrement des musiciens pour inspirer ses élèves, fait participer la collectivité à des concerts improvisés et donne aux jeunes apprenants les compétences pour créer leurs propres chefs‑d'oeuvre musicaux.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • A créé et organisé le Flesherton Hills Music Fest, un grand festival d'une journée auquel se présentent les élèves du primaire devant 600 à 700 membres de la collectivité;
  • A mis sur pied des stations d'enregistrement numérique (p. ex., microphones, ordinateurs portatifs, pupitres de mélange) afin que ses élèves puissent acquérir des compétences en matière de logiciel et de technologie de l'industrie de la musique;
  • A enseigné aux jeunes élèves comment composer leur propre musique et à l'enseigner à d'autres; une composition originale a été exécutée dans une église du quartier et enregistrée par M. Glasspool;
  • Sous sa direction, ses élèves ont remporté de nombreux prix comme l'or au concert Music Alive 2013, une invitation de jouer au Canadian Musicfest National Finals, et l'argent au Canadian Nationals 2013;
  • A offert des leçons de piano individuelles à la communauté et a donné l'argent au programme de musique de l'école.

Commentaires élogieux

C'est avec un enthousiasme contagieux qu'il joue son rôle d'enseignant, ce qui permet aux élèves de baisser leur garde et de s'enthousiasmer pour la musique. Les événements de grande envergure qu'il organise – les concerts extérieurs, les performances scolaires, les sorties scolaires et les activités de financement – sont des oeuvres de créativité et d'énergie et contribuent grandement à l'esprit qui règne à école de Macphail.

Un ancien directeur

M. Glasspool est vraiment précieux à nos yeux. La salle de musique est un endroit pour échapper au stress de la journée et pour se détendre et rire. Il nous enseigne non seulement à entendre la musique mais également à la ressentir. Et il croit en nous.

Un élève
Date de modification :