Bill Legate

Year: 2015 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Beavercrest Community School
101 Main Street East, P. O. Box 469
Markdale, Ontario N0C 1H0

Principal: Brenda Brewer
School telephone: 519-986-2990
School email: brenda_brewer@bwdsb.on.ca
School website: www.bcc.bwdsb.on.ca

Subjects and grades taught: Grade 7, All Subjects

Teaching approach

Mr. Bill Legate is a research hound—always trying to find the best practices, projects and learning tools to share with his students and colleagues. His drive, coupled with his unique teaching style, has led him to develop a tech hub at his school and create after school activities for his community.

Outstanding achievements:

  • Earned the praise of his colleagues by advocating for the use of iPads to enhance the teaching experience in the classroom;
  • Promoted inclusion and understanding amongst his students by, for example, installing sign language apps on all the school iPads and teaching his students sign language in order to welcome a new deaf student to the school community;
  • Founded the Markdale Arts For Youth group to provide youth in the community with weekly music lessons. Built partnerships with the local Rotary Club to purchase $27,000 worth of instruments for the group.

Rave reviews

Mr. Legate's most significant contributions have to do with long-term thinking. He has built our school into a technology hub that is the envy of nearby schools, and we are often used as a model for other schools around the board.

Interim Principal

I have noted on many occasions how invaluable his skill at teaching music is to the success of our program. Our recent success at the Kiwanis Music Festival is a testament to his abilities as a music director. Having Grades 4 and 5 students able to perform at this level takes a great teacher, and that teacher is Bill.

Coordinator, Markdale Arts for Youth
Date modified:

Bill Legate

Année : 2015 – Province : Ontario

Lauréat d'un certificat d'honneur

Beavercrest Community School
101, rue Main Est, C.P. 469
Markdale (Ontario)  N0C 1H0

Directrice : Pauline Kelly
Téléphone de l'école : 519‑986‑2990
Courriel de l'école : pauline.kelly@bwdsb.on.ca
Site Web de l'école : www.bcc.bwdsb.on.ca

Années et matières : 7e année, toutes les matières

Méthode d'enseignement

Bill Legate est féru de recherche, toujours à l'affût de pratiques, projets et outils d'apprentissage exemplaires pour faire part à ses élèves et collègues. Son dynamisme, conjugué avec sa méthode d'enseignement unique, l'a mené à mettre sur pied un centre technologique à son école et à créer des activités parascolaires pour sa collectivité.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • A mérité des éloges de ses collègues en favorisant l'utilisation de iPads pour tirer parti de l'expérience d'enseignement dans la salle de classe;
  • A favorisé l'inclusion et la compréhension entre élèves en installant, par exemple, des applications du langage des signes sur tous les iPads de l'école et en enseignant à ses élèves le langage des signes en vue d'accueillir les nouveaux élèves malentendants à l'école;
  • A fondé le groupe Markdale Arts For Youth pour donner aux jeunes de la collectivité des leçons de musique hebdomadaires. A établi des partenariats avec le club Rotary de la région pour acheter des instruments d'une valeur de 27 000 $ pour le groupe.

Commentaires élogieux

Les plus importantes contributions de M. Legate a été l'adoption d'une vision à long terme. Il a créé à notre école un centre technologique qui fait l'envie des écoles environnantes et nous servons souvent de modèle pour les autres écoles du conseil.

La directrice par intérim

J'ai remarqué à de nombreuses occasions à quel point ses compétences à enseigner la musique est ce qui fait la réussite de notre programme. Nos succès récents au Festival de musique Kiwanis témoignent de ses capacités à titre de directeur musique. Pour que des élèves de la 4e et de la 5e année puissent jouer à ce niveau, il faut un enseignant hors pair, et cet enseignant est Bill.

Un coordonnateur, Markdale Arts for Youth
Date de modification :