Robert Dunlop

Year: 2015 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Prince Philip School
3112 Dorchester Road N.
Niagara Falls, Ontario L2J 2Z7

Principal: Mr. M. Zeoli
School telephone: 905-356-0521
School email: prp@dsbn.org
School website: princephilips.dsbn.org/

Subjects and grades taught: Grade 8, Language, Math, Computers, Physical Education

Teaching approach

Mr. Robert Dunlop wants all his students to develop and express their opinions about the world around them. He creates opportunities for his students to produce videos, share thoughts and feelings about current world issues and get involved in the community to take action and create positive change.

Outstanding achievements:

  • Co-creator of an intramural sport program to increase opportunities for students to engage in extra-curricular sports. Within a year of creating the program, student participation jumped from 13% to 80%;
  • Worked collaboratively with colleagues to create and format 25 online lessons plans for teachers to promote the story of Terry Fox. His activities focus on character development and media literacy and have been viewed over 600,000 times around the world;
  • Organized a variety of fundraising events for the Terry Fox Foundation, including the Tug-O-War for Terry which involved over one thousand students and raised approximately ten thousand dollars for cancer research;
  • Used funds from Ministry of Education "Speak Up" grants to purchase video equipment. This technology was used to record students' perspectives on social injustice, bullying and other issues. These messages were shared with the school community by presenting them continuously on a television in the school lobby;
  • Developed unique behavioural management system called "The Penalty Box" which focuses on his students working collaboratively in order to avoid 'penalties.'

Rave reviews

We cannot thank Rob Dunlop enough for the tremendous contribution he has made to the Terry Fox Foundation. The Lesson Plan Project has ensured that Terry's legacy will live on, in an meaningful and relevant way, for students across Canada regardless of the years that pass since The Marathon of Hope.

Colleague

Our son has definitely improved and we are indebted to the insight and care Mr. Dunlop has given him. We truly believe the outcome would have been much different had we not received the call from Mr. Dunlop which initiated the series of changes which fostered our son to develop the skills to cope with his anxiety and develop a positive attitude about himself and others.

Parent
Date modified:

Robert Dunlop

Année : 2015 – Province : Ontario

Lauréat d'un certificat d'honneur

Prince Philip School
3112, chemin Dorchester
Niagara Falls (Ontario) L2J 2Z7

Directeur : Mario Zeoli
Téléphone de l'école : 905‑356‑0521
Courriel de l'école : prp@dsbn.org
Site Web de l'école : princephilips.dsbn.org/

Années et matières : 8e année, langue, mathématiques, informatique, éducation physique

Méthode d'enseignement

Robert Dunlop souhaite que tous ses élèves puissent se former une opinion sur le monde qui les entoure pour pouvoir ensuite l'exprimer. Il crée des occasions pour ses élèves afin qu'ils puissent produire des vidéos, faire part de leurs pensées et émotions au sujet des enjeux mondiaux actuels et prendre part aux activités de leur collectivité pour agir et créer un changement positif.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Co-créateur d'un nouveau programme de sports intramuraux pour accroître les possibilités des élèves de participer aux sports parascolaires. En moins d'un an de la création du programme, la participation des élèves a bondi de 13 % à 80 %;
  • A travaillé en collaboration avec des collègues à créer 25 plans de leçon en ligne pour les enseignants en vue de promouvoir l'histoire de Terry Fox. Ses activités portent sur le développement des personnages et la maîtrise des médias et ont été visionnées plus de 600 000 fois à travers le monde;
  • A organisé une variété d'activités de financement pour la Fondation Terry Fox, notamment  le tir à la corde pour Terry auquel ont participé plus d'un millier d'élèves et a récolté dix mille dollars pour la recherche sur le cancer;
  • A utilisé des fonds des subventions « Speak Up » du ministère de l'Éducation pour acheter de l'équipement vidéo. Cette technologie a été utilisée pour enregistrer le point de vue des élèves sur l'injustice sociale, l'intimidation et d'autres questions. Ces messages étaient diffusés à l'école en continu sur un téléviseur dans le hall d'entrée de l'école;
  • A établi un système unique de gestion du comportement appelé le « banc des punitions » qui porte sur ses élèves travaillant en étroite collaboration en vue d'éviter les punitions.

Commentaires élogieux

Nous ne pouvons pas remercier assez Rob Dunlop pour son immense contribution à l'égard de la Fondation Terry Fox. Grâce à ses plans de leçon, l'héritage de Terry se perpétuera, de manière porteuse et pertinente, pour les élèves de partout au Canada, quel que soit le nombre d'années depuis le Marathon de l'espoir.

Un collègue

Notre garçon a fait de grands progrès et nous sommes redevables à l'intuition et aux soins que lui a prodigués par M. Dunlop. Nous croyons fermement que le résultat aurait été bien différent si nous n'avions pas reçu l'appel de M. Dunlop; cet appel a été le début d'une série de changements qui ont permis à notre fils de développer des outils pour composer avec son anxiété et développer une attitude positive à son égard et à celui des autres.

Un parent
Date de modification :