Susan Raponi

Year: 2015 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

George Peck Public School
1 Wayne Avenue
Scarborough, Ontario M1R 1Y1

Principal: Mrs. Lois Concannon
School telephone: 416-396-6270
School email: georgepeck@tdsb.on.ca
School website: www.tdsb.on.ca/Findyour/Schools.aspx?schno=4516

Subjects and grades taught: Grades 4-8, Music

Teaching approach

There's a banner in Mrs. Susan Raponi's music room that reads, "To play without passion is inexcusable!" Her love of music is infectious. But music without discipline is chaos—so she emphasizes practice strategies, organization skills and perseverance to her students so they learn how to master the music and their instruments.

Outstanding achievements:

  • Worked diligently to ensure her students were exposed to top music educators and participated in stimulating learning environments (e.g., Gamelan Music Project, Inuit Choral Music Workshop, Indo-Ghanaian Drumming Workshop, Global Music Workshop);
  • Pursued doctoral research on the methodical teaching of students that face learning challenges through autism and other mental health and learning disabilities;
  • Over nine years, has established an impressive list of awards from provincial festival competitions such as the Ontario Band Association Music Festival and the Kiwanis Festival;
  • Taught music workshops around the world (e.g., Salvation Army School for the Blind in Kingston, Jamaica). 

Rave reviews

Mrs. Raponi has shown a continuous commitment to teaching our children music, as well as life lessons, while employing her talents in the exceptional execution of her job. Not only is she professional and strives for excellence but through her example and leadership encourages our children to soar and to dream of possibilities for the future.

Parent

She has taken our school to great heights with our music program. She was the reason our school had the opportunity to compete at the Kiwanis Music Festival as well as receive numerous invitations to perform at Massey Hall, Koerner Hall and 'Music Monday' at Dundas Square. For us students, Mrs. Raponi is one of our biggest influences that drives us to success in all areas.

Student
Date modified:

Susan Raponi

Année : 2015 – Province : Ontario

Lauréate d'un certificat d'honneur

George Peck Public School
1, avenue Wayne
Toronto (Ontario) M1R 1Y1

Directrice : Lois Concannon
Téléphone de l'école : 416-396-6270
Courriel de l'école : lois.concannon@tdsb.on.ca
Site Web  de l'école : www.tdsb.on.ca/Findyour/Schools.aspx?schno=4516

Années et matières : de la 4e à la 8e année, musique

Méthode d'enseignement

Il y a dans la classe de musique de Susan Raponi une bannière qui porte la mention suivante : « Jouer sans passion est inexcusable! » Son amour de la musique est contagieux. Mais la musique sans discipline, c'est le chaos. Par conséquent, elle met l'accent sur la persévérance, des stratégies de pratique et des compétences organisationnelles pour ses élèves afin qu'ils apprennent comment maîtriser la musique et leurs instruments.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • A travaillé avec diligence afin de s'assurer que ses élèves côtoient de grands enseignants de la musique et participent à des milieux d'apprentissage stimulants (p. ex., projet de musique mettant en vedette le gamelan, atelier de musique chorale inuite, atelier de tambours indo-ghanéen, atelier de musique du monde);
  • A mené des recherches doctorales sur l'enseignement méthodique des élèves qui sont aux prises à des difficultés d'apprentissage causées par l'autisme ou d'autres troubles d'apprentissage ou de santé mentale;
  • Sur neuf années, elle a remporté un nombre impressionnant de prix à des concours de festival provinciaux comme le festival de musique du Ontario Band Association et le Festival Kiwanis;
  • A enseigné des ateliers de musique dans le monde entier (p. ex., École pour les aveugles de l'Armée du Salut à Kingston, en Jamaïque).

Commentaires élogieux

Mme Raponi fait preuve d'un engagement sans borne pour enseigner la musique à nos enfants, ainsi que des leçons de vie, tout en mettant à l'oeuvre ses talents pour bien accomplir son travail. Non seulement est-elle professionnelle et vise l'excellence, en donnant l'exemple et en exerçant son leadership, elle encourage nos enfants à prendre leur essor et à rêver aux possibilités qui les attendent.

Un parent

Grâce à elle, notre programme de musique à l'école a atteint de grands sommets. Elle est la raison pour laquelle notre école a pu participer au Festival de musique Kiwanis ainsi que  recevoir de nombreuses invitations à jouer au Massey Hall, Koerner Hall et « Music Monday » au  Dundas Square. Pour nous, les élèves, Mme Raponi est l'une des plus importantes influences nous permettant de réussir dans tous les domaines.

Un élève
Date de modification :