Asa Schoonderbeek

Year: 2015 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Williamsburg Public School
20 Kirkland Place
Whitby, Ontario L1P 1W7

Principal: Mr. Peter Creer
School telephone: 905-668-6613
School email: creer_peter@durham.edu.on.ca
School website: http://www.ddsb.ca/school/williamsburg

Subjects and grades taught: Grades 1-2, Reading, Writing, Math, Art, Media, and Phys. Ed.

Teaching approach

Grade one is a critical time for young children to develop a love of lifelong learning. Mr. Asa Schoonderbeek takes this mission seriously and works hard to spark his students' imaginations. The worn out knees of his pants are a testament to his drive to get on the floor with his students for hands on science projects and his 'dress up' literacy program.

Outstanding achievements:

  • Organized a "Repeating Reading" program to assist young students struggling with literacy. He recruited, trained, and welcomed volunteers to help facilitate the program;
  • Developed a "Boys Reading Club" where he dressed up as a superhero or Star Wars character to bring reading to life;
  • Engaged kindergarten families each spring with the 'Welcome to Grade One Night' and supported parents on what to expect academically and socially in the year ahead;
  • Employed effective skills development programs for students with autism, learning disabilities and behavioural issues to ensure they learn to their full potential in class.

Rave reviews

Mr. Schoonderbeek was the best thing for our son's self esteem. He gave up a lot of his personal time to meet our son's needs and be the best advocate for our son. Mr. Schoonderbeek observed that our son had great difficulty with written language and was a great kinaesthetic (hands-on) learner so he incorporated lots of hands-on activities into his programming. He was always very positive, creative, flexible and a collaborative team member with us, fellow teachers and administration.

Parent

When I first arrived at Williamsburg five years ago, I was immediately struck by Asa's ability to connect with our students. Grade one is a critical year on the journey to reading and this journey is made easier because he is a caring, warm person who ultimately wants every student in his class to achieve. His classroom is a hub of activity and fun where each child is given the opportunity to shine.

Principal
Date modified:

Asa Schoonderbeek

Année : 2015 – Province : Ontario

Lauréate d'un certificat d'honneur

Williamsburg Public School
20, place Kirkland
Whitby (Ontario)  L1P 1W7

Directeur : Peter Creer
Téléphone de l'école : 905‑668‑6613
Courriel de l'école : creer_peter@durham.edu.on.ca
Site Web  de l'école : http://www.ddsb.ca/school/williamsburg

Années et matières : 1er et 2e année, lecture, écriture, mathématiques, arts, médias et éducation physique

Méthode d'enseignement

Pour les jeunes enfants, la première année est un moment crucial pour prendre goût à l'apprentissage à long terme. Asa Schoonderbeek prend cette mission au sérieux et travaille fort afin d'enflammer l'imagination de ses élèves. Comme en témoignent les genoux usés de ses pantalons, il n'hésite pas à se retrouver par terre avec ses élèves pour des projets pratiques en sciences et son programme d'alphabétisation « endimanché ».

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • A mis sur pied le programme « Repeating Reading » pour aider les élèves qui éprouvent des difficultés en lecture. Il a recruté, formé et accueilli des bénévoles pour aider à mettre en oeuvre le programme;
  • A mis sur pied un club de lecture pour garçons il se déguise en superhéros ou en personnage de la Guerre des étoiles en vue d'insuffler la vie à la lecture;
  • Accueille des familles de la maternelle chaque printemps à sa soirée de bienvenue en  première année et informe les parents sur ce à quoi ils doivent s'attendre sur le plan social et des études au cours de la nouvelle année;
  • Fait appel à des programmes de développement des compétences pour les élèves atteints d'autisme, de difficultés d'apprentissage et de problèmes comportementaux pour s'assurer qu'ils apprennent à leur plein potentiel en classe.

Commentaires élogieux

M. Schoonderbeek a été ce qu'il a été de mieux pour l'estime de mon garçon. Il a consacré de nombreuses heures de son temps libre pour répondre aux besoins de notre garçon et à être celui qui défend le mieux les intérêts de notre garçon. M. Schoonderbeek a observé que notre garçon avait une grande difficulté avec le langage écrit mais qu'il était un bon apprenant kinesthésique (pratique); par conséquent, il a intégré de nombreuses activités pratiques à son programme. Il a toujours été très positif, créatif, souple et un membre d'équipe productif pour nous, collègues enseignants et membres de l'administration.

Un parent

Lorsque je suis arrivé à Williamsburg il y a cinq ans, j'ai été immédiatement renversé par la capacité d'Asa de créer des liens avec nos élèves. La première année est une année cruciale pour l'apprentissage de la lecture et cet apprentissage est facilité en raison de cette personne chaleureuse, aimante qui a comme seul objectif que tous ses élèves réussissent. Sa classe est un centre d'activités amusantes chaque enfant a l'occasion de briller.

Le directeur
Date de modification :