Maureen Sims

Year: 2014 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

St. Bonaventure Catholic School
1340 Leslie Street
Don Mills, Ontario M3C 2K9

Principal: Mr. James Graham
School telephone: 416-393-5263
School email: james.graham@tcdsb.org
School website: www.tcdsb.org/Schools/stbonaventure/Pages/default.aspx

Subjects and grades taught: Grades 6 & 8, English, Science and Math

Teaching approach

Ms. Maureen Sims challenges her students to "think outside the box" every single day in the classroom. She employs special "Challenge" projects to encourage her student to think on their feet and take risks with the material in order to effectively problem solve.

Outstanding achievements

  • Shared the Socrative App, an academic assessment program, with her class so students can identify the gaps in their learning and address their weaknesses; students also have a say in planning lessons by providing feedback in polls through the software;
  • Provided her students with opportunities to demonstrate their learning beyond the class with the National Mathematics Leagues and Young Writers of Canada Competition;
  • Won $20,000 in grant money to implement the "Success for All" program, where she worked with a team of eight educators to develop revised science units for combined grades.

Rave reviews

As an administrator, it is important to have strong leaders among the teaching staff. If there is a job that needs to be done, a committee to be formed, a challenge to be solved, a colleague in need or an extracurricular event to be organized, Ms. Sims can be relied on to rise to the occasion. She has consistently modeled lifelong learning throughout her career and continues to find innovative to engage her students and inspire them to achieve.

Principal

I understand that gifted children are often referred to as 'strange' or 'odd.' I know that many of the students in the gifted program have come to St. Bonaventure to find a 'safe haven' as much as they have come to find appropriate educational challenges. Ms. Sims has created an atmosphere of acceptance in her class that should be the model for other teachers. Students that were once marginalized have found a classroom where their uniqueness is celebrated.

Parent
Date modified:

Maureen Sims

Année : 2015 – Province : Ontario

Lauréate d'un certificat d'honneur

St. Bonaventure Catholic School
1340, rue Leslie
Toronto (Ontario)  M3C 2K9

Directrice : Maria Meehan
Téléphone de l'école : 416‑393‑5263
Courriel de l'école : maria.meehan@tcdsb.org
Site Web de l'école : www.tcdsb.org/Schools/stbonaventure/Pages/default.aspx

Années et matières : 6e et 8e année, anglais, sciences et mathématiques

Méthode d'enseignement

Maureen Sims encourage ses élèves à sortir des sentiers battus, et ce, à tous les jours. Ses projets spéciaux encouragent l'élève à réfléchir rapidement et à tenter de nouvelles expériences avec les données présentées en vue de résoudre le problème efficacement.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • A présenté l'application Socrative App, un programme d'évaluation pédagogique, à sa classe afin que les élèves puissent cerner leurs faiblesses sur le plan de l'apprentissage et y remédier; les élèves ont également leur mot à dire pour la planification des leçons en donnant leur avis dans des sondages du logiciel;
  • A offert à ses élèves des occasions de démontrer leurs connaissances à l'extérieur de la classe, notamment aux concours des National Mathematics Leagues et Young Writers of Canada;
  • A remporté la somme de 20 000 $ en fonds de subvention en vue de mettre sur pied le programme « Success for All », elle a travaillé avec une équipe de huit enseignants pour concevoir des unités scientifiques révisées pour les années combinées.

Commentaires élogieux

En tant qu'administratrice, il est important d'avoir de bons leaders au sein du personnel enseignant. S'il faut faire un travail, mettre sur pied un comité, relever un défi, aider un collègue ou organiser une activité parascolaire, on peut compter sur Mme Sims pour relever le défi. Tout au long de sa carrière, elle a toujours prôné l'apprentissage continu et continue de trouver des moyens novateurs pour faire participer ses élèves et les inspirer à réussir.

La directrice

Je crois comprendre que les enfants surdoués portent souvent l'étiquette d'« étranges » ou de « bizarres ». Je sais qu'un grand nombre d'élèves du programme des surdoués fréquentent  St. Bonaventure pour y trouver non seulement un havre de paix mais également les défis appropriés en matière d'apprentissage. Mme Sims a créé dans sa classe un milieu favorisant l'acceptation qui pourrait servir de modèle pour d'autres enseignants. Les élèves qui étaient autrefois marginalisés ont trouvé une classe l'on reconnaît l'unicité de chaque enfant.

Un parent
Date de modification :