Tracey Tinley

Year: 2015 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Berrigan Elementary School
199 Berrigan Drive
Nepean, Ontario K2J 5C6

Principal: Brent Smith
School telephone: 613-825-0092
School email:
School website: www.berriganes.ocdsb.ca

Subjects and grades taught: Grades 4-6, Mathematics, Language Arts, Visual Arts

Teaching approach

It is Mrs. Tracey Tinley's mission to have each student realize "their power within" and their potential to be a better version of themselves. She ignites a passion for learning in her students by teaching new writing styles such as 'explode the moment' to express themselves and critical thinking skills.

Outstanding achievements:

  • Provided "feedback workshops" so her students learn how to provide support to their classmates in a constructive and positive manner;
  • Selected to work with the Critical Thinking Consortium in Vancouver to create online social studies units to complement the Ontario curriculum;
  • Chosen to become a literacy coach by the district. After her training, she presented workshops for colleagues on how to improve their math lessons and used examples from video clips of her lessons in action;
  • Organized creative events to showcase her students' talents such as a Writer's Café to present their final compositions to family and friends.

Rave reviews

As an Instructional Coach in our District, Tracey was routinely assigned to support schools that were struggling to meet the diverse needs of all students. Because of Tracey's work in these schools, student achievement and well-being improved, teachers were more engaged and the community support of the schools increased.

Superintendent

Tracey Tinley is the most innovative and exemplary teacher I have had the pleasure of working with—by a measure of light years. Regardless of the assignment, she has the passion and work ethic to excite and ignite every student.

Principal
Date modified:

Tracey Tinley

Année : 2015 – Province : Ontario

Lauréate d'un certificat d'honneur

Berrigan Elementary School
199, chemin Berrigan
Nepean (Ontario) K2J 5C6

Directrice : Jill Cutler
Téléphone de l'école : 613-825-0092
Courriel de l'école : j.cutler@ocdsb.ca
Site Web de l'école : www.berriganes.ocdsb.ca

Années et matières : de la 4e à la 6e année, mathématiques, arts du langage, arts visuels

Méthode d'enseignement

Tracey Tinley a comme mission de faire en sorte que les élèves prennent conscience du pouvoir qu'ils possèdent en eux-mêmes et réalisent leur potentiel afin qu'ils puissent s'améliorer. Elle suscite chez ses élèves la passion d'apprendre en enseignant de nouveaux styles d'écriture (p. ex., comme « l'explosion du moment » afin qu'ils puissent s'exprimer et développer la pensée critique).

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • A offert des ateliers de rétroaction afin que ses élèves apprennent à soutenir leurs collègues de classe de façon constructive et positive;
  • A été choisie pour travailler avec Critical Thinking Consortium à Vancouver pour créer des unités d'études sociales en ligne en complément du programme d'études de l'Ontario;
  • A été choisie par le district pour devenir conseillère en alphabétisation. Après la formation, elle a présenté des ateliers à ses collègues sur comment améliorer leurs leçons de mathématique et a utilisé des exemples de clips vidéos de ses leçons en  action;
  • A organisé des événements créatifs pour mettre en vedette le talent de ses élèves, comme le café des auteurs pour présenter leurs compositions finales à leur famille et leurs amis.

Commentaires élogieux

En tant que conseillère en alphabétisation dans notre district, Tracey était régulièrement affectée aux écoles qui éprouvaient des difficultés à répondre aux besoins des élèves. En raison du travail de Tracey dans ces écoles, on a noté une amélioration sur le plan des réalisations et du bien-être des élèves, une meilleure participation des enseignants et une concrétisation de l'appui de la collectivité à l'égard des écoles.

Le surintendant

Tracey Tinley est de loin l'une des enseignantes novatrices et exemplaires dont j'ai eu le plaisir de côtoyer au travail. Quelle que soit son affectation, elle a la passion et l'éthique du travail qui font en sorte de captiver et d'enflammer les élèves.

Le directeur
Date de modification :