Emmanuel Escueta

Year: 2015 – Province: British Columbia

Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Emmanuel Escueta

École Irvine Elementary School
3862 Wellington Street
Port Coquitlam, British Columbia  V3B 3Z4

Principal: Laurie Birnie
School telephone: 604-941-3408
School email: lbirnie@sd43.bc.ca
School website: https://www.sd43.bc.ca/elementary/irvine/Pages/default.aspx

Subjects and Grades Taught: Grade 2, French immersion

Through engaging and lively activities—often with a cultural element—Emmanuel Escueta spurs French immersion students on to achievements in research, writing and performance that leave them proud, happy and excited to learn.

Teaching approach

Mr. Escueta refers to his teaching philosophy as "infinite": the strategies and activities he develops for his students are inclusive, fun, interactive, integrative, team-oriented and empowering. He also develops a genuine and professional rapport with children and colleagues alike, doing everything he can to help them all succeed.

Outstanding achievements

  • Invented the Verbathon, a fun, active and team-based game to teach French grammar (students are challenged to conjugate verbs as quickly as possible), as well as math and social studies.
  • Developed a kit so schools across the country can have Verbathons of their own; teachers consistently report increased interest in learning French.
  • Found national support and sponsorship for a country-wide Verbathon tournament from organizations that support French-language education and from the business community; schools from B.C., Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec and Nova Scotia participated in the 2015 edition.
  • Harnesses cross-cultural opportunities for learning, such as teaching children to sing a Christmas song in three languages, to play a traditional Filipino bamboo instrument and to dance a traditional Filipino dance, and sharing the art of origami.
  • Introduced Kidspiration software to his classroom so young learners can research and write speeches in French; they deliver the speeches to an audience and create a poster to illustrate their topic; one student went on to win the school district French speech contest for Grade 2.
  • Mentors fellow teachers on second-language instruction and the use of technology to enhance learning.

Rave reviews

"My little boy, who never wanted … anything to do with learning has never been so eager to get to school to hear Mr. Escueta's stories, games and activities."

Parent and nominator

"[Mr. Escueta teaches] in such a way that even in Grade 3 I could see why math and science were an important part of the real world."

Former student
Date modified:

Emmanuel Escueta

Année : 2015 – Province : Colombie-Britannique

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'excellence

Emmanuel Escueta

École Irvine Elementary School
3862, Wellington Street
Port Coquitlam (Colombie-Britannique)  V3B 3Z4

Directrice : Laurie Birnie
Téléphone de l'école : 604-941-3408
Courriel de l'école : lbirnie@sd43.bc.ca
Site Web de l'école : https://www.sd43.bc.ca/elementary/irvine/Pages/default.aspx

Années et matières : Immersion française en 2e année

Par le biais d'activités stimulantes et dynamiques, souvent dotées d'un volet culturel, Emmanuel Escueta amène les élèves en immersion française à réaliser des projets de recherche, de rédaction et des performances qui les rendent fiers, heureux et impatients d'apprendre.

Méthode d'enseignement

M. Escueta considère que sa philosophie d'enseignement est « infinie ». Les stratégies et les activités qu'il élabore pour ses élèves sont inclusive (inclusives), fun (amusantes), interactive (interactives), integrative (intégratives), team-oriented (axées sur l'équipe) et empowering (stimulantes). Il développe également de véritables rapports professionnels tant avec les enfants qu'avec ses collègues en faisant tout en son possible pour les aider à réussir.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • A inventé le Verbathon, un jeu d'équipe amusant et dynamique pour enseigner la grammaire française (les élèves doivent conjuguer des verbes le plus rapidement possible), et même les mathématiques et les sciences humaines.
  • A développé une trousse pour permettre aux écoles du pays d'utiliser leur propre Verbathon. Les enseignants remarquent constamment un intérêt grandissant pour le français.
  • A trouvé du financement et du soutien pour un tournoi national de Verbathon auprès d'organismes qui appuient l'enseignement du français et du milieu des affaires. Des écoles de la Colombie-Britannique, du Manitoba, de l'Ontario, du Québec et de la Nouvelle-Écosse ont participé à l'édition de 2015.
  • Saisit des occasions d'apprentissage interculturelles, notamment en enseignant aux enfants à interpréter des chansons de Noël dans trois langues, à jouer d'un instrument de musique traditionnel philippin en bambou, à exécuter une danse philippine traditionnelle et à faire de l'origami.
  • A introduit le logiciel Kidspiration dans sa classe pour permettre aux jeunes apprenants de faire des recherches et de rédiger des exposés oraux en français. Ceux-ci présentent leurs exposés devant un auditoire et créent une affiche pour illustrer le sujet. Un de ses élèves a remporté le concours oratoire francophone de 2e année du district scolaire.
  • Conseille ses collègues sur l'enseignement d'une langue seconde et sur l'utilisation de la technologie pour améliorer l'apprentissage.

Commentaires élogieux

« Mon petit garçon, qui n'a jamais… rien voulu savoir d'apprendre n'a jamais été si impatient d'aller à l'école pour entendre les histoires de M. Escueta et participer à ses jeux et activités. »

Un parent et proposant

« Son enseignement est tel que même en 3e année j'étais conscient que les mathématiques et les sciences occupaient une place importante dans la vraie vie. »

Un ancien élève
Date de modification :