Steve Revington

Year: 2015 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Steve Revington

Emily Carr Public School
44 Hawthorne Road
London, Ontario  N6G 2H5

Principal: Matthew Chevalier
School telephone: 519-452-8160
School email: emilycarr@tvdsb.on.ca
School website: http://www.tvdsb.ca/EmilyCarr.cfm

Subjects and grades taught: Grade 4, all subjects

Steve Revington's classroom extends far beyond the walls of the school to encompass the local community and the broader world, all through interactive and immersive learning experiences.

Teaching approach

Mr. Revington believes that teaching is about creating possibilities and not simply about transferring information. His Authentic Learning approach promotes learning by doing, in a genuine context and to a specific audience. He acts as a facilitator or project manager who nurtures, motivates, co-creates and consults with students as they engage in multi-sensory tasks.

Outstanding achievements

  • Conceived his authentic learning model in the mid-1980s to provide a rich and meaningful environment for students to engage in, featuring role-playing, integrated subjects and skill sets, and plenty of hands-on and problem-solving activities; the Great London Challenge, for example, was an Amazing Race-type event, in which students solved a series of clues, which led them to locations across the city, with high-quality learning tasks at each event station.
  • Created the Egg Drop Project, inspired by a similar activity he saw on television: students design and build a capsule to protect a raw egg when dropped from high heights, to learn about gravity and other concepts; the project, which is used by educators around the world, wrote and produced an educational documentary that received extensive media coverage.
  • Created a comprehensive website, Authentic Learning, that supports educators in adopting his authentic model. He has identified and shared 12 elements that are the foundations of this model of learning. His Dream Big website provides parents with support and concise communication.
  • Selected as one of 50 finalists for the inaugural Global Teacher Prize, out of more than 5,000 submissions from 127 countries.
  • Named a recipient of the 2014 Associate Teacher Award for Excellence from Western University's Althouse College Faculty of Education.

Rave reviews

"His warm and caring attitude permeates everything he does …. He is an innovative leader who challenges the status quo and seeks change that he knows will make a difference to kids."

Former principal

"I have never met a teacher who has been as intentional, effective or committed to meeting the learning and social-emotional needs of his students."

Head Board psychologist
Date modified:

Steve Revington

Année : 2016 – Province : Ontario

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'excellence

Steve Revington

Emily Carr Public School
44, chemin Hawthorne
London (Ontario)  N6G 2H5

Directeur : Matthew Chevalier
Téléphone de l'école : 519-452-8160
Courriel de l'école : emilycarr@tvdsb.on.ca
Site Web de l'école : http://www.tvdsb.ca/EmilyCarr.cfm

Années et matières : 4e année, toutes les matières

La classe de Steve Revington dépasse largement l'enceinte de l'école pour englober la collectivité et le monde en général, par le biais d'expériences d'apprentissage interactives et d'immersion.

Méthode d'enseignement

M. Revington estime que l'enseignement vise à créer des possibilités et non à simplement transférer des connaissances. Sa méthode d'apprentissage authentique vise à apprendre par la pratique, dans un contexte concret et à l'intention d'un public précis. Il agit à titre de facilitateur ou de gestionnaire de projet qui guide, motive, cocrée et consulte ses élèves à mesure qu'ils accomplissent des tâches multi-sensorielles.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • A conçu son modèle d'apprentissage au milieu des années 1980 pour offrir un milieu riche et intéressant qui motive les élèves, où il favorise le jeu de rôle, des programmes et compétences intégrés et un grand nombre d'activités pratiques et de résolution de problèmes; le Great London Challenge, par exemple, était un événement inspiré d'Amazing Race, au cours duquel les élèves ont eu à résoudre plusieurs énigmes, qui les menaient à différents endroits dans la ville et où ils devaient accomplir des tâches d'apprentissage difficiles à chaque station d'activités.
  • A créé le Egg Drop Project, inspiré d'une activité similaire qu'il a vue à la télévision : les élèves conçoivent et bâtissent une capsule pour protéger un œuf cru, qu'ils laissent tomber de différentes hauteurs, en vue d'en apprendre davantage sur la gravité et d'autres concepts; dans le cadre de ce projet, qui est utilisé par les enseignants du monde entier, un documentaire éducatif a été rédigé et produit et ce dernier a fait l'objet d'une grande couverture médiatique.
  • A créé un site Web exhaustif, Authentic Learning, qui encourage les enseignants à adopter son modèle. Il a relevé et communiqué 12 éléments constituant la base de ce modèle d'apprentissage. Son site Web Dream Big permet de fournir aux parents du soutien et un moyen de communication concis.
  • A été retenu parmi les 50 finalistes de la première édition du Global Teacher Prize, sur plus de 5 000 demandes provenant de 127 pays.
  • A été nommé récipiendaire du prix Associate Teacher for Excellence en 2014, remis par la Faculté d'éducation du Collège Althouse de la Western University.

Commentaires élogieux

« Son attitude bienveillante et chaleureuse se reflète dans tout ce qu'il fait... Il est un leader novateur qui n'a pas peur de remettre en cause le statu quo et d'apporter les changements qui, selon lui, feront une différence pour les enfants. »

Ancien directeur

« Je n'ai jamais rencontré un enseignant qui a eu autant à cœur de répondre aux besoins d'apprentissage et sociaux-émotionnels de ses élèves ou qui a été aussi efficace sur ce plan. »

Psychologue en chef du conseil
Date de modification :