Krista Richard

Year: 2015 – Province: New Brunswick

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Krista Richard

Forest Glen Elementary School
43 Keenan Drive
Moncton, New Brunswick  E1A 3P8

Principal: Craig Hutchings
School telephone: 506-856-3414
School email: craig.hutchings@nbed.nb.ca
School website: http://forestglenschool.nbed.nb.ca

Subjects and grades taught: Physical Education, Kindergarten to Grade 4

From bringing in the latest in equipment and technology, to ensuring that children have new sneakers in which to play, Krista Richard enriches school and student life through physical activity and fun.

Teaching approach

Ms. Richard seeks to have children learn to enjoy physical activity in a non-competitive atmosphere, instilling in them sportsmanship and the importance of safety. She teaches students a catchy phrase to help them remember these important principles: "Have fun. Play safe. Get along. If it hurts, it's wrong!"

Outstanding achievements

  • Offers an extensive after-school program to give children from low socio-economic backgrounds the chance to participate in sports and activities, and to provide much needed structure for their late afternoon hours.
  • Links participation in after-school activities and her regular sport-a-thon on Friday nights to positive student behaviour and good attendance, with widespread improvements resulting in both areas.
  • Introduced the Spark Bike to the school: advocated and fundraised for these silent stationary bikes that allow students who struggle to concentrate to benefit from the calming effects of cycling; the goal is to have one in each classroom, since the effects have been so positive.
  • Capitalized on her participation in the Olympic Torch Relay to develop school-wide interest in the games, including learning about the hard work and determination it takes to be an Olympic athlete.
  • Created Fit Fridays: each week representatives from a community group or club introduce students to a new physical activity, such as yoga, tae kwon do or tennis; these sessions also strengthen connections between the school and the community.

Rave reviews

"In her dedicated and tireless way, Krista had the ability to provide the inclusive education and social network that my son and many others were in desperate need of."

Parent of student with disabilities

"Krista not only teaches her students about respect and inclusion. She is a role model to others through her actions."

Former principal
Date modified:

Krista Richard

Année : 2016 – Province : Nouveau-Brunswick

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'honneur

Krista Richard

Forest Glen Elementary School
43 Keenan Drive
Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick)  E1A 3P8

Directeur : Craig Hutchings
Téléphone de l'école : 506-856-3414
Courriel de l'école : craig.hutchings@nbed.nb.ca
Site Web de l'école : http://forestglenschool.nbed.nb.ca

Matières et années : éducation physique, de la maternelle à la 4e année

Krista Richard, qui n'hésite pas à introduire les technologies et l'équipement de pointe en classe et à s'assurer que les enfants ont de nouvelles espadrilles pour jouer, enrichit la vie à l'école et des élèves par l'activité physique et le plaisir.

Méthode d'enseignement

Mme Richard vise à faire en sorte que les enfants apprennent à prendre plaisir aux activités physiques dans un environnement non compétitif, leur inculquant un bon esprit sportif et l'importance de la sécurité. Elle enseigne aux élèves une phrase accrocheuse pour les aider à se rappeler ces importants principes : « Amuse-toi. Joue prudemment. Entendez-vous bien. Si ça fait mal, c'est mal! »

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Offre un programme parascolaire complet pour donner aux enfants provenant d'un milieu socio-économique modeste l'occasion de participer à des sports et à des activités et de bénéficier d'un encadrement dont ils ont grandement besoin en fin d'après-midi.
  • Lie la participation à des activités parascolaires et à ses après-midi du vendredi consacrés au sport au comportement positif des élèves et à une bonne assiduité, où l'on note d'importants progrès dans les deux domaines.
  • A introduit le projet de vélo « Spark Bike » à l'école qui vise à prôner et recueillir des fonds pour ces bicyclettes stationnaires silencieuses qui permettent aux élèves qui ont de la difficulté à se concentrer à tirer profit des effets calmants du vélo; on souhaiterait en avoir un dans chaque classe, puisque les effets sont si positifs.
  • A tiré profit de sa participation au relais de la flamme olympique pour susciter l'intérêt dans l'ensemble de l'école à l'égard des jeux, notamment apprendre qu'il faut travailler fort et être déterminé pour devenir un athlète olympique.
  • A créé les vendredis en forme : chaque semaine, des représentants d'un groupe ou d'un club communautaire montrent aux élèves une nouvelle activité physique, comme le yoga, le tae kwon do ou le tennis; ces séances consolident également les liens entre l'école et la communauté.

Commentaires élogieux

« Faisant toujours preuve de dévouement et d'opiniâtreté, Krista a su offrir un réseau social et d'intégration scolaire dont avaient désespérément besoin mon fils et de nombreuses autres personnes. »

Parent d'un élève handicapé

« Krista n'enseigne pas seulement à ses élèves ce que sont le respect et l'inclusion. Elle est un modèle pour les autres par les gestes qu'elle pose. »

Un ancien directeur
Date de modification :