Janet Ruest

Year: 2017 – Province: British Columbia

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Janet Ruest

Chemainus Secondary School
9947 Daniel Street
Chemainus, British Columbia V0R 1K1

Principal: Sian Peterson
School telephone: 250-246-4711
School email: chss@sd79.bc.ca
School website: chss.sd79.bc.ca

Subjects and grades taught:  Grade 9-12, Social studies, history, law

Janet Ruest is a high school teacher who fosters the growth of curiosity and a thirst for knowledge, and encourages students to evaluate issues by examining the moral and ethical decisions made in the past.

Teaching approach

Board games, instant messages between historic figures, a rap with Hitler and Napoleon, This Land is Your Land rewritten from an Aboriginal perspective – students are encouraged to be creative and independent thinkers as they explore their learning. Assignments are often collaborative and develop out of student/teacher relationships.

Outstanding achievements

  • Ruest continuously brings the community into her classroom. Students interview and research war veterans, listen to stories from Aboriginal elders, members of parliament, municipal councilors and the Mayor, participate in mock parliaments, build Habitat for Humanity homes, participate in rainforest reforestation in Costa Rica and much more.
  • Students compiled a Veterans Memory Booklet based on interviews and research, which was presented to the local veterans at the Legion. The project culminated in a trip to the European battlefields, after which students recounted their own experiences at the Legion.
  • She was selected to attend the Teacher's Institute on Parliamentary Democracy, was a member of a pilot preparatory program for Chinese students considering education in Canada, travelled to the Galapagos Islands aboard Lindblad Endeavour and was responsible for contributing to the daily travel blog published by National Geographic.

Rave reviews

[Ruest] epitomizes the expression 'once a teacher, always a teacher': she sees a potential lesson plan in the most unsuspecting people and situations. (…) By providing choice and innovative assignments, Janet's students are able to work at their level, are engaged and eager to know what's next."

Colleague and parent

"Ms. Ruest's passion for history, geography and citizenship has allowed her to facilitate community partnership and a culture of citizenship opportunities. (…) Brining curriculum to life has always been a passion for Ms. Ruest."

Principal
Date modified:

Janet Ruest

Année : 2017 – Province : Colombie-Britannique

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

Janet Ruest

Chemainus Secondary School
9947, rue Daniel
Chemainus (Colombie-Britannique)  V0R 1K1

Directrice : Sian Peterson
Téléphone de l'école : 250-246-4711
Courriel de l'école : chss@sd79.bc.ca
Site Web de l'école : chss.sd79.bc.ca

Matières et niveaux enseignés : 9e à 12e années, études sociales, histoire, droit

Janet Ruest est une enseignante du secondaire qui favorise la curiosité et la soif de connaissances et encourage les étudiants à évaluer les enjeux en examinant des décisions morales et éthiques faites dans le passé.

Méthode d'enseignement

Les jeux de société, la messagerie instantanée entre des personnalités historiques, un rap avec Hitler et Napoléon, la chanson This Land is Your Land [Cette terre est votre terre] réécrite du point de vue des Autochtones; on encourage les étudiants à être créatifs et à avoir un esprit indépendant alors qu'ils font leur apprentissage. Les devoirs sont souvent coopératifs et développent des relations autres qu'étudiant-enseignant.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Mme Ruest amène constamment la collectivité dans sa classe. Les étudiants font des entrevues et de la recherche auprès des anciens combattants, écoutent les histoires des Aînés autochtones, des députés, des conseillers municipaux et du maire, participent à un parlement étudiant, construisent des maisons Habitat pour l'humanité, participent à la reforestation de la forêt tropicale humide du Costa Rica et beaucoup d'autres choses.
  • Les étudiants ont compilé un Veterans Memory Booklet fondé sur des entrevues et de la recherche qui a été présenté aux vétérans locaux à la Légion. Ce projet a culminé en un voyage sur les champs de bataille de l'Europe, après quoi les étudiants ont raconté leurs propres expériences à la Légion.
  • Elle a été choisie pour assister au Teacher's Institute on Parliamentary Democracy, a été membre d'un programme pilote préparatoire pour étudiants chinois qui considèrent une formation au Canada, a voyagé aux îles Galapagos à bord du Lindblad Endeavour et a été responsable d'une contribution au blogue de voyage quotidien publié par National Geographic.

Commentaires élogieux

« [Mme Ruest] illustre parfaitement l'expression 'enseignante un jour, enseignante toujours' : elle voit des plans de leçons potentiels dans les personnes et les situations les plus inusitées. [...] Les étudiants de Janet, à qui elle fournit choix et devoirs innovants, peuvent travailler à leur niveau, sont mobilisés et impatients de connaître la suite. »

Un collègue et parent

« La passion de Mme Ruest pour l'histoire, la géographie et le droit de cité lui a permis d'animer le partenariat de la collectivité et une culture d'occasions citoyennes. [...] Animer le curriculum a toujours été une passion pour Mme Ruest. »

La directrice
Date de modification :