Chris D’Arcy

Year: 2017 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Chris D'Arcy

Royal St. George's College
120 Howland Avenue
Toronto, Ontario  M5R 3B5

Principal: Stephen Beatty
School telephone: 416-533-9481
School email: cdarcy@rsgc.on.ca
School website: www.rsgc.on.ca

Subjects and grades taught: Grades 3-12, Information technology, computer engineering

Described by students and colleagues as a mentor, builder and risk-taker, after 40 years of experience, Chris D'Arcy still makes sure that no lesson is ever delivered the same way.

Teaching approach

In Chris' classes, each student is working toward an end goal that has a real world conclusion. A collaborator and a progressive educator, he makes sure that students are able to communicate their thinking and ideas in both the spoken and written word.

Outstanding achievements

  • Chris has built a program that has students bringing a product to market. The ACES (Advanced Computer Engineering School) introduces students to computer software and hardware design. Deadlines are not arbitrary, senior students mentor junior students, and the products are sold in the school store.
  • Chris has founded a Fix-It Club in his design studio. Campus members are invited to bring in small broken appliances to be restored and reused by the students.
  • Students are regularly invited to explore the use of technology for a greater good. They mentor students from schools in socio-economically depressed areas of the city, have solar panels installed on the school roof and create a green wall in the classroom.

Rave reviews

"When I entered university, I found that I was better prepared after having Chris as my teacher as there was significant overlap between the additional course material Chris created and content in first year university."

Former student

"[Chris] is a teacher who has inspired, challenged, enriched, encouraged and nurtured countless young men at Royal St. George's College over the past 40 years. During this time, he has changed the course of many lives and pointed many of his students in a direction they may not have chosen had they not had the opportunity to be taught by this remarkable teacher."

Parent
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Chris D’Arcy

Année : 2017 – Province : Ontario

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

Chris D'Arcy

Royal St. George's College
120, avenue Howland
Toronto (Ontario)  M5R 3B5

Directeur : Stephen Beatty
Téléphone de l'école : 416-533-9481
Courriel de l'école : cdarcy@rsgc.on.ca
Site Web de l'école : www.rsgc.on.ca

Années et matières : 3e à 12e années, technologie de l'information, informatique

Chris D'Arcy, que ses étudiants et ses collègues qualifient de mentor, de fondateur et d'audacieux après 40 ans d'expérience, s'assure toujours qu'aucune leçon n'est jamais présentée de la même façon.

Méthode d'enseignement

Dans les classes de Chris, chaque étudiant travaille à un but qui constitue une conclusion dans la réalité. Collaborateur et enseignant progressiste, il s'assure que les étudiants peuvent communiquer leurs pensées et leurs idées tant verbalement que par écrit.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Chris a monté un programme qui amène les étudiants à apporter un produit sur le marché. Les ACES (Advanced Computer Engineering School) initient les étudiants à la conception de logiciels et de matériel. Les échéances ne sont pas arbitraires, les étudiants plus vieux accompagnent les étudiants plus jeunes et les produits sont vendus dans la boutique de l'école.
  • Chris a fondé un club de réparation dans son studio de conception. Les membres du campus sont invités à apporter les petits appareils défectueux pour que les étudiants les réparent et les réutilisent.
  • Les étudiants sont périodiquement invités à explorer l'utilisation de la technologie pour un plus grand bien. Ils accompagnent les étudiants des écoles dans les régions défavorisées de la ville, installent des panneaux solaires sur le toit de l'école et créent des murs verts dans la classe.

Commentaires élogieux

« Quand je suis entré à l'université, je me suis trouvé mieux préparé après avoir eu Chris comme enseignant, car il y avait beaucoup de recoupements entre la matière des cours supplémentaires que Chris avait créés et le contenu de la première année d'université. »

Un ancien étudiant

« [Chris] est un enseignant qui, pendant 40 ans, a inspiré, remis en question, enrichi, encouragé et éduqué d'innombrables jeunes hommes au Royal St. George's College. Pendant ce temps, il a modifié le cours de nombreuses vies et dirigé plusieurs de ses étudiants vers une orientation qu'ils n'auraient pas choisie s'ils n'avaient pas eu l'occasion d'être formés par ce remarquable enseignant. »

Un parent
Date de modification :