James Mitchell

Year: 2017 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

James Mitchell

Dr. Frank J. Hayden Secondary School
3040 Tim Dobbie Drive
Burlington, Ontario  L7M 0N6

Principal: Nicholas Varricchio
School telephone: 905-332-5235
School website: dfh.hdsb.ca

Subjects and grades taught: Grade 9-12, Math

From using zombie games to collect data and learn about functions, to estimating the number of jelly beans to cover a field: no matter the material, James Mitchell is a math teacher who has endless engaging and exciting activities up his sleeve getting everyone excited about math.

Teaching approach

Why not? is the question that probably best exemplifies Jamie's approach. From flipped classrooms and online learning to extra-curricular activities and mentoring, Jamie is a professional learner who shows students how math concepts apply to real life.

Outstanding achievements

  • Jamie was instrumental in the advancement of math teaching practices, and was part of a group of teachers that rewrote how the grade 12 advanced functions course was taught using ICT. The program is so successful that Jamie has hosted teachers from as far as Finland and Australia in his classroom.
  • Not only does Jamie make excellent use of technology in the classroom, but he is a strong advocate at the board level for digital literacy and education on responsible cyber citizenship.
  • Jamie organizes summer math camps for incoming grade nine students to help ease the transition to high school, and to help them learn to have fun with math.

Rave reviews

"[Mr. Mitchell] creates positive relationships with students and makes us know that he can always help when we need him. He provides us with constructive feedback in a way where we are not ashamed of our mistakes and he makes sure our parents are understanding of his teaching style."

Student

"Jamie has enabled system leaders to recognize and do more with their existing resources and to optimize the energy and creative force of the people to continue to stretch beyond the status quo."

Superintendent
Date modified:

James Mitchell

Année : 2017 – Province : Ontario

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

James Mitchell

Dr. Frank J. Hayden Secondary School
3040, promenade Tim Dobbie
Burlington (Ontario)  L7M 0N6

Directeur : Nicholas Varricchio
Téléphone de l'école : 905-332-5235
Site Web de l'école : dfh.hdsb.ca

Années et matières : 9e à 12e années, mathématiques

De l'utilisation des jeux de morts-vivants à la collecte de données et l'apprentissage des fonctions, en passant par l'estimation du nombre de jujubes qu'il faut pour pour couvrir un champ, quel que soit le contenu, James Mitchell est un professeur de mathématiques qui a toujours des activités absorbantes et stimulantes dans sa manche pour enthousiasmer tout le monde à l'égard des mathématiques.

Méthode d'enseignement

Pourquoi pas? C'est sans doute la question qui illustre le mieux la démarche de Jamie. Des classes inversées à l'apprentissage en ligne aux activités parascolaires et au mentorat, Jamie est un apprenant professionnel qui montre aux étudiants comment les concepts mathématiques s'appliquent dans la vie de tous les jours.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Jamie a joué un rôle important dans l'avancement des pratiques d'enseignement des mathématiques et a fait partie d'un groupe d'enseignants qui a réécrit la manière d'enseigner le cours de fonctions avancées de 12e année au moyen des technologies de l'information et des communications. Ce programme a tant de succès que Jamie a reçu dans sa classe des enseignants venus d'aussi loin que la Finlande et l'Australie.
  • Jamie ne fait pas qu'exploiter merveilleusement la technologie en classe, il fait la promotion de la culture numérique et de l'éducation pour des cybercitoyens responsables auprès du conseil scolaire.
  • Jamie organise des camps d'été de mathématiques pour les nouveaux étudiants de neuvième année afin de faciliter leur transition à l'école secondaire et les aider à apprendre à s'amuser avec les mathématiques.

Commentaires élogieux

« [M. Mitchell] forge des liens positifs avec les étudiants et nous laisse savoir qu'il peut toujours nous aider en cas de besoin. Il nous fait des commentaires constructifs de sorte que nous n'avons pas honte de nos erreurs et il s'assure que nos parents comprennent son style d'enseignement. »

Un étudiant

« Jamie a permis aux dirigeants du système d'accepter de faire davantage avec les ressources existantes et d'optimiser l'énergie et la force créatrice des gens afin de continuer à dépasser le statu quo. »

Un inspecteur
Date de modification :