Karine St-Cyr

Year: 2017 – Province: Quebec

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Karine St-Cyr

École des Bois-et-Marées
53 rue St-Pierre est
Luceville, Quebec  G0K 1P0

Principal: Patricia Cote
School telephone: 418-739-4214
School email: bois-marees@csphares.qc.ca
School website: www.spip.csphares.qc.ca/bem/

Subjects and grades taught: French, Math, Art

Karine St-Cyr is a dynamic teacher who introduces her students to a wide variety of resources–attorneys, radio hosts, authors, the Director of Business division of the Caisse populaire, artists, police officers–in order to give them a sense of the careers they may wish to pursue.

Teaching approach

As someone who stays on top of the latest academic approaches in order to motivate her students, foster their desire to excel and increase their sense of belonging, Ms. St-Cyr favours positive reinforcement, integrating other subjects in the projects she pursues while maintaining a common thread.

Outstanding achievements

  • Ms. St-Cyr worked with the music teacher to set up a student radio program in order to develop the students' oral communication, writing, critical thinking and even English language skills. She also organized the "Note rythme" program which aired on Radio-Canada, where grade schools added their personal touch to songs and, more recently, "Prof, ma fierté", which was presented at her school.
  • Ms. St-Cyr is active in her community. She makes Christmas baskets and worked with a local organization called Les Grands Amis de Rimouski to send children in need to Tim Horton's Children's Camp.
  • Ms. St-Cyr has worked with various partners to hold workshops with students and parents on social media issues related to cyber-bullying and the hazards of the Internet.

Rave reviews

"Karine is a teacher who is attentive to her students and to her colleagues. Because she is such a sweet soul, people want to confide in her and work with her. (…) In fact, everyone at the school calls her "Madame Bonheur" (Miss Sunshine), a nickname that fits her like a glove!"

Principal

"Karine is a truly exceptional teacher with the biggest heart in the world. She is always in a good mood, even on Mondays. She spreads happiness wherever she goes and has joie de vivre in spades."

Students
Date modified:

Karine St-Cyr

Année : 2017 – Province : Québec

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

Karine St-Cyr

École des Bois-et-Marées
53 rue St-Pierre est
Luceville, Québec  G0K 1P0

Directrice : Patricia Cote
Téléphone de l'école : 418-739-4214
Courriel de l'école : bois-marees@csphares.qc.ca
Site Web de l'école : www.spip.csphares.qc.ca/bem/

Années et matières : Français, maths, arts

Avocate, animateur de radio, auteure, directeur de la Caisse populaire d'entreprise, artistes ou policier : Karine St-Cyr est une enseignante dynamique fait connaître un éventail de ressources aux élèves dans le but de susciter un éveil à leur réalité future.

Méthode d'enseignement

Toujours à l'affut des nouvelles approches pédagogiques pouvant susciter la motivation, le goût de se dépasser et le sentiment d'appartenance des élèves, St-Cyr favorise le renforcement positif en intégrant d'autres matières dans un projet tout en gardant un fil conducteur.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • St-Cyr a mis sur pied, en collaboration avec l'enseignant de musique, la radio étudiante ce qui permet de travailler la communication orale, l'écriture, le jugement critique et même l'anglais. Elle a aussi organisé le passage de l'émission « Note rythme » à Radio-Canada où des écoles primaires ajoutent leur touche personnelle à des chansons et plus récemment, le passage de Prof, ma fierté a son école.
  • St-Cyr s'implique dans la communauté – dans la mise en place des paniers de Noël, et dans la collaboration avec l'organisme communitaire Les Grands Amis de Rimouski afin de faire participer certains élèves dans le besoin au camp Tim Horton.
  • St-Cyr travaille avec des partenaires différents pour organiser des ateliers avec les élèves et les parents dont les sujets abordant les médias sociaux varient autour de la cyberintimidation et les dangers de l'internet.

Commentaires élogieux

« Karine est une enseignante à l'écoute de ses élèves et de ses collègues. Sa douceur fait en sorte qu'on a le goût de se confier et de travailler avec elle. (…) D'ailleurs, à l'école, on la surnomme « Madame Bonheur », ce qui lui va à merveille! »

Directrice

« Karine était vraiment exceptionnelle et elle avait un cœur assez grand pour rentrer la planète en grand complet. Toujours heureuse, même le lundi, elle semait le bonheur autour d'elle et elle dégageait une joie de vivre à en tomber par terre. »

Élèves
Date de modification :