Donna Armstrong: Balancing curriculum, student interests and global needs

Year: 2018 – Province: Alberta

Transcription – Donna Armstrong-2018 Prime Minister's Awards for Teaching Excellence

[Black screen fades up to close-up of woman in interview setting, against a mottled background. Music playing.]

[Caption: Donna Armstrong, Crescent Heights High School]

[Donna speaking in interview setting alternates with voice over accompanied by still photos, as follows: Donna and three female students in front of laptops; and Donna in a studio in front of a microphone with headphones on listening to a man, also wearing headphones.]

Donna Armstrong: The number one factor contributing to my students’ learning has to be positive relationships. In my classroom, we try to create a safe and caring environment, where all students are encouraged to explore, and to contribute, and to create, and to connect to others. We make sure that everybody is able to contribute in their own way.

[Donna speaking in interview setting, with cut near the end to voice over and still photo of Donna and a smiling young man in front of a computer with a large-print keyboard.]

Donna Armstrong: I have three rules in my classroom. The first one is respect, trust and performance. And, within those guidelines, we try to make sure that everyone has an equal opportunity, that everybody is able to express their ideas with constructive criticism, able to explore the different technologies, with assistive devices, if necessary, so that everyone feels like they belong.

[Donna speaking in interview setting then cuts to voice over with still photos, as follows: a computer lab; Donna and several young women posing in matching t-shirts, with cameras; and Donna with a video crew in front of lockers.]

Donna Armstrong: The idea behind communications technologies is that we are able to give students meaningful opportunities that use industry-standard software and concepts, and that they are able to use those transferable skills into the workplace or post-secondary.

[Cut back to Donna in interview setting, and then voice over continuing with video of Donna addressing fellow recipients at podium. Cut back to Donna speaking in interview setting to conclude.]

Donna Armstrong: My biggest piece of advice for pre-service teachers is that in university you learn all about classroom management and the curriculum, but the foundation is building relationships. So, for me, making sure that when a student comes to my classroom that they feel like they belong, they feel like they can contribute, they’re somewhere where people care about them, because I’m their biggest cheerleader.

[Fade to black.]

[Cut to white screen, with the Government of Canada FIP followed by the Canada Wordmark.]

Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Donna Armstrong

Crescent Heights High School
1201 Division Avenue
Medicine Hat, Alberta T1A 5Y9

School telephone: 403-527-6641
School website: www.chhsweb.ca
http://chhsmultimedia.wixsite.com/chhs-multimedia

Subjects and grades taught:  Multimedia and Communication Technology, grades 7–12

An informed, perceptive and passionate advocate of the safe, ethical and respectful use of media and the Internet, Donna Armstrong has three rules for her classroom: trust, respect and performance. She is a lifelong learner, and creative and critical thinker who contributes to education both locally and abroad.

Teaching approach

Integrating many disciplines, Donna builds her classes on an underlying structure of individualized hands-on strategies and problem-solving activities. Her lessons balance the Alberta curriculum, student interests and the local, regional and global demands of the real world.

In the Classroom

  • Presents technology as a vehicle for students to connect, create and celebrate: students took holiday photos with DSLR digital cameras, and made greeting cards to sell; others wrote and illustrated a children's book for exchange with schools in the Caribbean
  • Incorporates learning opportunities as they arise: students produce advertising materials for businesses, print t-shirts for school teams and clubs, film and live-stream volleyball and soccer tournaments, and create orientation videos to help Grade 6 students transition to the school
  • Employs assistive devices to meet wide range of special needs: drawing tablets supplement keyboards, noise-cancelling headphones help students who are easily distracted, text-to­speech software supports visually impaired students, iPads extend accessibility beyond the classroom
  • Extended her Master's thesis research to include a collaborative learning activity: students exchanged photographs with peers in Ethiopia depicting learning in their respective schools, and were challenged to understand and appreciate the images their African counterparts selected

Outstanding achievements

  • High retainment rates and achievement by students of widely varying backgrounds, interests and skill levels are hallmarks of Donna's classes
  • Students regularly receive individual or group awards (local and provincial) for photography, yearbook cover design and animation
  • Leads program development: for example, Donna transformed a program based on darkroom photography, manual production of print materials and silk screening into a fully digital approach to design and production of multimedia materials; created multimedia courses for three grades
  • For five summers, Donna organized and led multi-week workshops in art and design, English and computer literacy in Africa, the Caribbean and South America

Rave reviews

"Ms. Armstrong is an exemplary teacher, cultivating students' talents and encouraging their exploration of media careers. She is the kind of teacher you hope your own children will encounter during their time in the education system.”

Parent
Date modified:

Donna Armstrong : Équilibrer programme, champs d'intérêt des étudiants et besoins du monde

Année : 2018 – Province : Alberta

Transcription – Donna Armstrong-Prix du Premier ministre 2018 pour l'excellence dans l'enseignement

[Écran noir s’estompant jusqu’à un gros plan d’une femme en situation d’entrevue sur un fond marbré. Musique de fond.]

[Légende : Donna Armstrong, Crescent Heights High School]

[Donna parle en situation d’entrevue, en alternance avec la voix hors champ accompagnée de photos, comme suit : Donna et trois élèves devant un ordinateur portable ; et Donna dans un studio devant un micro avec des écouteurs écoutant un homme, portant aussi des écouteurs.]

Donna Armstrong : Le principal facteur qui contribue à l’apprentissage de mes élèves doit être des relations positives. Dans ma classe, nous essayons de créer un environnement sûr et bienveillant, où tous les élèves sont encouragés à explorer, à contribuer, à créer et à se connecter aux autres. Nous veillons à ce que chacun puisse contribuer à sa manière.

[Donna parle en situation d’entrevue, avec une coupure près de la fin de la voix hors champ et une image fixe de Donna et un jeune homme souriant devant un ordinateur avec un clavier à gros caractères.]

Donna Armstrong : J’ai trois règles dans ma classe. La première est le respect, la confiance et la performance. Et, à l’intérieur de ces lignes directrices, nous essayons de faire en sorte que chacun ait une chance égale, que chacun soit capable d’exprimer ses idées avec une critique constructive, capable d’explorer les différentes technologies, avec des dispositifs d’assistance, si nécessaire, afin que chacun se sente à sa place.

[Donna parle en situation d’entrevue, avec une coupure, suivie d’une transition vers la voix hors-champ et des photos, comme suit : un laboratoire informatique ; Donna et plusieurs jeunes femmes prenant la pose avec des t-shirts assortis et des caméras ; et Donna avec une équipe vidéo devant des casiers.]

Donna Armstrong : L’idée qui sous-tend les technologies des communications est que nous sommes en mesure de donner aux étudiants des possibilités significatives qui utilisent des logiciels et des concepts normalisés de l’industrie, et qu’ils sont en mesure d’utiliser ces compétences transférables dans le milieu de travail ou au niveau postsecondaire.

[Transition vers Donna en situation d’entrevue, puis on continue avec la voix hors-champ et une vidéo de Donna s’adressant aux autres lauréates et lauréats derrière au podium. Retour sur Donna parlant en situation d’entrevue.]

Donna Armstrong : Mon plus grand conseil à l’intention des enseignants en formation initiale est qu’à l’université, on apprend tout sur la gestion de la salle de classe et le programme d’études, mais la base, c’est l’établissement de relations. Donc, pour moi, m’assurer que lorsqu’un élève vient dans ma classe qu’il a l’impression d’être à sa place, qu’il a le sentiment qu’il peut contribuer, qu’il est quelque part où les gens se soucient de lui, parce que je suis leur plus grande meneuse de claque.

[Fondu au noir.]

[Changement de plan sur un écran blanc sur lequel apparaît le PCIM du gouvernement du Canada suivi du mot symbole « Canada »]

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'excellence

Donna Armstrong

Crescent Heights High School
1201 Division Avenue
Medicine Hat, (Alberta) T1A 5Y9

Téléphone de l'école : 403-527-6641
Site Web de l'école : www.chhsweb.ca (anglais)
http://chhsmultimedia.wixsite.com/chhs-multimedia (anglais)

Années et matières :  Multimédias et technologie des communications, 7e à e années

Défenseure éclairée, perceptive et passionnée d'une utilisation sûre, éthique et respectueuse des médias et de l'Internet, Donna Armstrong a trois règles pour sa classe : confiance, respect et rendement. Donna est une apprenante permanente, un penseur créatif et critique qui continue de contribuer à l'éducation tant localement qu'à l'étranger.

Méthode d'enseignement

En intégrant plusieurs disciplines, Donna monte ses classes sur une structure sous-jacente faite de stratégies pratiques individualisées et d'activités de résolution de problèmes. Ses leçons équilibrent programme, champs d'intérêt des étudiants et demandes locales, régionales et mondiales du monde réel.

Dans la classe

  • Elle présente les technologies comme un moyen pour les étudiants de se brancher, de créer et de célébrer : ceux-ci ont pris des photos avec des appareils photo reflex numériques et ont fabriqué des cartes de vœux pour les vendre; d'autres ont rédigé et illustré des livres pour enfants pour faire des échanges avec des écoles des Antilles
  • Elle incorpore les occasions d'apprentissage dès qu'elles se présentent : les étudiants produisent du matériel promotionnel pour les entreprises, impriment des t-shirts pour les équipes et les clubs de l'école, filment et diffusent en direct les tournois de volleyball et de soccer et tournent des vidéos d'orientation pour aider les étudiants de 6e à s'adapter à l'école
  • Elle exploite des accessoires fonctionnels pour répondre à une gamme de besoins spéciaux : des tablettes numérisantes complètent le clavier, les casques antibruit aident les étudiants facilement distraits, un logiciel de synthèse texte vers parole aide les étudiants handicapés visuels, des iPad étendent l'accessibilité au-delà de la classe
  • Elle a élargi sa thèse de recherche de maîtrise pour y inclure une activité d'apprentissage coopératif : les étudiants ont échangé des photographies qui dépeignent l'apprentissage dans leur école respective avec des pairs d'Éthiopie et qui demandent un effort de compréhension et d'appréciation des images que leurs répondants africains avaient choisies

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Les taux élevés de conservation et de rendement des étudiants de milieux, de champs d'intérêt et de niveaux d'aptitudes très variés sont le sceau des classes de Donna
  • Les étudiants reçoivent périodiquement des prix individuels ou de groupe (locaux et provinciaux) pour la photographie, le dessin de couverture et l'animation de l'album de la promotion
  • Elle dirige le développement du programme : par exemple, Donna a transformé un programme fondé sur la chambre noire de la photographie, la production manuelle de matériel imprimé et la sérigraphie en une démarche pleinement numérique et la production de matériels multimédias; elle a créé des cours multimédias pour trois années du secondaire
  • Pendant cinq étés, Donna a organisé et dirigé des ateliers de plusieurs semaines en art et en design, en anglais et en informatique en Afrique, dans les Antilles et en Amérique du Sud

Commentaires élogieux

« Mme Armstrong est une enseignante exemplaire qui cultive les talents des étudiants qu'elle encourage à explorer les carrières dans les médias. Elle est le genre d'enseignante que tout parent espère à ses enfants pendant leur parcours dans le système d'éducation. »

Un parent
Date de modification :