Chris Mara: Putting First Nations students on the map in STEM

Year: 2018 – Province: Ontario

Transcription – Chris Mara-2018 Prime Minister's Awards for Teaching Excellence

[Black screen fades up to close-up of man in interview setting, against a mottled background. Music playing.]

[Caption: Chris Mara, Wasse Abin Wikwemikong High School]

[Chris speaking in interview setting alternates with voice over accompanied by still photos, as follows: Chris with students in classroom, examining a circuit a student is making; Chris wearing safety goggles and giving a thumbs-up; five students gathered around their robot, in progress, in school hallway; Chris with students and robot at robotics competition; Chris and student robotics team at competition, with one student holding a plaque, another holding a trophy and all wearing medals.]

Chris Mara: The number-one factor that contributes to student learning is teacher passion: teacher passion for the subject area that they’re teaching; the sense of wonder, curiosity, excitement around your subject. That excitement, that curiosity, that passion … creates an energy that the students really get excited about as well. You want to see their eyes sparkling. You want to hear what they have to say about either what you’re teaching or the project they’re engaged in. They’re taking incredible risks and putting themselves out there. The push is no longer coming from you as a teacher, but the students have taken over the momentum and are driving the project themselves.

[Chris speaking in interview setting alternates with voice over accompanied by still photos, as follows: overhead shot of Chris and group of students at a round table working on laptops; a robot in progress; two students working on assembling a part; a boy inserting a part into the robot; and a smiling girl holding two wrenches.]

Chris Mara: The perfect place for my students to learn? A space with space. I currently run a robotics program in the smallest room in our school. A tech-dedicated space where we have the manufacturing equipment, where we’ve got the 3D scanners, we’ve got printers, maybe even a CMC machine in there. Students being able to say, ‘This is the place where I can come and focus on my learning but also be myself and who I am.’

[Chris speaking in interview setting alternates with voice over accompanied still photos, as follows: two students assembling a part; one student working on robot; and a group of students posing with Chris at workbench.]

Chris Mara: Technology is also the students’ world. Technology is the sea that this generation swims in. The variety of technologies that are available, the richer our solutions will be, the more comprehensive, the greater the … efficacy of the solutions.

[Cut to voice over with video of Chris at a podium, addressing fellow recipients, with several listening, and then still photos, as follows: a group of students with robot at competition; and Chris at the whiteboard in the classroom, with students in groups at desks in the foreground.]

Chris Mara: My biggest piece of advice for pre-service teachers would be to teach who you are. On a fundamental level, you become the subject.

[Fade to black.]

[Cut to white screen, with the Government of Canada FIP followed by the Canada Wordmark.]

Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Chris Mara

Wasse Abin Wikwemikong High School
34 Henry Street
Wikwemikong, ON P0P 2J0

School telephone: 705-859-2870
School website: https://wbe-education.ca/schools/highschool/

 

Subjects and grades taught: Computer Science, Applied Science, Manufacturing Technology, Calculus, Physics, Math, grades 10–12

Chris Mara sets out to show his students—at-risk, marginalized, indigenous First Nations youth in a remote on-reserve community—that they can succeed in anything they do, including STEM. He is dedicated to providing opportunities for his students equal to those that other youth have.

Teaching approach

Using hands-on, practical experiences, Chris finds interactive ways to support students in STEM learning. He also works to ensure they have a voice and can be involved in innovation and the larger conversation in STEM, all while being firmly rooted in—and being ambassadors for—their First Nations community.

In the Classroom

  • Provides the resources, tools and opportunities for students to learn robotics: by participating on the school's FIRST robotics team, 5672 "First Nation STEM," students learn they can be engineers, mathematicians and scientists; they now mentor other students at a school in the region
  • Keeps his sights on students' future careers: students use Office 365 to collaborate and enhance projects with video, images and graphics; encourages robotics team members to treat the team as a business, teaching them entrepreneurship skills, such as how to write a business plan
  • Stresses the possibilities for girls in STEM: girls play leadership roles on the robotics team; Chris drove a group of girls across the province to attend a conference to hear inspirational speakers, do team-building activities and learn about STEM career opportunities
  • Breaks down isolation: students are encouraged to use social media responsibly to help open doors; Chris takes robotics team members to workshops and seminars on coding and programming; guests such as Canada's first female astronaut visit the school

Outstanding achievements

  • Robotics team qualified for the quarterfinals at first competition and won the Highest Rookie Seed and Rookie Inspiration Awards; team is now Canada's longest-sustained First Nation robotics team
  • Female robotics team member was part of conference panel on leadership with prominent adults; her speech about resilience and showing strength through adversity received very positive feedback
  • Inspired creation of another high school FIRST Robotics team on Manitoulin Island and was instrumental in starting and supporting four FIRST Lego League teams there
  • Took robotics team from extracurricular activity to Ministry of Education-approved credit course; launched year-long manufacturing technology/business course at school

Rave reviews

"He taught me more than just school subjects. He really encourages individuality and creativity. Overall, he taught me to be more confident in myself and to never give up. He is selfless ... and willing to put the needs of the team and students before his own needs."

Students
Date modified:

Chris Mara : Révéler les étudiants des Premières nations dans les STIM

Année : 2018 – Province : Ontario

Transcription – Chris Mara-Prix du Premier ministre 2018 pour l'excellence dans l'enseignement

[Écran noir s’estompant jusqu’à un gros plan d’un homme en situation d’entrevue sur un fond marbré. Musique de fond.]

[Légende : Chris Mara, Wasse Abin Wikwemikong High School]

[Chris parlant en situation d’entrevue alterne avec la voix hors champ accompagnée de photos, comme suit : Chris avec des élèves en classe, examinant un circuit qu’un élève fabrique ; Chris portant des lunettes de sécurité et levant le pouce ; cinq élèves rassemblés autour de leur robot en construction, dans le couloir de l’école ; Chris avec les élèves et le robot au concours de robotique ; Chris et l’équipe de robotique étudiante au concours, un élève tenant une plaque, un autre tenant un trophée et tous portant des médailles.]

Chris Mara : Le facteur numéro un qui contribue à l’apprentissage des élèves est la passion des enseignants : la passion des enseignants pour la matière qu’ils enseignent ; le sens de l’émerveillement, la curiosité, l’excitation autour de votre matière. Cette excitation, cette curiosité, cette passion... créent une énergie dont les élèves s’enthousiasment aussi. Vous voulez voir leurs yeux pétiller. Vous voulez entendre ce qu’ils ont à dire sur ce que vous enseignez ou sur le projet dans lequel ils sont engagés. Ils prennent des risques incroyables et se mettent en danger. L’impulsion ne vient plus de vous en tant qu’enseignant, mais les élèves ont pris le relais et conduisent eux-mêmes le projet.

[Chris parlant en situation d’entrevue alterne avec la voix hors champ accompagnée de photos, comme suit : vue en surplomb de Chris et d’un groupe d’élèves à une table ronde travaillant sur des ordinateurs portables ; un robot en fabrication ; deux élèves travaillant à l’assemblage d’une pièce ; un garçon insérant une pièce dans le robot ; et une fille souriante tenant deux clés à molette.]

Chris Mara : L’endroit parfait pour que mes élèves apprennent ? Un espace avec de l’espace. Je dirige actuellement un programme de robotique dans la plus petite salle de notre école. Un espace dédié à la technologie où nous avons l’équipement de fabrication, où nous avons les scanneurs 3D, nous avons des imprimantes, peut-être même une machine CMC. Les élèves peuvent dire : « C’est l’endroit où je peux venir et me concentrer sur mon apprentissage, mais aussi être moi-même et qui je suis ».

[Chris parlant en situation d’entrevue alterne avec la voix hors champ accompagnée de photos, comme suit : deux élèves assemblant une pièce ; un élève travaillant sur un robot ; et un groupe d’élèves posant avec Chris à l’établi.]

Chris Mara : La technologie est aussi le monde des élèves. La technologie est la mer dans laquelle cette génération nage. Plus les technologies disponibles sont variées, plus nos solutions seront riches, plus elles seront complètes, plus les solutions seront... efficaces.

[Transition vers la voix hors champ avec une vidéo de Chris au podium, s’adressant aux autres lauréates et lauréats, dont plusieurs écoutent, et ensuite, photos, comme suit : un groupe d’élèves avec un robot à une compétition ; et Chris au tableau blanc dans la salle de classe, avec des élèves en groupes à des pupitres au premier plan.]

Chris Mara : Mon plus grand conseil pour les enseignants en formation initiale serait d’enseigner qui vous êtes. À un niveau fondamental, vous devenez le sujet.

[Fondu au noir.]

[Changement de plan sur un écran blanc sur lequel apparaît le PCIM du gouvernement du Canada suivi du mot symbole « Canada »]

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'excellence

Chris Mara

Wasse Abin Wikwemikong High School
34 Henry Street
Wikwemikong, ON P0P 2J0

Téléphone de l'école : 705-859-2870
Site Web de l'école : https://wbe-education.ca/schools/highschool/

 

Années et matières :  Tour d'honneur, arts visuels, photographie, médias numériques et théâtre, 9e à 12e années

Chris Mara cherche à montrer à ses étudiants — des jeunes à risque, marginalisés, autochtones des Premières nations d'une collectivité éloignée sur la réserve — qu'ils peuvent réussir quoi qu'ils entreprennent, y compris les STIM. Il se dévoue pour offrir à ses étudiants des occasions égales à celles des autres jeunes.

Méthode d'enseignement

Au moyen d'expériences pratiques, Chris trouve des moyens interactifs pour appuyer ses étudiants dans l'apprentissage des STIM. Il travaille également à assurer qu'ils ont une voix et qu'ils peuvent s'engager dans l'innovation et dans la conversation plus large des STIM tout en étant fermement enracinés dans leur collectivité autochtone et en s'en faisant les ambassadeurs.

Dans la classe

  • Il fournit aux étudiants des ressources, des outils et des occasions d'apprendre la robotique : en participant à la PREMIÈRE équipe de robotique de l'école, 5672, « STIM des Premières nations », les étudiants apprennent qu'ils peuvent être ingénieurs, mathématiciens et scientifiques; ils servent maintenant de mentors pour d'autres étudiants d'une école de la région
  • Il ne perd pas de vue la future carrière de ses étudiants : ces derniers utilisent Office 365 pour collaborer et améliorer les projets au moyen de vidéos, d'images et de graphiques; il encourage les membres de l'équipe de robotique à diriger l'équipe comme une entreprise et leur enseigne des compétences en entrepreneuriat, par exemple, comment monter un plan d'affaires
  • Il souligne les possibilités pour les filles dans les STIM : il joue le rôle de chef de file pour l'équipe de robotique; Chris a dirigé un groupe de filles de l'ensemble de la province à assister à une conférence pour écouter des conférenciers stimulants, à faire des activités visant à renforcer l'esprit d'équipe et à se renseigner sur les occasions de carrière dans les STIM
  • Briser l'isolement : il encourage les étudiantes à utiliser les médias sociaux de façon responsable pour aider à ouvrir des portes; Chris amène les membres de l'équipe de robotique à des ateliers et des séminaires sur le codage et la programmation; des invitées comme la première femme astronaute du Canada visitent l'école

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • L'équipe de robotique s'est qualifiée pour les quarts de finale à la première compétition et gagné les prix novice prometteuse et novice inspirante; elle est maintenant l'équipe de robotique des Premières nations la plus durable du Canada
  • Un membre féminin de l'équipe de robotique a fait partie d'une réunion d'experts d'une conférence sur le leadership avec des adultes réputés; son discours sur la résilience et le fait de se montrer fort dans l'adversité a reçu de vibrants commentaires
  • Il a inspiré la création dans une autre école secondaire de la PREMIÈRE équipe de robotique sur l'île Manitoulin et y a joué un rôle important dans le démarrage et le soutien des quatre PREMIÈRES équipes d'une ligue de Lego
  • Il a fait passer l'équipe de robotique d'une activité parascolaire à un cours crédité du ministère de l'Éducation; il a lancé un cours d'un an en technologie de fabrication et d'affaires à l'école

Commentaires élogieux

« Il enseignait plus que les seuls sujets scolaires. Il encourage vraiment l'individualité et la créativité. Dans l'ensemble, il m'a enseigné à être plus confiant et à ne jamais lâcher prise. Il est désintéressé... et prêt à faire passer les besoins de l'équipe et des étudiants avant les siens. »

Des étudiants
Date de modification :