Félix Arguin and Guillaume Laporte: Synergistically serving students

Year: 2018 – Province: Quebec

Transcription – Félix Arguin and Guillaume Laporte-2018 Prime Minister's Awards for Teaching Excellence

[Black screen fades up to close-up of man in interview setting, against a mottled background. Music playing.]

[Caption: Félix Arguin, Séminaire de Sherbrooke]

Félix Arguin: The main factor that promotes student learning is motivation; it is the engine of learning.

[Cut to Guillaume speaking in interview setting (caption: Guillaume Laporte, Séminaire de Sherbrooke), alternating with voice-over accompanied by photos, as follows: Guillaume pointing with a screwdriver toward two students working in a room; Félix wearing headphones looking at a computer as a student reads a text into a microphone.]

Guillaume Laporte: When we are able to do something for someone on the other hand, to help someone, to have a little influence on our community—there is great pride and then it directly influences the motivation. So, everyone can be helpful, and if we can help someone else in the process, in learning, well it's an added value.

[Return to Félix in interview setting alternating with the voice over accompanied by a video and photos, as follows: Félix speaking into a microphone, next to a podium, addressing his fellow recipients, with Guillaume in the background; Félix surrounded by six students sitting or standing in front of a microphone, a tablet and a computer; and Guillaume and seven students around a workbench on which rests a dismantled electric guitar and several tools.]

Félix Arguin: The perfect context, I do not pretend to know what it is, but I think it is in line with collaboration—real collaboration between the student and the teacher, but also between the student and his community. It is often said that it takes a village to raise a child. Well, the school makes a good village, but we can enlarge the village to include the whole community.

[Back to Guillaume in interview setting alternating with voice over accompanied by a video of Guillaume speaking animatedly into a mic, next to a podium, with Félix in the foreground.]

Guillaume Laporte: Maybe the village should be outside the school. Maybe it's the community, or maybe even the whole world. So, there are links to be made externally. If we can get our students out of school, that's probably the best context, in my opinion.

[Return to Félix in the interview setting alternating with voice over accompanied by a photo and a video, as follows: Félix accompanied by three students in front of a green screen, one of the students is holding a tablet and large lights are pointed towards them; Félix standing at the microphone in front of two screens on which are projected cubes with social media logos.]

Félix Arguin: There is no doubt that technology can have positive impacts if, of course, we provide our students with a solid grounding in technology and digital citizenship. Technology can easily simplify repetitive tasks, but it also open up opportunities for collaboration. It also allows students to develop a greater critical sense.

[Back to Guillaume in the interview setting alternating with voice over accompanied by a photo of Guillaume and two students around a table at which they work with electrical tools.]

Guillaume Laporte: It’s important that technology skills in the 21st century—the skills that employers are looking for—are often related to technology. But, at the same time, it’s not necessary to use technologies for creativity or problem solving, but there is an advantage in being able to be versatile with technologies and to use them effectively. Then it can improve our creativity and efficiency in our daily lives, in our jobs, but also it allows us to learn more independently.

[Back to Félix in the interview setting alternating with voice over accompanied by a video of him speaking to recipients with a microphone, in front of a screen.]

Félix Arguin: Do not be afraid to try. Be curious. I think there is no better model for a student than to see his teacher learning on a daily basis.

[Back to Guillaume in interview setting alternating with the voice-over accompanied by a video of Guillaume speaking at the microphone, Félix in the foreground. Back to Guillaume in interview situation to conclude.]

Guillaume Laporte: Surround yourself with people who have energy, who have a passion, who want to surpass themselves, who want the good of the students, and to always be on the lookout around you, to see what links I can make with my community or to improve certain projects, to always see what can be done better or what we can improve. Then, not to be afraid to take risks because we are in a great profession and we can be proud of it.

[Fade to black.]

[Cut to white screen, with the Government of Canada FIP followed by the Canada Wordmark.]

Certificate of Excellence Recipients

Félix Arguin and Guillaume Laporte

Séminaire de Sherbrooke
195, rue Marquette
Sherbrooke, QC J1H 1L6

School telephone: 819-563-2050
School website: www.seminaire-sherbrooke.qc.ca (French only)
Twitter: @FelixArguin, @techsdes

Subjects and grades taught: French and Drama, Secondary 3 and 4

Since two heads are better than one, Félix Arguin and Guillaume Laporte decided to combine their strengths to implement innovative projects that have transformed they teach French and English. Their integration of technology and creation of hands-on experiences have brought another dimension to their pedagogy and prepared their students to deal with the ever-changing world.

Teaching approach

Félix and Guillaume love technology, a passion that has led them to create new teaching approaches that see students driving school projects. Their influence has transformed both their students' relationship with technology and that of the school.

In the Classroom

  • Mass implementation of digital devices in the classroom (iPad, G Suite, interface Classroom) in order to reinvent teaching approaches and to integrate innovative French and English study projects
  • Development of two techno-collaborative rooms where students can create robots and online tutorials; the rooms are also used by other teachers
  • Creation of the #Suiveznostraces (follow our tracks) project, an initiative in which student learning ties into the needs of community organizations: students recycle ROBOT X electronic material, adapt and read fairy tales in early childhood centres, and create ad campaigns—texts, videos, social media —for community organizations (Fédération des écoles privées du Québec Innovation award at the secondary level in 2017)

Outstanding achievements

  • The Séminaire de Sherbrooke's robotics team, Évolution 2626, supervised by Guillaume, won the President's Award at the 2012 FIRST tournament
  • Évolution 2626 also set up an annual summer robotics camp for children ages 6–12 (winner of the 2014 Concours québécois en entrepreneuriat award – Estrie)
  • Guillaume is a certified Google educator and Félix is one of six certified Google trainers in Quebec, distinctions that have allowed them to share their knowledge of G Suite

Rave reviews

"Feeling the synergy they bring to the classroom and seeing them dream out loud, dare to pursue the unimaginable, tear down obstacles, create opportunities and win over skeptics is what made me realize that these were truly exceptional, extraordinary teachers."

Parent
Date modified:

Félix Arguin et Guillaume Laporte : Une synergie au service des élèves

Année : 2018 – Province : Québec

Transcription – Félix Arguin, Guillaume Laporte-Prix du Premier ministre 2018 pour l'excellence dans l'enseignement

[Écran noir s’estompant jusqu’à un gros plan d’un homme en situation d’entrevue sur un fond marbré. Musique de fond.]

[Légende : Félix Arguin, Séminaire de Sherbrooke]

[Félix parlant en situation d’entrevue.]

Félix Arguin : Le principal facteur qui favorise l’apprentissage des élèves, on croit que c’est la motivation, parce que la motivation c’est le moteur de l’apprentissage.

[Transition vers Guillaume parlant en situation d’entrevue (légende : Guillaume Laporte, Séminaire de Sherbrooke), alternant avec la voix hors champ accompagnée de photos, comme suit : Guillaume tenant un tourne-vis pointant vers une pièce sur laquelle travaillent deux élèves ; Félix portant des écouteurs regardant un ordinateur alors qu’une élève suit un texte qu’elle lit dans un micro d’enregistrement.]

Guillaume Laporte : Quand on est capable de faire quelque chose pour quelqu’un d’autre, d’aider quelqu’un, d’avoir une influence un peu sur notre communauté, c’est une belle fierté puis ça influence directement la motivation. Donc tout le monde peut être utile puis si on peut aider quelqu’un d’autre dans le processus, dans l’apprentissage, bien c’est une valeur ajoutée.

[Retour sur Félix en situation d’entrevue alternant avec la voix hors champ accompagnée d’une vidéo et de photos, comme suit : Félix parle au micro, à côté d’un podium, s’adressant aux autres lauréates et lauréats, Guillaume est en arrière-plan ; Félix entouré de six élèves assises ou debout devant un micro d’enregistrement, une tablette et un ordinateur ; et Guillaume et sept élèves autour d’un établi sur lequel repose une guitare électrique démontée et plusieurs outils.]

Félix Arguin : Le contexte parfait, j’ai pas la prétention de savoir ce que c’est, mais je crois que c’est en ligne avec la collaboration, un vrai contexte de collaboration qui peut se faire entre l’élève et l’enseignant, mais aussi entre l’élève et sa communauté. On dit souvent que ça prend un village pour élever un enfant, et bien, l’école c’est bien comme village, mais on peut agrandir le village aussi à toute la communauté.

[Retour à Guillaume en situation d’entrevue alternant avec la voix hors champ accompagnée d’une vidéo de Guillaume parlant au micro avec animation, à côté d’un podium, avec Félix en avant-plan.]

Guillaume Laporte : Peut-être que le village devrait être à l’extérieur de l’école. Peut-être que c’est la communauté, ou même peut-être que c’est le monde au complet. Donc, il y a des liens à faire à l’externe. Donc si on peut amener nos élèves à sortir de l’école, c’est probablement le meilleur contexte, selon moi.

[Retour à Félix en situation d’entrevue alternant avec la voix hors champ accompagnée d’une photo et d’une vidéo, comme suit : Félix accompagné de trois élèves devant un écran vert, l’une des élèves tient une tablette et de grandes lumières de studio sont orientés vers eux ; Félix debout faisant une présentation au micro devant deux écrans sur lesquels sont projetés des cubes portant des logos de médias sociaux.]

Félix Arguin : Il est certain que la technologie peut avoir des impacts positifs à condition, bien sûr, qu’on fasse une véritable éducation à la technologie et à la citoyenneté numérique avec nos élèves. La technologie peut facilement simplifier des tâches répétitives, mais elle va aussi ouvrir à des opportunités, à des occasions de collaboration. Elle va aussi permettre aux élèves de développer un plus grand sens critique.

[Retour vers Guillaume en situation d’entrevue alternant avec la voix hors champ accompagnée d’une photo de Guillaume et de deux élèves autour d’une table sur laquelle ils travaillent avec des outils électroniques.]

Guillaume Laporte : C’est important les compétences technologiques au 21e siècle, les habiletés que les employeurs recherchent, c’est des habiletés qui sont souvent en lien avec les technologies. Mais, en même temps, la créativité ou la résolution de problème, ce n’est pas obligé de passer par les technologies, mais il y a un avantage à être capable d’être polyvalent avec les technologies pis de s’en servir efficacement puis ça peut améliorer notre créativité et notre efficacité dans notre vie quotidienne, dans nos emplois, mais aussi, ça nous permet d’apprendre davantage de manière autonome.

[Retour vers Félix en situation d’entrevue alternant avec la voix hors champ accompagnée d’une vidéo de Félix s’adressant à des lauréats et des lauréates au micro, devant un écran.]

Félix Arguin : Ayez pas peur d’essayer. Soyez curieux. Je pense qu’il n’y a pas de plus beau modèle pour un élève que de voir son enseignant qui apprend au quotidien.

[Retour à Guillaume en situation d’entrevue alternant avec la voix hors champ accompagnée d’une vidéo de Guillaume parlant au micro, Félix de dos, au premier plan. Retour vers Guillaume en situation d’entrevue pour conclure.]

Guillaume Laporte : De vous entourer de gens qui ont une énergie ; qui ont une passion ; qui veulent se dépasser ; qui veulent le bien des élèves ; et de toujours rester à l’affût, autour de vous, de voir quels liens je peux établir avec ma communauté ou pour améliorer certains projets, de toujours voir qu’est-ce qui peut être mieux fait ou qu’est-ce qu’on peut améliorer, puis de pas avoir peur de prendre des risques parce que… on a une profession pis on peut en être fiers.

[Fondu au noir.]

[Changement de plan sur un écran blanc sur lequel apparaît le PCIM du gouvernement du Canada suivi du mot symbole ‘Canada’]

Lauréats d'un Certificat d'excellence

Félix Arguin and Guillaume Laporte

Séminaire de Sherbrooke
195, rue Marquette
Sherbrooke, QC J1H 1L6

Téléphone de l'école : 819-563-2050
Site Web de l'école : www.seminaire-sherbrooke.qc.ca
Twitter : @FelixArguin, @techsdes

Années et matières : Français et art dramatique, 3e et 4e secondaires

Parce que deux têtes valent mieux qu'une, Félix Arguin et Guillaume Laporte joignent leurs forces dans la mise en œuvre de projets novateurs qui transforment l'apprentissage du français et de l'anglais. L'intégration des technologies et la création d'expériences concrètes amènent une autre dimension à l'apprentissage et préparent leurs élèves à faire face à notre univers en constante évolution.

Méthode d'enseignement

Félix et Guillaume sont passionnés de technologies, et c'est à travers cette passion qu'ils créent de nouvelles approches pédagogiques où les élèves sont le moteur des projets d'apprentissage. Leur influence transforme le rapport aux technologies de leurs élèves et de l'ensemble de leur établissement d'enseignement.

Dans la classe

  • Implantation massive d'appareils numériques en salle de classe (iPad, G Suite, interface Classroom) afin de réinventer les méthodes d'enseignement et d'intégrer des projets novateurs à l'apprentissage du français et de l'anglais.
  • Aménagement de deux locaux technocollaboratifs où les élèves peuvent créer des robots et des tutoriels en ligne, locaux aussi utilisés par les autres enseignants.
  • Création du projet #Suiveznostraces, une initiative qui arrime l'apprentissage des élèves aux besoins d'organismes communautaires : microentreprise de recyclage de matériel électronique ROBOT X, adaptation et lecture de contes dans des CPE, création de campagnes publicitaires – rédaction des textes, vidéos, médias sociaux – pour des organismes communautaires (prix de la Fédération des écoles privées du Québec pour l'innovation au secondaire en 2017).

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • L'équipe de robotique Évolution 2626 du Séminaire de Sherbrooke, supervisée par Guillaume, s'est vu décerner le prix du Président 2012 au tournoi FIRST.
  • Évolution 2626 a également mis sur pied un camp d'été annuel de robotique pour les enfants de 6 à 12 ans (Prix du concours québécois en entrepreneuriat – Estrie en 2014).
  • Guillaume est éducateur Google certifié et Félix est l'un des six formateurs Google certifiés au Québec, ce qui leur permet de partager leur connaissance de la G Suite.

Commentaires élogieux

« C'est donc au contact de leur synergie, à force de les voir rêver tout haut, oser l'impensable, abattre les obstacles, créer les occasions et rallier les sceptiques que j'ai réalisé qu'ils sont des enseignants exceptionnels, voire hors normes. »

Des étudiants
Date de modification :