Michel Emery: Northern light shares love of learning with students and teachers

Year: 2018 – Province: Yukon

Transcription – Michel Emery-2018 Prime Minister's Awards for Teaching Excellence

[Black screen fades up to close-up of man in interview setting, against a mottled background. Music playing.]

[Caption: Michel Emery, F. H. Collins Secondary School]

[Michel speaking in interview setting alternates with voice over accompanied by still photos, as follows: Michel and a woman speaking with students in front of banners about a family in 20th century Europe; and Michel with a young boy pointing to words on a tablet screen, both wearing headphones.]

Michel Emery: Students learn a lot more quickly, and learning is enhanced, when students are engaged with the resources that they are using; when they’re motivated by the lessons that we’re teaching, they’re inspired by the environments that we provide and are excited to be there to learn. Students are so connected these days. We need to leverage technology to make learning real for them, to be … to kind of take a step in their world.

[Michel speaking in interview setting alternates with voice over accompanied by still photos, as follows: students in school resource centre, with computers and racks of videos and books visible; and an overhead shot of a group of students sitting at a round table working on a drawing activity.]

Michel Emery: The perfect space that would contribute to student learning, I feel it’s really important to give options to students. I think it would be like looking at a home. I think it would be like a blend of a living room, a kitchen, a library—places where students could relax, students can collaborate, do research. A bit of a mix between a Starbucks and a Chapters. You know, places where you come in and you feel comfortable and you feel there’s all these resources around you and that learning could just blossom from there.

[Michel speaking in interview setting alternates with voice over accompanied by still photos, as follows: girl crouching down, tablet in hand, with quadcopter and other objects on floor in front of her; and two pairs of students sitting, wearing headphones and looking at computers.]

Michel Emery: Technology provides new opportunities and reduces barriers. We can manufacture now in schools. We can use 3D printers to create products and solutions to problems of today. We can use laser cutters and we can code robots. So, technology does reduce our barriers. It enables our students to connect with a global audience. I think it’s a really exciting time for education.

[Michel speaking in interview setting alternates with voice over accompanied by still photos, as follows: exterior shot of school in winter, taken from above; Michel in resource centre holding tablet with several students wearing virtual reality goggles; and row of students at laptops.]

Michel Emery: Technology enables us to solve problems in our communities. In the North, in the Yukon, we’re quite a ways from different cities. We don’t have as many opportunities as students down south have, so using virtual reality, you could provide different learning opportunities and expand our students’ horizons. Now with technology such as VR and 360 photography, students are able to contribute and share their world, their communities and their experiences with the world.’

[Michel speaking in interview setting cuts to voice over accompanied by video of Michel showing recipients how to simulate virtual reality with a cardboard viewer and a tablet. Cuts back to interview setting to conclude.]

Michel Emery: My piece of advice for new teachers is, be curious, be bold, and see every child you come across as this opportunity to make a difference in their lives. Stop and say ‘hi’ and be interested in them, and have fun, of course.

[Fade to black.]

[Cut to white screen, with the Government of Canada FIP followed by the Canada Wordmark.]

Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Michel Emery

F. H. Collins Secondary School
1001 Lewes Boulevard
Whitehorse, YT Y1A 3J1

School telephone: 867-667-8665
School website: www.fhcollins.ca

 

Subjects and grades taught: English, French Immersion, Learning Commons and Technology Integration, grades 8–12

Michel Emery has been a leader and innovator in the Arctic for 20 years, having played many roles in education, including being an elementary teacher, educational consultant and high school teacher. Fully bilingual, he fosters a culture of innovation and is a valued resource for other educators in Yukon.

Teaching approach

Michel is knowledgeable in many disciplines, researches and applies new practices, is energetic, positive and passionate about student success, and models the qualities of a lifelong learner. In class and out, he develops STEAM skills in students to prepare them for challenges and opportunities of life.

In the Classroom

  • Fosters creative literacy and expression with technology: through workshops and lessons, students incorporate animation, video production and sound recording into their presentations to engage their audience
  • Emphasizes an inquiry-based approach for learners of all ages: in elementary grades it was "Tinker Time," a daily half hour for children to pursue STEAM activities designed to  target a specific inquiry question; in high school, cross-curricular projects are anchored in inquiry and supported by lessons on academic research and proper methodology
  • Focuses on students' special needs: partnered with computers for schools to secure nearly 130 laptops for students in need, developed resources to help struggling readers access digital textbooks and effectively use text-to-speech  accessibility features on various devices
  • Introduces coding applications, robotics, BreakoutEdu, animations, and 3D printing challenges to engage learners of all abilities and grade levels
  • Through various projects and initiatives such as laser cutting, reclaimed material art projects, virtual reality and 360 photography, celebrates and strengthens Yukon's First Nations culture and pride with students

Outstanding achievements

  • Co-led a group of professionals who developed Yukon Education's Digital Literacy Framework; established the first collaborative e-book collection for all Yukon schools; designed the  Learning Commons digital portal which facilitates access to e-resources for all Yukon students.
  • Develops effective professional  resources and shares them with staff in diverse schools using an innovative website, professional development sessions, and during active participation in the ADST Curriculum Redesigned Learning Networks
  • Is an authoritative source on diverse current and emerging technologies and has delivered several professional development sessions at school and district-wide conferences and events
  • Was an early proponent of transitioning school libraries to Learning Commons, the dynamic, flexible, and connected learning spaces now in use in most Yukon schools, including his own
  • Was a 2018 finalist in the "Samsung Solve for Tomorrow Challenge" which aims to boost students' interest in proficiency in STEM learning
  • Awarded the coveted Apple Distinguish Educator distinction in 2013 and was recognized by the Yukon Legislative Assembly for his efforts to integrate technology into his teaching practice

Rave reviews

"Michel is willing and able to provide professional development at a moment's notice and is always willing to share his passion for STEM learning with students and educators alike."

Territorial technology consultant
Date modified:

Michel Emery : Northern Light partage l'amour de l'apprentissage avec les étudiants et les enseignants

Année : 2018 – Province : Yukon

Transcription – Michel Emery-Prix du Premier ministre 2018 pour l'excellence dans l'enseignement

[Écran noir s’estompant jusqu’à un gros plan d’un homme en situation d’entrevue sur un fond marbré. Musique de fond.]

[Légende : Michel Emery, F.H. Collins Secondary School]

[Michel parlant en situation d’entrevue alterne avec la voix hors champ accompagnée de photos, comme suit : Michel et une femme parlant avec des élèves devant une bannière à propos d’une famille de l’Europe du 20e siècle ; et Michel avec un jeune garçon pointant des mots sur l’écran d’une tablette, tous deux portant des écouteurs.]

Michel Emery : Les élèves apprennent beaucoup plus rapidement, et l’apprentissage est amélioré, quand les élèves sont engagés avec les ressources qu’ils utilisent ; quand ils sont motivés par les leçons que nous enseignons, ils sont inspirés par les environnements que nous offrons et enthousiastes à l’idée d’être là pour apprendre. Les élèves sont tellement connectés de nos jours. Nous devons tirer parti de la technologie pour rendre l’apprentissage réel pour eux, pour être… pour faire un pas dans le monde.

[Michel parlant en situation d’entrevue alterne avec la voix hors champ accompagnée de photos, comme suit : les élèves au centre de ressource de l’école, avec des ordinateurs et la vue d’un support à vidéos et livres ; et une vue en surplomb d’un groupe d’élèves assis à une table ronde et faisant une activité de dessin.]

Michel Emery : L’espace parfait qui contribuerait à l’apprentissage des élèves, je pense qu’il est vraiment important de donner des options aux élèves. Je pense que ce serait comme regarder une maison. Je pense que ce serait comme un mélange d’un salon, d’une cuisine, d’une bibliothèque — des lieux où les élèves peuvent se détendre, collaborer, faire de la recherche. Un mélange entre un Starbucks et un Chapters. Vous savez, des endroits où vous entrez et vous vous sentez à l’aise et vous sentez qu’il y a toutes ces ressources autour de vous et que l’apprentissage pourrait s’épanouir à partir de là.

[Michel parlant en situation d’entrevue alterne avec la voix hors champ accompagnée de photos, comme suit : une fille accroupie, une tablette à la main, avec des quadricoptères et d’autres objets sur le sol devant elle ; et deux paires d’élèves assis, portant des écouteurs et regardant des ordinateurs.]

Michel Emery : La technologie offre de nouvelles possibilités et réduit les obstacles. Nous pouvons maintenant fabriquer dans les écoles. Nous pouvons utiliser des imprimantes 3D pour créer des produits et des solutions aux problèmes d’aujourd’hui. Nous pouvons utiliser des découpeuses laser et nous pouvons coder des robots. La technologie réduit donc nos barrières. Elle permet à nos élèves d’entrer en contact avec un public mondial. Je pense que c’est une période très excitante pour l’éducation.

[Michel parlant en situation d’entrevue alterne avec la voix hors champ accompagnée de photos, comme suit : plan extérieur de l’école en hiver, pris d’en haut ; Michel tenant une tablette dans le centre de ressources avec plusieurs élèves portant des lunettes de réalité virtuelle ; et une rangée d’élèves avec des ordinateurs portables.]

Michel Emery : La technologie nous permet de résoudre les problèmes de nos communautés. Dans le Nord, au Yukon, nous sommes très éloignés des différentes villes. Nous n’avons pas autant de possibilités que les élèves du Sud, alors en utilisant la réalité virtuelle, vous pourriez offrir différentes possibilités d’apprentissage et élargir les horizons de nos élèves. Maintenant, grâce à des technologies comme la RV et la photographie à 360°, les élèves peuvent contribuer et partager leur monde, leurs communautés et leurs expériences avec le monde.

[Michel parlant en situation d’entrevue coupe vers la voix hors champ accompagnée d’une vidéo de Michel montrant aux lauréates et lauréats comme simuler la réalité virtuelle avec une visionneuse en carton et une tablette. Retour en situation d’entrevue pour conclure.]

Michel Emery : Mon conseil pour les nouveaux enseignants est d’être curieux, d’être audacieux et de voir chaque enfant que vous rencontrez comme une occasion de faire une différence dans leur vie. Arrêtez-vous et dites “salut” et soyez intéressé par eux, et amusez-vous, bien sûr.

[Fondu au noir.]

[Changement de plan sur un écran blanc sur lequel apparaît le PCIM du gouvernement du Canada suivi du mot symbole « Canada »]

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'excellence

Michel Emery

F. H. Collins Secondary School
1001 Lewes Boulevard
Whitehorse, YT Y1A 3J1

Téléphone de l'école : 867-667-8665
Site Web de l'école : www.fhcollins.ca

 

Années et matières : Anglais, immersion française, centre de formation et d'intégration de la technologie, 8e à 12e années

Michel Emery est un chef de file et un innovateur dans l'Arctique depuis 20 ans et a joué plusieurs rôles en éducation, y compris comme enseignant au primaire, conseiller pédagogique et enseignant au secondaire. Parfaitement bilingue, il fait la promotion de l'innovation et est une précieuse ressource pour les autres enseignants au Yukon.

Méthode d'enseignement

Michel s'y connait dans plusieurs disciplines, il recherche et applique de nouvelles pratiques, il est dynamique, positif et passionné par la réussite de ses étudiants, et se fait le modèle des qualités d'un apprenant permanent. Dans la classe comme à l'extérieur, il développe chez les étudiants des compétences en STIM pour les préparer aux défis et possibilités de la vie.

Dans la classe

  • Il favorise l'alphabétisation créative et l'expression au moyen de la technologie : des ateliers et des leçons permettent aux étudiants d'incorporer des animations, des productions vidéo et des enregistrements sonores à leur présentation pour retenir l'attention de leur public
  • Il met l'accent sur une démarche d'investigation pour les apprenants de tous les âges : au primaire, c'était « Tinker Time » [l'Heure de Clochette], une demi-heure quotidienne à faire des activités de STIM conçues pour cibler une question particulière; au secondaire, les projets interdisciplinaires sont ancrés dans l'investigation et soutenus par des leçons sur la recherche académique et la technologie appropriée
  • Il insiste sur les besoins particuliers des étudiants : il se ligue avec Ordinateurs pour les écoles pour obtenir près de 130 ordinateurs portables pour les étudiants dans le besoin; il a créé des ressources pour aider les lecteurs en difficulté à accéder à des manuels numériques et à exploiter efficacement les caractéristiques d'accessibilité par synthèse texte vers parole sur divers appareils
  • Il a introduit des applications de codage, de robotique, BreakoutEdu, d'animation et les difficultés de l'impression 3D pour mobiliser les apprenants de tous niveaux et de toutes capacités
  • Il célèbre et renforce la culture et la fierté des Premières nations du Yukon avec les étudiants au moyen de divers projets et initiatives comme la découpe par laser, les projets d'art à partir de matériaux de récupération, la réalité virtuelle et la photographie 360

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Il a codirigé un groupe de professionnels qui a conçu le Cadre de la culture numérique du ministère de l'Éducation du Yukon; il a mis sur pied la première collection coopérative de livres numériques pour toutes les écoles du Yukon; il a conçu le portail numérique Learning Commons qui facilite l'accès aux ressources électroniques pour tous les étudiants du Yukon.
  • Il crée des ressources professionnelles efficaces et les partage avec le personnel de diverses écoles au moyen d'un site Internet novateur, de séances de perfectionnement professionnel et pendant la participation active aux ADST Curriculum Redesigned Learning Networks
  • Il est une source faisant autorité sur les diverses tendances et technologies émergentes et a donné plusieurs séances de perfectionnement professionnel à l'école et organisé des conférences et des événements dans tout le district
  • Il a été un des premiers partisans du passage des bibliothèques aux centres de formation, ces espaces d'apprentissage dynamiques, souples et branchés maintenant utilisés dans la plupart des écoles du Yukon, y compris la sienne
  • Il a été finaliste en 2018 du Samsung Solve for Tomorrow Challenge qui vise à renforcer l'intérêt des étudiants dans une compétence en apprentissage des STIM
  • Il a reçu le convoité Apple Distinguished Educator, en 2013, et a été reconnu par l'Assemblée législative du Yukon pour ses efforts d'intégration de la technologie dans sa pratique de l'enseignement

Commentaires élogieux

« Michel est prêt et disposé à fournir un perfectionnement professionnel à tout moment et est toujours prêt à partager sa passion pour l'apprentissage des STIM tant avec les étudiants qu'avec les pédagogues. »

Expert-conseil en technologie du territoire
Date de modification :