Linda Hut: The whole city is the classroom

Year: 2018 – Province: Alberta

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Linda Hut

City Hall School
1 Sir Winston Churchill Square
Edmonton, AB T5J 2R7

School telephone: 780-944-7826
School website: www.edmonton.ca/cityhallschool
Twitter: @CityHallSchool

Subjects and grades taught: All subjects, grades 1–12

Each year, Linda Hut teaches 600 students from 25 classes who participate in a week of hands-on, inquiry-based learning at Edmonton City Hall. Students learn about municipal government and are challenged to consider the complexity of issues such as equality, poverty, reconciliation and the environment.

Teaching approach

In collaboration with the classroom teachers, Linda tailors each week with unique opportunities to link classroom themes with experiences and experts. The entire city becomes a classroom and professionals—ranging from architects to artists, planners to poets, historians to horticulturalists—give presentations to the students.

In the Classroom

  • Explores the role of technology in running the city, with visits to the heating plant and learning about open data, transit applications and online city services; students consider the changing role of the media with visits to television stations and the city's daily newspaper
  • Tailors each week's program to meet the specific learning, developmental and behavioural needs of each incoming class—from gifted students to children with autism—and even finding presenters to speak with German, French and Spanish Immersion students in the respective language
  • Arranges age-appropriate activities that connect with the curriculum: Grade 3 students learn about sound by singing on stage at the concert hall; Grade 5s visit the command centre at the local stadium to learn about emergency preparedness; senior students have days dedicated to themes such as governance, the fine arts and advocacy
  • Rounds out the year with the Citizenship Fair: classes come back to the school in June to share and showcase work inspired by their week with Linda

Outstanding achievements

  • Provides professional development to the teachers of the 25 classes in September, inspiring them to implement a cohesive program throughout the year; she follows this up with three visits to each class and sends out a weekly e-newsletter with materials promoting active citizenship
  • Established the Mayor Reads project, which has Edmonton's mayor read a book—sometimes linked to the seasons or occasions such as Remembrance Day—on video for posting on the City's website; City Hall School students help with the shoot

Rave reviews

"We know that without Ms. Hut's drive and enthusiasm for the program and what it offers, City Hall School would not be the outstanding program that it is today. We affectionately refer to Linda as the 'teacher on fire.' She ignites flames in everyone who is touched by her teaching."

Parents
Date modified:

Linda Hut : Elle a la ville entière pour classe

Année : 2018 – Province : Alberta

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

Linda Hut

City Hall School
1 Sir Winston Churchill Square
Edmonton, AB T5J 2R7

Téléphone de l'école : 780-944-7826
Site Web de l'école : www.edmonton.ca/cityhallschool (anglais)
Twitter : @CityHallSchool (anglais)

Années et matières : Tous les sujets, 1re à-12e années

Chaque année, Linda Hut enseigne à 600 étudiants de 25 classes qui participent à une semaine d'apprentissage pratique fondé sur l'investigation à l'hôtel de ville d'Edmonton. Les étudiants apprennent le gouvernement municipal et doivent considérer la complexité des enjeux comme l'égalité, la pauvreté, la réconciliation et l'environnement.

Méthode d'enseignement

En collaboration avec le titulaire de la classe, Linda planifie chaque semaine des occasions uniques de lier les thèmes de la classe à des expériences et des experts. La totalité de la ville devient la classe et des professionnels, allant des architectes aux artistes, des urbanistes aux poètes, des historiens aux horticulteurs, font des présentations aux étudiants.

Dans la classe

  • Elle explore le rôle de la technologie dans la gestion de la ville, avec des visites à l'installation de chauffage et l'apprentissage des données ouvertes, des applications de transport en commun et des services municipaux en ligne; les étudiants considèrent le rôle en évolution des médias par des visites aux chaînes de télévision et au quotidien de la ville
  • Elle adapte le programme de chaque semaine pour répondre aux besoins particuliers d'apprentissage, de développement et de comportement de chaque classe qui vient, des étudiants doués aux enfants autistes, et trouve même des présentateurs pour parler avec les étudiants en immersion allemande, française et espagnole dans leur langue respective
  • Elle organise des activités adaptées à l'âge liées au programme : les élèves de 3e année apprennent des choses sur le son en chantant sur la scène de la salle de concert; ceux de 5e année visitent le centre de contrôle du stade local pour apprendre ce qu'est la protection civile; les étudiants plus âgés ont des journées consacrées à un thème comme la gouvernance, les beaux-arts et la défense d'une cause
  • Elle clôt l'année par la foire de la citoyenneté : les classes reviennent à l'école en juin pour partager et présenter le travail inspiré par leur semaine avec Linda

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Elle offre, en septembre, un perfectionnement professionnel aux enseignants des 25 classes et les inspire à mettre en œuvre un programme cohérent tout au long de l'année; elle fait le suivi de cela par trois visites à chaque classe et envoie un bulletin électronique hebdomadaire avec de la documentation faisant la promotion de la citoyenneté active
  • Elle a mis sur pied le projet Lectures du maire qui amène le maire d'Edmonton à lire un livre, parfois lié à la saison ou à une occasion comme le jour du Souvenir, sur vidéo pour l'afficher sur le site Internet de la ville; les étudiants de City Hall School aident au tournage

Commentaires élogieux

« Nous savons que sans le dynamisme et l'enthousiasme de Mme Hut pour le programme et ce qu'il offre, City Hall School ne serait pas le programme exceptionnel qu'il est aujourd'hui. Nous appelons affectueusement Linda l'« enseignante ardente ». Elle allume la flamme de toute personne touchée par son enseignement. »

Des parents
Date de modification :