Stacey Taylor: Giving students a voice and forging acceptance through the arts

Year: 2018 – Province: Alberta

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Stacey Taylor

Victoria School of the Arts
10210 108th Avenue
Edmonton, AB T5H 1A8

School telephone: 780-426-3010
School website: http://victoria.epsb.ca/

 

Subjects and grades taught:Grade 6 and International Baccalaureate Knowledge, grades 11–12

As an educator with a fine arts background, Stacey Taylor is passionate about integrating the arts into all subject areas to create enduring understanding. She is equally passionate about building an inclusive school environment, so all children feel welcome and supported.

Teaching approach

Stacey's understanding of constructivist and inquiry practices enables her to put students in the driver's seat. She orchestrates experiences that give them a voice, make their thinking visible to others, and let them take a stance, defend their position, take action and assess their own learning.

In the Classroom

  • Uses dance to help students of all abilities learn and internalize concepts (a popular lesson is the Star Wars math dance); through role-play, students experience inequality and its effects; as costumed characters, students defend positions on various issues in a mock Town Hall meeting
  • Draws on students' own experiences using technology: an "Instagram assignment" saw students use an iPad to create pictures that reflected the lives of citizens of Athens in Ancient Greece
  • Teaches students to recognize their unique learning needs through daily visualization, the setting of personal intentions, and periods of self-reflection; Stacey then empowers students through modelling, coaching and support to address those needs
  • Honours the diversity of students when it comes to assessment by allowing them to show what they know in the most effective way possible: conversation, observations, tests or hand-created products; in turn, students provide Stacey with feedback on and areas to improve in her teaching

Outstanding achievements

  • Set the direction in the school for the acceptance of LGBTQ students and for providing a safe learning environment; Stacey advocated for change at the school and across the school board with regard to protocols around, for example, field trips and the use of pronouns
  • Spearheaded school's annual fundraiser for a non-profit that provided the funding, direction and leadership to a school in Uganda; the efforts were so successful that Victoria School has now turned its attention to a different Ugandan school
  • Leads Grade 6 participation in the school's annual exhibition by mentoring and supporting her fellow teachers as they help their students pursue projects on globally significant topics such as child labour, global warming, conflict and mental health

Rave reviews

"It was my first year at Victoria School. Ms. Taylor made me feel welcome; she made us all feel safe. She taught us it was okay to learn in our own way. She taught me how learn and think for myself."

Former student
Date modified:

Stacey Taylor : Donner la parole aux étudiants et susciter l'acceptation par les arts

Année : 2018 – Province : Alberta

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

Stacey Taylor

Victoria School of the Arts
10210 108th Avenue
Edmonton, AB T5H 1A8

Téléphone de l'école : 780-426-3010
Site Web de l'école : http://victoria.epsb.ca/ (anglais)

 

Années et matières : 6e année et connaissances du Baccalauréat international, 11e et 12e années

À titre d'enseignante formée aux beaux-arts, Stacey Taylor se passionne pour l'intégration des arts à toutes les disciplines pour susciter une compréhension durable. Elle est tout aussi passionnée à faire de l'école un environnement inclusif pour que tous les enfants se sentent accueillis et soutenus.

Méthode d'enseignement

La compréhension qu'a Stacey des pratiques constructivistes et du questionnement lui permet de mettre les étudiants à la barre. Elle orchestre les expériences qui leur donnent la parole, clarifie leur pensée pour les autres et les laisse prendre position, la défendre, prendre des mesures et évaluer leur propre apprentissage.

Dans la classe

  • Elle exploite la danse pour aider les étudiants de toutes aptitudes à apprendre et à assimiler les concepts (la danse mathématique de Star Wars est une leçon populaire); grâce au jeu de rôles, les étudiants subissent les inégalités et leurs effets; costumés en personnages, ils défendent des positions sur divers sujets dans une simulation d'assemblée publique locale
  • Elle mise sur les expériences des étudiants au moyen des technologies : un « devoir Instagram » a mené les étudiants à utiliser leur iPad pour créer des photos qui révèlent la vie des citoyens d'Athènes en Grèce antique
  • Elle leur enseigne à reconnaitre leurs besoins particuliers en apprentissage au moyen d'une visualisation quotidienne, de l'établissement d'intentions personnelles et de périodes d'autoréflexion; Stacey les habilite ensuite grâce à la modélisation, à l'accompagnement et au soutien pour combler ces besoins
  • Elle honore la diversité des étudiants au moment de l'évaluation lorsqu'elle leur permet de montrer ce qu'ils savent de la façon la plus efficace possible : conversation, observations, tests ou produits faits main; les étudiants lui font à leur tour des commentaires sur son enseignement et ce qu'il lui faut améliorer

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Elle a donné le cap à l'école pour l'acceptation des étudiants LGBTQ et la création d'un milieu d'apprentissage sûr; Stacey préconisait le changement à l'école et à travers le conseil scolaire pour ce qui est des protocoles entourant, par exemple, les excursions et le recours aux pronoms
  • Elle a mené la campagne annuelle de collecte de fonds pour un organisme sans but lucratif qui offrait le financement, l'orientation et la direction à une école en Ouganda; ses efforts ont eu tant de succès que l'école Victoria s'est maintenant tournée vers une autre école de ce pays
  • Elle dirige la participation de la 6e année à l'exposition annuelle de l'école en accompagnant et en soutenant ses collègues enseignants qui aident leurs étudiants à réaliser des projets sur des sujets d'importance mondiale comme le travail des enfants, le réchauffement de la planète, les conflits et la santé mentale

Commentaires élogieux

« C'était ma première année à l'école Victoria. Mme Taylor m'a fait sentir le bienvenu; elle nous a tous fait sentir en sécurité. Elle nous a appris qu'il est bien d'apprendre chacun à sa façon. Elle m'a appris comment apprendre et penser par moi-même. »

Un ancien étudiant
Date de modification :