Scott Alexander: Learning at the intersection of relevance, relationship

Year: 2018 – Province: British Columbia

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Scott Alexander

Oak Bay Secondary School
2121 Cadboro Bay Road
Victoria, BC V8R 5G4

School telephone: 250-598-3361
School website: https://oakbay.sd61.bc.ca

 

Subjects and grades taught: Social Studies 9–11, Planning 11, History 12, Scholarship Prep 12

Scott Alexander is passionate about his country and his profession. Topping that, though, is the passion he has for connecting the students at his large school to the world they live in. A model of a lifelong learner, Scott also inspires his colleagues to be better educators.

Teaching approach

Scott has founded his teaching on the idea that learning takes place where relevance, relationship and rigour intersect. There, he creates a learning space where all students have the opportunity to grow. Through mentoring and coaching, Scott brings about character-changing experiences for students.

In the Classroom

  • Augments his captivating storytelling with technology: for example, he enlivens lessons on Second World War battles by having students pin significant events on a real time Google map so they can connect the location to its historical significance
  • Connects historical events to the present: for example, students learning about the struggles to establish democracy in pre-Nazi Germany reflect on the modern United States; Scott challenges students to analyze, debate and form opinions based on facts and historical texts
  • Stresses the importance of emphatic service and giving: students have raised thousands of dollars to support community efforts; he also brought Youth in Philanthropy to the school, which sees students work to spotlight local charities and win $5,000 to donate to an organization of their choice

Outstanding achievements

  • Social Studies 11 students consistently achieve results significantly higher than the provincial average; Grade 12 students are recipients of numerous university scholarships, including prestigious, high-value ones, thanks to Scott's support during the application process
  • Collaborated with the head of the English department to create a rubric and writing samples designed to achieve consistent writing standards across both the Social Studies and English departments
  • Created a website for educators and students overflowing with lessons and resources; it has had more than one million hits in the last decade; he gives new teachers in his department full access to his Google drive folder of lessons
  • Created a multi-layered platform for participants in the Library of Parliament's Teachers Institute for Parliamentary Democracy to record and share their experiences and best practices

Rave reviews

"Mr. Alexander prepares students for the world by teaching them how to cope amidst changing technology, by providing confidence and self-knowledge through mentorship, and demonstrating how to live a life rooted in one's personal values."

Former student
Date modified:

Scott Alexander : L'apprentissage au croisement de la pertinence, des relations et de la rigueur

Année : 2018 – Province : Colombie-Britannique

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'excellence

Scott Alexander

Oak Bay Secondary School
2121 Cadboro Bay Road
Victoria, BC (Colombie-Britannique) V8R 5G4

Téléphone de l'école : 250-598-3361
Site Web de l'école : https://oakbay.sd61.bc.ca (anglais)

 

Années et matières : Études sociales, 9e à 11e années, planification, 11e, histoire et préparation aux bourses d'études, 12e

Scott Alexander se passionne pour son pays et sa profession. Mais plus encore, il y a la passion de brancher ses étudiants d'une grande école au monde dans lequel ils vivent. Modèle de l'apprenant permanent, Scott inspire également ses collègues à se surpasser comme enseignants.

Méthode d'enseignement

Scott a fondé son enseignement sur l'idée que l'apprentissage se fait là où pertinence, relations et rigueur se croisent. C'est là qu'il crée un espace d'apprentissage où tous les étudiants ont l'occasion de grandir. Grâce au mentorat et à l'accompagnement, il suscite pour les étudiants des expériences qui changent la personnalité.

Dans la classe

  • Il enrichit ses contes captivants par la technologie : par exemple, il anime les leçons sur les batailles de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale en demandant aux étudiants de pointer les événements importants sur une carte en temps réel de Google Map pour qu'ils puissent lier l'endroit à son importance historique
  • Il lie les événements historiques au présent : par exemple, les étudiants étudient les luttes pour établir la démocratie en Allemagne pré nazie qui influencent les États-Unis modernes; Scott amène les étudiants à analyser, à se faire une opinion fondée sur des faits et des documents historiques et à en débattre
  • Il insiste sur l'importance du service empathique et du don : les étudiants ont collecté des milliers de dollars à l'appui des efforts de la collectivité; il a également appliqué le programme Jeunes philanthropes à l'école qui a inspiré les étudiants à travailler à mettre en lumière les organismes caritatifs et gagné 5 000 $ à donner à une organisation de leur choix

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Les étudiants de 11e année en études sociales obtiennent sans cesse des résultats sensiblement plus élevés que la moyenne provinciale; ceux de 12e année ont reçu de nombreuses bourses universitaires, y compris les plus prestigieuses et valorisées, grâce à l'appui de Scott pendant le processus de demande
  • Il a collaboré avec le chef du département d'anglais pour créer une rubrique et des échantillons de rédaction conçus pour obtenir une norme de rédaction constante tant en études sociales que dans les départements d'anglais
  • Il a créé un site Internet pour les éducateurs et les étudiants qui déborde de leçons et de ressources qui a été visité plus d'un million de fois pendant la dernière décennie; il donne aux nouveaux enseignants de son département le plein accès à son dossier de leçons Google Drive
  • Il a créé une plateforme multicouche pour les participants du Forum des professeurs sur la démocratie parlementaire de la Bibliothèque du Parlement pour enregistrer et partager leurs expériences et leurs pratiques exemplaires

Commentaires élogieux

« M. Alexander prépare les étudiants au monde en leur enseignant comment faire face à l'évolution des technologies, en leur donnant confiance et connaissance de soi grâce au mentorat et en démontrant comment vivre une vie enracinée dans des valeurs personnelles. »

Un ancien étudiant
Date de modification :