Candice Lee: Nurturing capable, confident children

Year: 2018 – Province: British Columbia

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Candice Lee

Deep Cove Elementary School
10975 West Saanich Road
North Saanich, BC V8L 5P6

School telephone: 250-656-7254
School website: https://deepcove.sd63.bc.ca/

 

Subjects and grades taught: All subjects, grades 4 and 5

After facing a number of childhood challenges, Candice Lee came out of her shell thanks to Grade 6 French Immersion and band. She went on to study to become a dentist but realized that where she really belonged was back in the classroom, not as a student but as a teacher.

Teaching approach

Candice Lee believes that students are fully capable of living up to any expectations one sets, and is passionate about working with kids as they try new things. Her emphasis on inclusivity, diversity and multiculturalism has led to a rich classroom environment where students can explore and learn.

In the Classroom

  • Sparks children's interests in writing by encouraging them to enter contests, with prizes such as having their story published or having a large charitable donation made in the winner's name
  • Stresses hands-on learning to engage students in all areas of the curriculum: making structures and objects out of wood to teach math and measuring, making crystals to study saturated solutions and making slime to compare recipes and results
  • Gets children outdoors: on nature walks in nearby parks, students learn about the local flora, including invasive plant species, which they then gleefully root out; students tend a neighbour's garden, learning about growing and caring for plants and bringing back salad ingredients
  • Takes advantage of opportunities to teach the virtues: food drives highlight leadership and generosity; the big buddies program teaches about kindness, caring and helpfulness; the lunch monitoring program helps with the care of students and the school

Outstanding achievements

  • Organizes multicultural year-end music and dance performance for the whole school, in conjunction with the Cultural Dance Artist in Residence, helping schedule rehearsals, writing and teaching music to the entire school, and organizing a costume club for children to help make and build costumes
  • Wrote, arranged and taught school song to all students, with the chorus in French and in English; for a performance for the lieutenant governor, one class played recorders, another ukuleles, another marimbas, xylophones, double bass and drums, another rhythm sticks, and yet another maracas
  • Is a leader in bringing in new programs and approaches to the school (examples include online math programs, a school-wide focus on mindfulness, and presenters on environmental issues) and shares her knowledge and experience with other educators

Rave reviews

"Always to be found with a smile on her face, Mme. Lee tackles the day juggling multiple projects in preparation for that highest learning opportunity for her class. Her creativity is endless as she pulls together thought-provoking lessons."

Nominator
Date modified:

Candice Lee : Former des enfants capables et confiants

Année : 2018 – Province : Colombie-Britannique

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

Candice Lee

Deep Cove Elementary School
10975 West Saanich Road
North Saanich, BC (Colombie-Britannique) V8L 5P6

Téléphone de l'école : 250-656-7254
Site Web de l'école : https://deepcove.sd63.bc.ca/ (anglais)

 

Années et matières : Tous les sujets, 4e et 5e années

Après avoir connu plusieurs difficultés d'enfance, Candice Lee est sortie de sa coquille grâce à l'immersion française de 6e année et à la bande. Elle a poursuivi ses études pour devenir dentiste, mais a compris que c'est en classe qu'elle était vraiment à sa place et pas comme étudiante, mais comme enseignante.

Méthode d'enseignement

Candice Lee pense que les élèves sont pleinement capables de répondre à toutes les attentes qu'on a et est passionnée par le travail avec les enfants alors qu'ils tentent de nouvelles choses. L'importance qu'elle accorde à l'inclusion, à la diversité et au multiculturalisme a suscité un riche milieu d'apprentissage où les élèves peuvent explorer et apprendre.

Dans la classe

  • Elle éveille l'intérêt des élèves pour l'écriture en les encourageant à participer à des concours, avec des prix comme la publication de leur histoire ou en préparant un gros don de charité fait au nom du gagnant
  • Elle insiste sur l'apprentissage pratique pour mobiliser l'élève dans toutes les disciplines du programme : en fabriquant des structures et des objets de bois pour enseigner les mathématiques et le mesurage, en faisant des cristaux pour étudier les solutions saturées et en faisant de la vase pour comparer les recettes et les résultats
  • Elle sort les élèves de la classe : des promenades dans la nature dans les parcs à proximité, les élèves apprennent la flore locale, y compris les espèces envahissantes qu'ils déracinent ensuite à plaisir; ils entretiennent le jardin d'un voisin, apprennent à faire pousser des plantes et à en prendre soin, et à rapporter les ingrédients d'une salade
  • Elle tire parti des occasions d'enseigner les vertus : les collectes de denrées alimentaires mettent en valeur le leadership et la générosité; le programme big buddies leur enseigne la gentillesse, la bienveillance et l'obligeance; le programme de surveillance du dîner aide à s'occuper des élèves et de l'école

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Elle organise un spectacle de musique et de danse multiculturelle de fin d'année pour toute l'école, en collaboration avec le Cultural Dance Artist in Residence, et aide à monter l'horaire des répétitions, à rédiger et enseigner la musique pour toute l'école et à organiser un club de costumes pour aider les enfants à faire et bâtir les costumes
  • Elle a écrit, arrangé et enseigné la chanson de l'école avec un chœur en français et en anglais; pour la représentation devant le lieutenant-gouverneur, une classe a joué de la flûte, une autre du ukulele et une autre des marimbas, des xylophones, de la contrebasse et des tambours, une autre des claves et une dernière des maracas
  • Elle est la première à introduire de nouveaux programmes et de nouvelles démarches à l'école (par exemple, des programmes de mathématiques en ligne, l'accent mis sur la conscience à l'échelle de l'école, et des présentateurs sur les enjeux environnementaux) et partage son savoir et son expérience avec d'autres éducateurs

Commentaires élogieux

« Toujours souriante, Mme Lee aborde la journée en jonglant avec les multiples projets en préparation pour la plus grande occasion d'apprentissage pour sa classe. Sa créativité est sans limites alors qu'elle monte des leçons qui poussent à la réflexion. »

Auteur de la candidature
Date de modification :