Kimberley Keating: Learning with purpose and creativity through technology

Year: 2018 – Province: Newfoundland and Labrador

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Kimberley Keating

Holy Trinity Elementary School
10 Doyles & Quigley Lane
Torbay, NL A1K 1A6

School telephone: 709-437-6433
School website: https://htek6.wordpress.com/
Twitter: @flatrocknewfie

Subjects and grades taught: Math, Science, Language Arts, Religion, Social Studies, French and Health, Grade 4

A teacher with a range of classroom experiences and a long-term commitment to professional improvement, Kimberley Keating's excellence shines most brightly in her interactions with students and through the emerging new technologies and creativity in her classroom.

Teaching approach

Kim recognizes that students are most engaged when classroom activity is relevant and purposeful, and when it incorporates technology. With enthusiasm, she takes on the challenge of developing such activities to not only engage the children in her class but also ensure their success.

In the Classroom

  • Implemented solid blocks of time for students to immerse themselves in hands-on literacy activities, such as researching, writing and publishing e-books on topics of interest; a new block approach to math followed, with students moving through challenges and practical applications of the curriculum in five essential areas, including problem solving and instructional games
  • Creates purposeful learning opportunities: students are responsible for raising 100 salmon eggs to the fry stage and then releasing them; the students take and analyze digital pictures and videos to identify changes in the eggs, and devise solutions to problems that arise
  • Experiments with and implements a wide variety of technological options to help students of varying abilities learn and become more independent in pursuing their interests
  • Promotes the social and moral development of students by integrating the Roots of Empathy and Lions Quest: Skills for Growing programs into the curriculum

Outstanding achievements

  • Led the incorporation of digital literacy into the overall school program, including creating a pamphlet for families introducing the initiative, adding digital literacy to the school's behaviour matrix and code of conduct, and presenting the changes to the school council
  • Leads numerous in-school and school district professional development sessions and has been featured in videos shown during in-service training; she presented on new robot-based coding activities to STEM teachers from across the province
  • Worked on a provincial pilot project investigating the efficacy of bringing iPads into science classes so students could use them to investigate, record data and present findings

Rave reviews

"I'm certain [Ms. Keating's] unique skill set, her genuine love of knowledge and passion for teaching will continue to impact and offer every child an equal opportunity to be their very best."

Parent
Date modified:

Kimberley Keating : Apprentissage ayant un but et créativité au moyen de la technologie

Année : 2018 – Province : Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

Kimberley Keating

Holy Trinity Elementary School
10 Doyles & Quigley Lane
Torbay, NL A1K 1A6

Téléphone de l'école : 709-437-6433
Site Web de l'école : https://htek6.wordpress.com/ (anglais)
Twitter : @flatrocknewfie (anglais)

Années et matières : Mathématiques, sciences, arts du langage, religion, études sociales, français et santé, 4e année

Enseignante ayant une vaste gamme d'expérience en classe et un engagement durable au perfectionnement professionnel, l'excellence de Kimberley Keating s'exprime le plus clairement dans ses interactions avec les élèves et au moyen des nouvelles technologies et de sa créativité en classe.

Méthode d'enseignement

Kimberley reconnaît que les élèves sont les plus engagés lorsque l'activité en classe est pertinente, délibérée et qu'elle incorpore la technologie. Elle relève avec enthousiasme le défi de préparer de telles activités non seulement pour mobiliser les élèves dans sa classe, mais aussi pour assurer leur réussite.

Dans la classe

  • Elle a mis en œuvre de longs blocs de temps pour que les élèves s'immergent dans des activités pratiques d'alphabétisation, comme la recherche, la rédaction et la publication de livres électroniques sur des sujets qui les intéressent; une nouvelle démarche par bloc en mathématiques a suivi, les élèves passant à travers des défis et des applications pratiques du programme dans cinq domaines essentiels, notamment dans la résolution de problèmes et les jeux éducatifs
  • Elle crée des occasions d'apprentissage ayant un but : les élèves sont responsables d'élever 100 œufs de saumon jusqu'à l'étape de l'alevin, puis de les relâcher; ils prennent des photos et des vidéos numériques et les analysent pour détecter les changements dans les œufs et trouver des solutions aux problèmes qui émergent
  • Elle expérimente avec une gamme d'options technologiques, puis les met en œuvre pour aider des élèves aux compétences diverses à apprendre et à devenir plus indépendants dans la poursuite de leurs centres d'intérêt
  • Elle favorise le développement social et moral des élèves en intégrant les programmes Racines de l'empathie, Lions-Quest et Clés pour grandir.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Elle a dirigé l'incorporation de la culture numérique au programme global de l'école, notamment en rédigeant une brochure pour les familles qui présente cette initiative, en ajoutant la culture numérique à la matrice comportementale et au code de conduite de l'école, et en présentant les changements au conseil scolaire
  • Elle anime de nombreux ateliers de perfectionnement professionnel à l'école et dans le district scolaire et a été une vedette des vidéos montrés pendant la formation intérieure; elle a fait une présentation sur les nouvelles activités de codage fondées sur la robotique aux enseignants des STIM à travers la province
  • Elle a travaillé à un projet pilote provincial faisant enquête sur l'efficacité des iPad dans les cours de sciences afin que les élèves les utilisent pour explorer, enregistrer des données et présenter des conclusions

Commentaires élogieux

« Je suis certain que les compétences uniques [de Mme Keating], son amour authentique du savoir et sa passion pour l'enseignement continueront d'influencer tous les enfants et de leur offrir à une occasion égale de faire de leur mieux. »

Un parent
Date de modification :