Jessica Kennedy: Connecting digital-age students to history and social issues

Year: 2018 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Jessica Kennedy

I. E. Weldon Secondary School
24 Weldon Road
Lindsay, ON K9V 4R4

School telephone: 705-324-3585
School website: http://iew.tldsb.on.ca

 

Subjects and grades taught: Drama, grades 9–12

Jessie Kennedy is a master teacher. She is equally comfortable leading an introductory Grade 9 lesson on tableau, as she is facilitating a session at a drama educators' conference. More importantly, she treats both endeavours with the same respect and attention.

Teaching approach

In Jessie's classes, students not only master theatre technique and engage with theory but also create profound ties to historical events and social issues. Through drama, she takes them on journeys through time and place so they can better understand themselves and the world they are inheriting.

In the Classroom

  • Employs recordings to great effect: fledgling student actors present their pieces on video to avoid the pressure of live performance; students record their reviews and critiques of their classmates' work; Jessie records descriptive feedback during formative and summative assessments
  • Creates opportunities for students to connect to local history and social issues: for example, drama, writing and fashion students collaborated to put on an evening of theatre and music to mark the 100th anniversary of the departure of a local battalion during the First World War
  • Adapts drama teaching to students with a wide variety of abilities: International Baccalaureate students study drama theory and create, design, direct and perform as individuals and in ensembles; students with high learning needs and physical challenges use drama to communicate

Outstanding achievements

  • Named lead writer for a joint project with the Ontario Ministry of Education and the Aga Khan Museum of Islamic Art to develop curriculum to complement the museum collection such that it could be used in conjunction with a visit or as a virtual access point to Islamic art
  • Connects to communities and schools locally, nationally and internationally to share her expertise in the dramatic arts: for example, she presented a paper about using drama to connect with students in the digital age at a conference of Singaporean drama teachers
  • Directs some of the plays the school's theatre company produces, including those that have gone on to win awards in regional competitions

Rave reviews

"What [Ms. Kennedy] does is she plants seeds of inspiration and creativity in all of her students' minds, and once she plants those seeds, she works hard and makes sure that each and every one of those seeds grows in the exact way the student imagined."

Student
Date modified:

Jessica Kennedy : Brancher les étudiants de l'ère numérique à l'histoire et aux questions sociales

Année : 2018 – Province : Ontario

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

Jessica Kennedy

I. E. Weldon Secondary School
24 Weldon Road
Lindsay, ON K9V 4R4

Téléphone de l'école : 705-324-3585
Site Web de l'école : http://iew.tldsb.on.ca (anglais)

 

Années et matières : Théâtre, 9e à 12e années

« Jessie Kennedy est une enseignante experte. Elle est aussi à l'aise pour donner une leçon d'introduction à la 9e année au tableau, que d'animer une session d'un congrès des enseignants de théâtre. Plus important encore, elle accorde aux deux expériences le même respect et la même attention.

Méthode d'enseignement

Dans les classes de Jessie, les étudiants maîtrisent non seulement la technique du théâtre et sa théorie, mais elle noue également des liens profonds avec les événements historiques et les questions sociales. Par le théâtre, elle les entraîne dans des parcours dans le temps et l'espace pour se comprendre mieux et le monde dont ils héritent.

Dans la classe

  • Elle exploite les enregistrements avec beaucoup de succès : des acteurs novices présentent leur scène sur vidéo pour éviter la pression d'une performance en direct; ils enregistrent leurs comptes rendus et critiques du travail de leurs camarades; Jessie enregistre des commentaires descriptifs pendant les évaluations formatives et sommatives
  • Elle suscite pour les étudiants des occasions de nouer un lien avec l'histoire locale et les questions sociales : par exemple, les étudiants en théâtre, en rédaction et en mode collaborent à monter une soirée de théâtre et de musique pour marquer le 100e anniversaire du départ d'un bataillon local pendant la Première Guerre mondiale
  • Elle adapte l'enseignement du théâtre aux étudiants au moyen d'une gamme de compétences : les étudiants au Baccalauréat international étudient la théorie du théâtre et créent, conçoivent, dirigent et jouent individuellement et en groupe; ceux ayant des besoins d'apprentissage importants et des difficultés physiques utilisent le théâtre pour communiquer

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Elle a été nommée rédactrice en chef d'un projet mixte du ministère de l'Éducation de l'Ontario et de l'Aga Khan Museum of Islamic Art pour développer un programme complémentaire à la collection du musée de façon à ce qu'il serve avec la visite ou comme point d'accès virtuel à l'art islamique
  • Elle branche les collectivités et les écoles locales, nationales et internationales pour partager son expertise dans les arts dramatiques : par exemple, elle a présenté un document sur l'exploitation du théâtre pour connecter les étudiants de l'ère numérique lors d'une conférence d'enseignants de théâtre de Singapour
  • Elle met en scène certaines pièces que produit la compagnie de théâtre de l'école, y compris celles qui ont ensuite remporté des prix dans des concours régionaux

Commentaires élogieux

« Mme Kennedy sème des graines d'inspiration et de créativité dans l'esprit de tous ses étudiants et, après les avoir plantées, elle travaille avec acharnement et s'assure que chacune de ces graines pousse exactement comme l'étudiant l'imaginait. »

Un étudiant
Date de modification :