Christopher Snow: Giving young students the skills to facilitate change

Year: 2018 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Christopher Snow

Huron Street Junior Public School
541 Huron Street
Toronto, ON M5R 2R6

School telephone: 416-393-1570
School website: http://schoolweb.tdsb.on.ca/huronstreet/

 

Subjects and grades taught: Junior and Senior Kindergarten

Christopher Snow builds his teaching around the pursuit of social justice and gender equity inside the classroom and in the world. He begins each day with a treaty acknowledgment of Indigenous lands to show children what is needed for Indigenous and non-Indigenous people to build a common vision.

Teaching approach

Taking an interdisciplinary approach, Christopher works to cultivate his students' intellectual curiosity and, at the same time, hone their analytical, oral, reading and writing skills so they can work toward becoming competitive global citizens.

In the Classroom

  • Harnesses technology both to show children how to answer big questions about global and social issues, and to teach skills: children do online research and analyze data, while also learning how to read charts and graphs, collaborate electronically, take photos, and type and send polite emails
  • Designs hands-on, cross-curricular activities to engage young learners: for example, three students used math, reading, writing, research, science and social skills to conduct a classroom eco-audit; it was such as success that there will be a similar audit of the whole school
  • Strives to implement the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's call to decolonize curriculum by having students learn about the residential schools system through research, experiential learning and writing; students also visited the site of a former school, and met and listened to a survivor
  • Uses a social justice lens to introduce students to topics such as human rights and environmental protection, and then, through inquiry-based activities, identify barriers and biases, examine possible solutions and consider their role as young people in facilitating change

Outstanding achievements

  • Was among the few board teachers invited to participate in two long-term professional development programs to work with elders and Indigenous education specialists to bring more Indigenous knowledge and culture into schools
  • Was invited by the Council of Canadians to be part of a delegation of Ontario teachers who travelled to Chile in the summer of 2017 to study the ethics of investing in the Chilean water system
  • Oversees school-based professional development days, working with the principal to set the agenda for school-wide teacher development, goals and action plans

Rave reviews

"Christopher has an innate ability to understand his students and invites parents to participate in their child's progress. … Because of Christopher's expertise and dedication, I can witness my son's self-confidence soar as he becomes more comfortable with how he fits into the world around him."

Parent
Date modified:

Christopher Snow : Donner aux élèves les compétences nécessaires pour faciliter le changement

Année : 2018 – Province : Ontario

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

Christopher Snow

Huron Street Junior Public School
541 Huron Street
Toronto, ON M5R 2R6

Téléphone de l'école : 416-393-1570
Site Web de l'école : http://schoolweb.tdsb.on.ca/huronstreet/ (anglais)

 

Années et matières : Tous les sujets, 3e à 5e années

Christopher Snow établit son enseignement autour de la recherche de la justice sociale et de l'égalité des genres dans la classe et dans le monde. Il commence chaque journée par un traité de reconnaissance des terres autochtones pour montrer aux enfants ce qu'il faut pour que les autochtones et les non-autochtones arrivent à une vision commune.

Méthode d'enseignement

Adoptant une démarche interdisciplinaire, Christopher travaille à cultiver la curiosité intellectuelle de ses élèves tout en peaufinant leurs compétences en analyse, en expression orale et écrite et en lecture pour travailler à devenir des citoyens compétitifs.

Dans la classe

  • Il exploite la technologie tant pour montrer aux enfants la façon de répondre aux grandes questions sur les enjeux mondiaux et sociaux que pour enseigner des compétences : les enfants font de la recherche en ligne et analysent des données tout en apprenant comment lire les tableaux et les graphiques, collaborer électroniquement, prendre des photos. et taper et envoyer des courriels polis
  • Il conçoit des activités pluridisciplinaires pour mobiliser les jeunes apprenants : par exemple, trois élèves ont utilisé les mathématiques, la lecture, l'écriture, la recherche, les sciences et les compétences sociales pour effectuer un sondage sur l'écologie en classe; ce fut une telle réussite qu'un sondage semblable sera fait dans toute l'école
  • Il cherche à mettre en œuvre l'appel de la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation à décoloniser le programme en parlant aux enfants du système de pensionnats au moyen de la recherche, de l'apprentissage par l'expérience et de l'écriture; les élèves ont également visité l'emplacement d'une ancienne école et rencontré et écouté un survivant
  • Il utilise la perspective de la justice sociale pour présenter aux élèves des sujets comme les droits de la personne et la protection de l'environnement, puis au moyen d'activités fondées sur l'investigation, déceler les obstacles, les préjugés, examiner les solutions possibles et considérer leur rôle de jeunes gens dans la facilitation du changement

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Il fut l'un des rares enseignants à être invité à participer à deux programmes de perfectionnement professionnel à long terme pour travailler avec les aînés et les spécialistes de l'éducation des Autochtones afin d'apporter plus de savoir et de culture autochtones dans les écoles
  • Il a été invité par le Conseil des Canadiens à faire partie d'une délégation d'enseignants ontariens qui ont voyagé au Chili à l'été 2017 afin d'étudier l'aspect éthique d'un investissement dans le système de distribution d'eau chilien
  • Il supervise les journées de perfectionnement professionnel et travaille avec le directeur à monter l'horaire des plans de perfectionnement, les buts et les plans d'action de l'ensemble des enseignants de l'école

Commentaires élogieux

« Christopher a le don inné de comprendre ses élèves et invite leurs parents à participer aux progrès de leur enfant. [...] À cause de l'expertise et de son dévouement, je vois la confiance de mon fils augmenter à mesure qu'il se sent plus à l'aise dans le monde qui l'entoure. »

Un parent
Date de modification :