Charlotte Travis: Taking learning and inquiry outdoors

Year: 2018 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Charlotte Travis

Bruce T. Lindley Public School
2510 Cavendish Drive
Burlington, ON L7P 4K5

School telephone: 905-335-0679
School website: http://bru.hdsb.ca/

 

Subjects and grades taught: Language Arts, Math, Science, Social Studies and the Arts, grades 4 and 5

After many years in the classroom, Charlotte Travis moved to her school's early years program. She learned alongside her Kindergarten students as they explored and developed play-based learning strategies. Now, she applies her newfound knowledge to her work with junior students.

Teaching approach

Wholeheartedly believing in supporting students as they explore outside in the natural world, Charlotte roots her practice in inquiry-based learning. She fosters students' thinking and problem-solving skills while developing their curiosity and imagination.

In the Classroom

  • Promotes global consciousness through personal connection and hands-on learning: Charlotte complemented a unit on stable structures with a story about digging a well in an African community; students followed the project and then built their own structure to retrieve water from the well
  • Encouraged students to explore technology such as old computers by taking them apart; this led to the school's "beautiful junk" project to remake things rather than throwing them out
  • Takes junior students to a nearby provincial park every week for inquiry-based learning activities incorporating science, math, literacy and the arts; tasks include building a stable structure to serve as that day's classroom; a visiting Mohawk elder shares how his people live with and view the land
  • Holds students accountable: check-in circles bring them together to discuss personal and class accountability and responsibility for learning, well-being and justice, especially when personal connections need to be restored

Outstanding achievements

  • Successfully engaged struggling learners through student-centred programming, an inquiry-based approach and family involvement; the students went on to lead the school's anti-bullying campaign and no longer required significant, and previously essential, classroom and professional supports
  • Designed two sets of backpacks containing all-season outdoor learning kits—featuring items such as rope, rings, magnifying glasses and jars—for each division in the school; teachers can easily move lessons outside, while children have the tools at hand to pursue and even extend their inquiries
  • Selected to participate in school board's truth and reconciliation initiative, led by community leaders and elders from First Nations across southern Ontario: teachers are developing school-wide (eventually system­wide) curriculum focused on healthy dialogue and experience with First Nations
  • Coordinated the school project to build a rain garden: in partnership with the municipality, students planted and maintain more than 150 plants and shrubs at the school

Rave reviews

"Always supporting the most challenging young minds to embrace their own learning … Charlotte knew how to pull, push, nurture and prod all types of learners, encouraging them to become successful."

Retired principal
Date modified:

Charlotte Travis : Sortir l'apprentissage et l'investigation hors de la classe

Année : 2018 – Province : Ontario

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

Charlotte Travis

Bruce T. Lindley Public School
2510 Cavendish Drive
Burlington, ON L7P 4K5

Téléphone de l'école : 905-335-0679
Site Web de l'école : http://bru.hdsb.ca/ (anglais)

 

Années et matières : Arts du langage, mathématiques, sciences, études sociales et arts, 4e et 5e années

Christopher Snow établit son enseignement autour de la recherche de la justice sociale et de l'égalité des genres dans la classe et dans le monde. Il commence chaque journée par un traité de reconnaissance des terres autochtones pour montrer aux enfants ce qu'il faut pour que les autochtones et les non-autochtones arrivent à une vision commune.

Méthode d'enseignement

Croyant fermement au soutien des élèves dans leur exploration du monde naturel extérieur, Charlotte enracine sa pratique dans l'apprentissage par investigation. Elle encourage les compétences en réflexion et en résolution des problèmes tout en développant leur curiosité et leur imagination.

Dans la classe

  • Elle fait la promotion de la conscience mondiale par des connexions personnelles et l'apprentissage pratique : Charlotte complétait une unité sur les structures stables avec une histoire sur le forage d'un puits dans une collectivité africaine; les élèves ont suivi le projet, puis bâti leur propre structure pour tirer l'eau du puits
  • Elle encourageait les élèves à explorer les technologies comme les vieux ordinateurs en les démontant; cela a mené au projet « merveilleux déchets » pour refaire des choses plutôt que les jeter
  • Elle amène les élèves plus jeunes dans un parc provincial à proximité toutes les semaines pour les activités d'apprentissage par l'investigation en y incorporant les sciences, les mathématiques, l'alphabétisation et les arts; les tâches comprennent la construction d'une structure stable qui sert de classe pour la journée; un visiteur aîné mohawk explique comment son peuple vit avec la terre et la considère
  • Elle tient les élèves pour responsables : les cercles de vérification les rassemblent pour discuter de la responsabilité personnelle et de la classe et de la responsabilité de l'apprentissage, du bien-être et de la justice, en particulier lorsque des liens personnels doivent être restaurés

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Elle a réussi à mobiliser des apprenants en difficulté grâce aux programmes axés sur l'élève, une démarche fondée sur l'investigation et la mobilisation de la famille; les élèves ont ensuite dirigé la campagne contre l'intimidation de l'école et n'avaient plus besoin de grand soutien en classe et professionnel naguère essentiels
  • Elle a conçu deux séries de sacs à dos qui contiennent toutes les trousses d'apprentissage extérieur quatre saisons, avec des articles comme une corde, des anneaux, des loupes et des bocaux, pour chaque division de l'école; les enseignants peuvent facilement donner leurs leçons à l'extérieur et les enfants disposent des outils nécessaires pour pousser ou même élargir leurs investigations
  • Elle a été choisie par le conseil scolaire pour l'initiative de vérité et de réconciliation dirigée par les chefs et les aînés de la collectivité des Premières nations du sud de l'Ontario : les enseignants sont à développer un programme à l'échelle de l'école (éventuellement du système) axé sur le dialogue sain et l'expérience avec les Premières nations
  • Elle a coordonné un projet scolaire pour bâtir un jardin pluvial : en partenariat avec la municipalité, les élèves ont planté et pris soin de plus de 150 plantes et arbustes à l'école

Commentaires élogieux

« Toujours à l'appui des jeunes esprits les plus réticents à assumer leur propre apprentissage... Charlotte savait comment tirer, pousser, nourrir et stimuler tous les types d'apprenants et les encourageait à réussir. »

Directeur à la retraite
Date de modification :