Stacy Thain: Teacher "angel" empowers students to make a difference

Year: 2018 – Province: Prince Edward Island

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Stacy Thain

Summerside Intermediate School
247 Central Street
Summerside, PE C1N 3M5

School telephone: 902-888-8470
School website: https://sisowls.wordpress.com/

 

Subjects and grades taught: French and Language Arts, grades 4–8

A native English speaker, Stacy Thain successfully mastered French and now works in both languages. Leaving the elementary school class for a year, she is currently on an assignment with the province's education department to teach Grade 4–6 educators about preparing French-language lessons.

Teaching approach

Understanding the importance of authentic, relevant learning for adolescents, Stacy creates opportunities through which students can connect what they are learning in school with the world around them. She also teaches leadership skills to empower students to stand up and make a difference.

In the Classroom

  • Uses technology to make connections: students collaborate on projects and interview authors online for research papers; Stacy updates students and parents on student progress, providing regular, descriptive feedback online to connect home and school
  • Designs lessons with academic excellence at the forefront but also incorporates ways to empower students beyond the classroom: lessons at school went on to involve students teaching seniors at nursing homes how to use email and helping them write out their Christmas cards
  • Devotes time and energy to giving students chances to be leaders at school and in the community: for example, for many years under her guidance, students coached peers across the province in the areas of community involvement, leadership development and healthy lifestyles

Outstanding achievements

  • Her students won first and second place in the 2017 provincial writing contest sponsored by the PEI Writers' Guild
  • Wrote and recorded a song, "We Remember," that has been performed at countless schools and Legions across Canada in conjunction with Remembrance Day observances; she also wrote music and created lessons about verbal abuse, which she and her students shared with classes across P.E.I.
  • Has been chosen to represent educators on numerous committees, including one supporting new teachers, the diversity education committees for both the Department of Education and the teachers' federation, and a provincial body looking at class composition and the related funding

Rave reviews

"As the principal of the high school receiving her junior high 'graduates,' I observed firsthand the lasting impact of Stacy's influence on young people. They would work their hardest and change their behaviour just to make her proud."

Fellow educator
Date modified:

Stacy Thain : Un « ange » enseignant habilite les étudiants à changer le monde

Année : 2018 – Province : Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

Stacy Thain

Summerside Intermediate School
247 Central Street
Summerside, PE C1N 3M5

Téléphone de l'école : 902-888-8470
Site Web de l'école : https://sisowls.wordpress.com/ (anglais)

 

Années et matières : Français et arts du langage, 4e à 8e années

De langue maternelle anglaise, Stacy Thain a réussi à maîtriser le français et travaille maintenant dans les deux langues. Ayant quitté la classe de l'école primaire pour un an, elle est maintenant en affectation au ministère de l'Éducation de la province pour enseigner aux éducateurs des 4e à 6e années la façon de préparer les leçons de langue française.

Méthode d'enseignement

Consciente de l'importance d'un apprentissage authentique et pertinent pour les adolescents, Stacy suscite pour les élèves des occasions d'appliquer ce qu'ils apprennent à l'école au monde qui les entoure. Elle enseigne également les compétences en leadership pour habiliter les élèves à se tenir debout et à changer les choses.

Dans la classe

  • Elle exploite la technologie pour forger des liens : les élèves collaborent à des projets et interrogent les auteurs en ligne pour les rapports de recherche; Stacy tient les élèves et les parents au fait de leurs progrès en faisant en ligne des commentaires périodiques descriptifs pour lier foyer et école
  • Elle conçoit des leçons avec l'excellence académique au premier plan, mais y incorpore également des moyens d'habiliter les élèves en dehors de la classe : les leçons à l'école se sont poursuivies pour amener les élèves à enseigner dans les foyers pour personnes âgées la façon d'écrire des courriels et de rédiger leurs cartes de Noël
  • Elle consacre temps et énergie à offrir aux élèves des occasions de se faire chefs de file à l'école et dans la collectivité : par exemple, pendant plusieurs années sous sa houlette, les élèves ont accompagné des pairs à travers la province dans le domaine de l'engagement communautaire, du développement du leadership et des modes de vie sains

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Ses élèves ont gagné les premier et second prix lors du concours de rédaction provincial 2017 commandité par la Writers' Guild de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard
  • Elle a écrit et enregistré une chanson, We Remember, qui a été interprétée dans de nombreuses écoles et légions à travers le Canada lors de l'observation du jour du Souvenir; elle a également écrit la musique et créé des leçons sur la violence verbale qu'elle et ses élèves ont partagées avec les classes de l'Île
  • Elle a été choisie pour représenter les éducateurs au sein de plusieurs comités, y compris un comité qui soutient les nouveaux enseignants, les comités sur la diversité de l'éducation pour le ministère de l'Éducation et la fédération des enseignants, et un organisme provincial qui examinait la composition des classes et le financement connexe

Commentaires élogieux

« À titre d'école secondaire qui reçoit ses diplômés de l'école intermédiaire, j'ai observé directement l'influence durable de Stacy sur les jeunes gens. Ils feraient de leur mieux et changeraient leur comportement à seule fin de la rendre fière. »

Une collègue enseignante
Date de modification :