2018 STEM Recipients

Province

Community

Name of School

Name of Recipient

Grades and Subjects Taught

Highlights

British Columbia

Certificate of Achievement

Duncan

Sunrise Waldorf School

Lisa Hitch

Grades 1-8, English, Science, Math, Geography, Language Arts, History and Performing Arts

Taking off from her own burning curiosity, this educator uses inquiry-based methods to help students find the extraordinary in the ordinary, as she shares the journey with a single class from Grade 1 to Grade

Certificate of Achievement

West Kelowna

Constable Neil Bruce Middle School

Daniel Massey

Grades 7 and 8, Math and Maker

This fun-loving teacher integrates art, math, science, English and technology to create projects and tasks that directly address the age-old question, "When will I need this information in real life?"

Manitoba

Certificate of Achievement

Winnipeg

Youth BIOlab Jeunesse

Stephen Jones

Grades 5-12, Science and Health

This former medical researcher set up a state-of-the-art laboratory in a hospital to help youth develop meaningful connections with cutting-edge science and technology, rather than learn by rote-memorizing facts

New Brunswick

Certificate of Achievement

Fredericton

Fredericton High School

Carolyn Barnhart

Chemistry 11, Environmental
Science 12

While focusing on bringing technology into the classroom to enhance learning, the "Duracell Teacher Bunny" mentors teachers seeking to do the same and shows students the value of involvement—in school and the community

Certificate of Achievement

Hillsborough

Caledonia Regional High School

Benjamin Kelly

Math 10-12, Technology/Trades 6-10, Digital Productions 12, Computer Science 11, Career Explorations 12, Virtual Co-op Education 12

Making it his mission to deliver unparalleled global opportunities in STEM education for his students, this pioneering educator has brought province-leading technology to his small, rural school

Ontario

Certificate of Excellence

Toronto

John Polanyi Collegiate Institute

Nicole Anthony

Grades 9-12, Science, Biology and Interdisciplinary Studies in Biotechnology

This force of nature seeks to bring science to life for her inner-city students and make it personally meaningful and relevant to them by having them solve real-life problems; founder of the Metamorphosis Girls STEM conference

Certificate of Excellence

Grimsby

Central French Immersion Public School

Lee Martin

Grade 3, Language, Math, Science, Arts, Social Studies, Makerspace

Transformational educator creates community in his classroom and then ensures students have access to powerful tools to support their ideas; founded Computers4Change to bring advanced technology to schools

Certificate of Achievement

Waterloo

Vista Hills Public School

Tania Bumstead

Grade 7, Math and Science

Seeing opportunity in being on the staff of a brand new school, this educator has been at the forefront of developing a culture of innovation, collaboration and communication at the rapidly expanding school

Certificate of Achievement

Burlington

John William Boich Public School

Shaun Else

Grades 3 and 4, all subjects

In his classroom community, "Elsewhere," this teacher engages his students through technology, inquiry, problem solving and hands-on experiential learning, modelling lifelong learning and harnessing STEM activities so all can succeed

Certificate of Achievement

Aurora

St. Andrew's College

Terence Prezens

Grades 11 and 12, Computer Science and Computer Engineering

This teacher's robotics club blossomed into a robust dual-stream computer science and engineering program at his all-boys school; now, his classroom serves as a design lab that also serves others

Certificate of Achievement

Toronto

Humberwood Downs Junior Middle Academy

Vince Racanelli

Grade 1, Math, Science, Language, Social Studies, Arts and Media

At a large K-8 school, this educator ensures the success of culturally, racially and academically diverse learners, inspiring them with engaging hands-on projects, while helping them build strong skills

Certificate of Achievement

Ottawa

Collège catholique Samuel-Genest

Johanne Séguin

Grade 8, Math, Science, Programming and Innovation

Véritable leader dans son milieu, cette enseignante passionnée stimule ses élèves et ses collègues en proposant de nouveaux outils technologiques qui arriment l'apprentissage aux intérêts des jeunes et élargissent leurs horizons.

Certificate of Achievement

Oakville

St. Mildred's-Lightbourn School

Sarah Sils

Grade 8, Math and Science

Having spent a decade embedding STEM fundamentals throughout the curriculum at her school, this dedicated teacher has an unwavering commitment to young girls—educating and empowering them to be future leaders

Quebec

Certificate of Achievement

Kirkland

Margaret Manson Elementary School

Sheila Dunwoodie

Grades 3-6, Media and Technology, English, Math, Media, Dance and Ethics

High-tech and low-tech happily co-exist in this energetic teacher's classroom: students of all abilities plan, collaborate and problem solve, while mid-class dance breaks engage them and help them learn

Certificate of Achievement

Pierrefonds

Collège Beaubois

Adam Lecouffe-Desjardins

Secondary 4 and 5, Computer Science

Toujours à la recherche de nouvelles façons d'élargir la portée de son enseignement, cet enseignant développe chez ses élèves un savoir-faire informatique qui s'inscrit dans des projets concrets et dynamiques.

Saskatchewan

Certificate of Achievement

Lumsden

Lumsden High School

Carla Cooper

Science 10, Environmental Science 20, Biology 30, Wildlife Management

A leader in science education in Saskatchewan, this teacher's primary objective is to help students become scientifically literate, problem-based learners, challenging them to excel in local, provincial and national science fairs

Certificate of Achievement

Leask

Chief Mistawasis Nêhiyawak School

Denise Desjardins

Grades 1 and 2, all subjects

This teacher is challenging the status quo for education of First Nations children by engaging them in a classroom that is technology-rich, while infusing their Cree language and culture into all aspects of the curriculum

Date modified:

Lauréats de 2018 STIM

Province

Collectivité

Nom de l'école

Nom du lauréat/de la lauréate

Années et matières

Faits saillants

Colombie-Britannique

Certificat d'honneur

Duncan

Sunrise Waldorf School

Lisa Hitch

Anglais, sciences, mathématiques, géographie, arts du langage, histoire et arts d'interprétation, de la 1re à la 8e année

S'inspirant de sa propre curiosité ardente, cette enseignante utilise des méthodes d'apprentissage par investigation pour aider les élèves à faire des découvertes extraordinaires dans des situations ordinaires, en partageant son odyssée avec une seule classe composée d'élèves de la 1re à la 8e année.

Certificat d'honneur

West Kelowna

Constable Neil Bruce Middle School

Daniel Massey

Mathématiques et Makerspace, en 7e et 8e années

Ce chaleureux enseignant combine les arts, les mathématiques, les sciences, l'anglais et la technologie pour créer des projets et des tâches qui répondent directement à l'éternelle question « À quoi cela me servira-t-il dans la vraie vie? »

Manitoba

Certificat d'honneur

Winnipeg

Youth BIOlab Jeunesse

Stephen Jones

Sciences et santé, de la 5e à la 12e année

Cet ancien chercheur médical a mis sur pied un laboratoire de pointe dans un hôpital pour aider les jeunes à faire des liens significatifs avec les sciences et les technologies de pointe, plutôt que d'apprendre par cœur des faits.

Nouveau-Brunswick

Certificat d'honneur

Fredericton

Fredericton High School

Carolyn Barnhart

Chimie, en 1e année; sciences environnementales en 12e année

S'efforçant de faire entrer la technologie dans les salles de classe pour favoriser l'apprentissage, l' « enseignante-lapin-Duracell » fait figure de mentore auprès des enseignants qui cherchent à suivre son exemple, en plus d'enseigner aux élèves la valeur de l'engagement, à la fois à l'école et dans la collectivité.

Certificat d'honneur

Hillsborough

Caledonia Regional High School

Benjamin Kelly

Mathématiques, de la 10e à la 12e année; technologie/métiers, de la 6e à la 10e année; productions numériques, en 12e année; informatique, en 11e année; exploration de carrières, en 12e année; enseignement coopératif virtuel, en 12e année

Se donnant pour mission d'offrir à ses élèves des débouchés mondiaux uniques en matière de STIM, cet enseignant pionnier a fait entrer dans sa petite école rurale une technologie de pointe inégalée dans la province.

Ontario

Certificat d'excellence

Toronto

John Polanyi Collegiate Institute

Nicole Anthony

Sciences, biologie et études interdisciplinaires en biotechnologie, de la 9e à la 12e année

Cette force de la nature cherche à rendre la science vivante pour ses élèves du centre-ville et la leur rendre sensée et pertinente en les faisant résoudre des problèmes réels. Elle est également fondatrice du congrès Metamorphosis Girls STEM.

Certificat d'excellence

Grimsby

Central French Immersion Public School

Lee Martin

Langues, mathématiques, sciences, arts, études sociales, laboratoire ouvert, Makerspace, en 3e année

Cet enseignant transformationnel crée un esprit communautaire dans sa classe, puis veille à ce que les élèves aient accès à de puissants outils pour appuyer leurs idées. Il a fondé le programme Computers4Change afin d'introduire les technologies de pointe dans les écoles.

Certificat d'honneur

Waterloo

Vista Hills Public School

Tania Bumstead

Mathématiques et sciences, en 7e année

Saisissant l'occasion de faire partie du personnel d'une toute nouvelle école, cette enseignante a joué un rôle de premier plan dans le développement d'une culture d'innovation, de collaboration et de communication dans une école en croissance rapide.

Certificat d'honneur

Burlington

John William Boich Public School

Shaun Else

Toutes les matières, en 3e et 4e années

Dans sa classe, « Ailleurs », cet enseignant mobilise ses élèves grâce à la technologie, à l'investigation, à la résolution de problèmes et à un apprentissage pratique reposant sur l'expérience, en modélisant l'apprentissage continu et en exploitant les activités de STIM afin que tous puissent réussir.

Certificat d'honneur

Aurora

St. Andrew's College

Terence Prezens

Informatique et génie informatique, en 11e et 12e années

Le club de robotique de cet enseignant s'est transformé en un programme mixte d'informatique et de génie informatique pour son école de garçons. Sa classe sert maintenant de laboratoire de conception ouvert à tous.

Certificat d'honneur

Toronto

Humberwood Downs Junior Middle Academy

Vince Racanelli

Mathématiques, sciences, langues, études sociales, arts et médias, en 1re année

Dans une grande école accueillant des élèves de la maternelle à la 8e année, cet enseignant veille à la réussite d'apprenants aux origines culturelles, raciales et pédagogiques diverses, en les inspirant par des projets mobilisateurs pratiques, tout en les aidant à acquérir de solides compétences.

Certificat d'honneur

Ottawa

Collège catholique Samuel-Genest

Johanne Séguin

Mathématiques, sciences, programmation et innovation, en 8e année

Véritable leader dans son milieu, cette enseignante passionnée stimule ses élèves et ses collègues en proposant de nouveaux outils technologiques qui arriment l'apprentissage aux intérêts des jeunes et élargissent leurs horizons.

Certificat d'honneur

Oakville

St. Mildred's-Lightbourn School

Sarah Sils

Mathématiques et sciences, en 8e année

Ayant passé une décennie à intégrer les principes de base des STIM au programme de son école, cette enseignante dévouée fait preuve d'un engagement indéfectible auprès des jeunes filles, en leur enseignant et en les habilitant à devenir les leaders de demain.

Québec

Certificat d'honneur

Kirkland

Margaret Manson Elementary School

Sheila Dunwoodie

Médias et technologie, anglais, mathématiques, médias, danse et éthique, de la 3e à la 6e année

Férus et profanes de hautes technologies se côtoient dans la classe de cette énergique enseignante. Quelles que soient leurs aptitudes, les élèves planifient, collaborent et résolvent des problèmes, et profitent de pauses danse en milieu de journée qui favorise leur participation et leur apprentissage.

Certificat d'honneur

Pierrefonds

Collège Beaubois

Adam Lecouffe-Desjardins

Informatique, en 4e et 5e secondaires

Toujours à la recherche de nouvelles façons d'élargir la portée de son enseignement, cet enseignant développe chez ses élèves un savoir-faire informatique qui s'inscrit dans des projets concrets et dynamiques.

Saskatchewan

Certificat d'honneur

Lumsden

Lumsden High School

Carla Cooper

Sciences 10, sciences environnementales 20, biologie 30, gestion de la faune

Leader en enseignement des sciences en Saskatchewan, cette enseignante a pour principal objectif d'aider les élèves à devenir des apprenants scientifiquement cultivés capables de résoudre des problèmes, en les poussant à exceller dans le cadre d'expo-sciences locales, provinciales et nationales.

Certificat d'honneur

Leask

Chief Mistawasis Nêhiyawak School

Denise Desjardins

Toutes les matières, en 1re et en 2e années

Cette enseignante lutte contre le statu quo à l'égard de l'éducation des enfants des Premières nations, en leur offrant une classe hautement technologique, tout en intégrant leur langue et leur culture crie dans tous les aspects du programme.

Date de modification :