Denise Desjardins: Modern technology meets Cree language and culture

Year: 2018 – Province: Saskatchewan

Prime Minister's Award for Teaching Excellence in STEM

Denise Desjardins

Chief Mistawasis Nêhiyawak School
Box 250
Leask, SK S0J 1X0

School telephone: 306-466-5501
School website: https://www.mistawasis.ca/companies/education/

 

Subjects and grades taught: All subjects, grades 1 and 2

Denise Desjardins is challenging the status quo for education of First Nations children by immersing her Grade 1 and 2 students in digital literacy. Recognizing that the school is at the heart of the on-reserve community, she also works to address education-related recommendations from the Truth and Reconciliation Commission in her teaching.

Teaching approach

Knowing that her students' futures will be technology-based, Denise—who is technologically literate and culturally aware herself—engages children in a classroom that is technology-rich, while infusing their Cree language and culture into all aspects of the curriculum.

STEM in the Classroom

  • Uses technology as an active learning experience rather than passive entertainment: when fidget spinners were banned, students developed virtual ones and shared their knowledge with the school
  • Engages students in cross-curricular learning augmented by technology: Grade 1 students research and record the Winaska News, a morning video featuring news stories, the weather forecast, the lunch menu and the intramural schedule, integrating English and Cree vocabulary
  • Emphasizes the civic and cultural benefits of technology: students use Cool Tool to develop confidence and the words they need to stand up to bullies; they improve their English by identifying items in digital images of common First Nations cultural activities
  • Enhances communications between home and school with technology such as Classdojo and Seesaw: students record samples of their reading aloud, for example, for both parents and the teacher to hear, and blog about their learning on a safe platform to which parents have daily access

Outstanding achievements

  • Succeeded in encouraging more consistent attendance in class, with improvements among all students, and one child in particular moving from 47 percent to 90 percent after a year in Denise's class; reading scores have also improved, with many students moving from emergent to grade level
  • Collaborated with Cree language teacher to integrate Cree vocabulary into all areas of the curriculum, developed manipulatives that resonate with First Nations students (such as sticks rather than straws) and is developing a learning app focused on Cree language and culture
  • Mentors educators within the school and with First Nations across the province on implementing technology in classrooms with young learners

Rave reviews

"In Mrs. Desjardins' culture, there is a view that everything is done for a purpose and that everyone has a gift to share with others. Her dedication and passion for teaching is her gift and she is passionate about sharing it in her community. Her approach to teaching is making a difference in the lives of her students and is definitely making a difference in their community."

Member of Tribal Council
Date modified:

Denise Desjardins : La technologie moderne rencontre la langue et la culture cries

Année : 2018 – Province : Sakatchewan

Prix du Premier ministre pour l'excellence dans l'enseignement des STIM

Denise Desjardins

Chief Mistawasis Nêhiyawak School
Box 250
Leask, SK S0J 1X0

Téléphone de l'école : 306-466-5501
Site Web de l'école : https://www.mistawasis.ca/companies/education/ (anglais)

 

Années et matières : Tous les sujets en 1re et 2e années

Denise Desjardins rejette le statu quo en éducation des enfants des Premières nations en immergeant ses élèves de 1re et 2e années dans la culture numérique. Reconnaissant que l'école est au cœur de la collectivité sur la réserve, elle travaille également à appliquer dans son enseignement les recommandations en éducation de la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation.

Méthode d'enseignement

Sachant que l'avenir de ses élèves sera fondé sur la technologie, Denise, qui a elle-même des connaissances technologiques et culturelles, mobilise les enfants dans une classe riche en technologies tout en insufflant leur langue et leur culture cries dans tous les aspects du programme.

STEM dans la classe

  • Elle exploite la technologie comme expérience active plutôt que comme divertissement passif : lorsque les toupies à main ont été bannies, les élèves ont créé des toupies virtuelles et ont partagé leurs connaissances avec l'école
  • Elle mobilise les élèves dans un apprentissage jumelé enrichi par la technologie : les élèves de 1re année font la recherche et l'enregistrement des Nouvelles de Winaska, une vidéo matinale présentant les nouvelles, les prévisions météorologiques, le menu du dîner et l'horaire interne, tout en intégrant du vocabulaire anglais et cri
  • Elle insiste sur les avantages civiques et culturels de la technologie : les élèves utilisent Cool Tool pour acquérir la confiance et les mots dont ils ont besoin pour faire face aux intimidateurs; ils améliorent leur anglais en trouvant des éléments dans des images numériques d'activités culturelles communes chez les Premières nations
  • Elle enrichit les communications entre le foyer et l'école avec des technologies comme Classdojo et Seesaw : les élèves enregistrent des échantillons de leur lecture à voix haute, par exemple, pour que les deux parents et l'enseignant l'entendent, et bloguent sur leur apprentissage sur une plateforme sûre à laquelle les parents ont un accès quotidien

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Elle a réussi à encourager une plus grande assiduité en classe avec des améliorations chez tous les élèves et un en particulier qui est passé de 47 à 90 pour cent après une année dans la classe de Denise; les notes en lecture se sont également améliorées, plusieurs élèves passant d'émergents à leur niveau
  • Elle a collaboré avec le professeur de langue crie pour intégrer le vocabulaire cri dans toutes les disciplines du programme, a développé du matériel de manipulation auxquels réagissent les élèves des Premières nations (comme des bâtons plutôt que des pailles) et est en voie de créer une application axée sur la langue et la culture cries
  • Elle accompagne les éducateurs de l'école et des Premières nations à travers la province pour la mise en œuvre de la technologie dans les classes avec les jeunes élèves

Commentaires élogieux

« Dans la culture de Mme Desjardins, il y a l'idée que tout est fait dans un but et que chacun a un don à partager avec les autres. Son dévouement et sa passion pour l'enseignement sont ses dons et elle a la passion de les partager avec sa collectivité. Sa démarche pédagogique change la vie de ses élèves et change assurément leur collectivité. »

Membre des conseils tribaux
Date de modification :