Language selection

Search

Steven David Schultz: taking learning way beyond the classroom

Transcription – Steven David Schultz, Prime Minister's Award recipient

[Black screen fades up to a white background, with the following words appearing, line by line: Prime Minister's Awards. Music playing. Transition to a white and grey screen with medium shot of a man, smiling, on the left side of the screen, with the following words appearing, line by line, on the right and voice over: Steven David Schultz, École Secondaire Lacombe Composite High School, Lacombe, Alberta.]

[Fade to black and then to photos, with voice over. Photos: a group of students and model structures they have built, with Steven and two colleagues; Steven with group of students dressed up as space-age beekeepers, and two colleagues, at an assembly; large group of students posing with handmade green banner reading "Eco Vision" with a hand-painted mural of a tree in the background; Steven and his students holding a large cheque; close up of Steven, smiling, with a group of African students leaning their heads in; students smiling with a group of African students; Steven and students in beekeeping suits in front of hives; Steven and students in beekeeping suits in front of trees; Steven and students dressed formally wearing medals around their necks posing for a photo.]

Steven Schultz started a robotics program 15 years ago that has since involved hundreds of students at 10 schools in Central Alberta. Through his EcoVision environmental projects, students built a tropical greenhouse, established a two-acre garden and launched a composting program—all while developing leadership, communication and innovation skills not possible in the classroom. A partnership with a local college led to the first-of-its-kind high school Green Certificate beekeeping program. Students then went on to launch an urban beekeeping program with municipality.

[Fade to black and then up white and grey screen with medium shot of man, smiling, on the left side of the screen, with the following words appearing, line by line, on the right: Steven David Schultz, École Secondaire Lacombe Composite High School, Lacombe, Alberta. Voice over: Steven David Schultz.]

[Fade to white, with the Government of Canada FIP and then the Canada Wordmark appearing in black.]

Year: 2019 – Province: Alberta

Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Steven David Schultz

General Science, Chemistry, Electro-Technology, Agriculture, Green Certificate
Beekeeping, Mechatronics-Robotics, grades 10–12
École Secondaire Lacombe Composite High School, Lacombe, Alberta

"Steve is helping to shape Lacombe one child at a time. His energy and drive are matched only by his sincere commitment to helping his students."
— President, community environmental association

Steven Schultz started a robotics program 15 years ago, that has since involved hundreds of students at 10 schools. He shares his project-based approach, and STEM and robotics activities, with teachers and students in schools and orphanages around the world.

Teaching approach

A great listener, Steven finds the positive in any situation, encouraging students, regardless of ability, race or gender, to pursue their passions and strengths. Inspired by multiple intelligences theory, he uses project-based learning strategies to help students gain confidence and improve performance.

In the classroom

  • Goes beyond the curriculum with EcoVision environmental projects—building a tropical greenhouse, establishing a two-acre garden and launching a composting program—that allow students to develop leadership, communication and innovation skills not possible in the classroom.
  • Pioneered a robotics team for young people to learn programming, design, mechanics and electronics skills; has led to considerable interest in STEM subjects in central Alberta.
  • Integrates technology to enhance teaching and learning: computer-assisted instruction supplements classroom time in electro-technology and robotics course; Netflix and YouTube videos sustain beekeeping course over the winter, when students can't access the hives.
  • Leads international trips to extend learning: students learned about recycling, biodiversity and Indigenous culture in Costa Rica, and developed lesson plans in Kenya.

Outstanding achievements

  • Secured partnerships with a college leading to mechatronics and robotics program for high school students, and another college to develop the first-of-its-kind high school Green Certificate beekeeping program; students then launched the urban beekeeping program with municipality.
  • Has been part of Science 30 curriculum development team for Alberta Education for 25 years, developing and testing innovative diploma exam questions, and reviewing and marking exams.
  • Classes are continually above provincial averages; less than one percent of students have failed his courses over 25 years, including diploma-level courses in chemistry and science.
  • School named Canada's Greenest School in 2018 (tied for first); robotics team regularly earns spot in world championships; Steven named 2018 Citizen of the Year by local chamber of commerce.
Transcription – Steven David Schultz - 2019 Prime Minister's Award for Teaching Excellence

[Black screen fades up to close-up of man in interview setting, against a white background. Music playing.]

"I became a teacher because of other influences in my life. But also I became a teacher because I believe that I was created to be a teacher. It's a calling on my life."

[Fade to black and then up to white with medium shot of a man, smiling, on the right side of the screen, with the following words appearing, line by line, on the left: Steven David Schultz, École Secondaire Lacombe Composite High School, Lacombe, Alberta. Fade to black and then back to Steven in the interview setting.]

"There are several innovative ideas that I use in my classroom to help students succeed. I think that the most important thing that I do is I allow my students to discover their strengths and their passions."

[Cut to photos, with voice over. Photos: Close up of Steven, smiling, with a group of African students leaning their heads in; school's geodesic dome greenhouse and raised beds; large group of students posing with handmade green banner reading "Eco Vision" with a hand-painted mural of a tree in the background; Steven and students in beekeeping suits in front of hives.]

"Some innovative projects that we've created are the greenhouse, the two-acre gardens, raising honey bees and solitary bees, …"

[Cut back to close-up of Steven in the interview setting.]

"… putting solar panels on the roof of our school. All of them have been led and driven by student interest, student passions, student dreams.

[Cut to black and then back to close-up of Steven in the interview setting.]

"I believe that technology is just a tool. It's not the end-all, be-all, but it is a valuable tool.

[Cut to photos, with voice over. Photos: Steven with group of students dressed up as space-age beekeepers, and two colleagues, at an assembly; a group of students and model structures they have built, with Steven and two colleagues.]

"I think technology provides teachers—and myself—with opportunities, if we can use it effectively. It also increases …"

[Cut back to Steven in the interview setting.]

"… the ability to collaborate effectively with lots of experts around the world. Examples of that is our raised beds. We looked at a sustainability model in Sweden where they use alfalfa hay bales for half the raised bed and then that absorbs water, creates a nutrient bed that provides all the nutrients plants need for up to five years."

[Cut to photos, with voice over. Photos: Steven behind a podium during his presentation to fellow participants in best practices in his classroom; various recipients looking at printed materials during a break in the best practices sessions; Steven and other recipients listening and smiling during a recipient's presentation; Steven with Paul Thompson, Associate Deputy Minister, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, having received his Prime Minister's Awards pin; Steven and other recipients playing around in the Crazy Kitchen at the Canada Science and Technology Museum]

"I've met some remarkable, remarkable other teachers. That I'm not alone, it's really comforting to know that there are other teachers taking big risks and taking chances and making sacrifices. If I could give one message to my students …"

[Cut back to Steven in the interview setting.]

"Don't stop pursuing after your passions and dreams. Seize every single opportunity that you have but don't forget to stop and say 'thank you' and then give back to the people that helped you get there."

[Fade to black, with the Government of Canada FIP and then the Canada Wordmark appearing in white.]

Get in touch!

École Secondaire Lacombe
Composite High School
5628 56 Avenue
Lacombe AB T4L 1G6
403-782-6615
https://elchs.wolfcreek.ab.ca/
https://unitedroboticslacombe.weebly.com
Facebook: @LCHS.FOG

Date modified:

Steven David Schultz : pour que l’apprentissage déborde largement de la classe

Transcription – Steven David Schultz, Lauréate du Prix du premier ministre 2019

[L'écran noir s'ouvre sur un fond blanc et les mots suivants apparaissent, ligne par ligne : Prix du premier ministre (PPM) Son de musique perceptible. Transition vers un écran blanc et gris, avec un plan moyen de la femme, souriante, sur le côté gauche de l'écran, avec les mots suivants apparaissant, ligne par ligne, à droite et voix hors champ : Steven Schultz, École secondaire Lacombe Composite High School, Lacombe (Alberta).]

[Extrait en photos avec voix hors champ. Photos : un groupe d'élèves et des maquettes qu'ils ont construites, avec Steven et deux collègues; Steven avec un groupe d'élèves déguisés en apiculteurs de l'ère spatiale, et deux collègues, lors d'une assemblée; un grand groupe d'élèves posant avec une bannière verte faite main avec la mention « Eco Vision » avec un mur peint à la main représentant un arbre en fond; Steven et ses élèves tenant un grand chèque; gros plan de Steven, souriant, avec un groupe d'élèves africains penchant la tête vers l'intérieur; des élèves souriants avec un groupe d'élèves africains; Steven et des élèves en apiculture devant des ruches; Steven et des élèves en apiculture devant les arbres; Steven et des élèves vêtus d'une médaille autour du cou posant pour une photo.]

Steven Schultz a créé un programme de robotique il y a 15 ans auquel des centaines d'élèves de dix écoles du centre de l'Alberta ont participé depuis. Dans le cadre de ses projets environnementaux EcoVision, ses élèves ont construit une serre tropicale, créé un jardin de 8 000 m² et instauré un programme de compostage, tout en acquérant des qualités de direction, de communication et d'innovation qui ne se développent pas aussi bien en classe. Un partenariat avec un collège de la région a abouti à une première, un programme d'apiculture écologique dans une école secondaire. Les élèves ont par la suite poussé le concept jusqu'à créer un programme d'apiculture urbaine avec la municipalité.

[Transition vers un écran blanc et gris, avec un plan moyen de la femme, souriante, sur le côté gauche de l'écran, avec les mots suivants apparaissant, ligne par ligne, à droite : Steven Schultz, École secondaire Lacombe Composite High School, Lacombe (Alberta). Voix hors champ : Steven Schultz.]
[L'écran redevient blanc, avec le Programme de coordination de l'image de marque (PCIM) du gouvernement du Canada, puis le mot-symbole Canada apparaissant en noir.]

Année : 2019 – Province : Alberta

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'excellence

Steven David Schultz

Sciences générales, chimie, électrotechnologie, agriculture, certificat vert en apiculture,
mécanotronique et robotique, de la 10e à 12e années
École secondaire Lacombe Composite High School, Lacombe (Alberta)

« Steve aide à façonner Lacombe, un enfant à la fois. Son énergie et sa motivation n'ont d'égal que sa sincère détermination à aider ses élèves. »
— Président, association environnementale communautaire

Steven Schultz a démarré un programme de robotique il y a 15 ans et, depuis ce temps, des centaines d'élèves de dix écoles y ont pris part. Il partage son approche par projets, ainsi que ses activités en STIM et robotique, avec des enseignants et des élèves d'écoles et d'orphelinats du monde entier.

Approche pédagogique

Grâce à sa grande capacité d'écoute, Steven trouve du positif dans toutes les situations, encourageant les élèves, quelles que soient leurs aptitudes, leur race ou leur genre, à rechercher leur passion et leurs forces. S'inspirant de la théorie des intelligences multiples, il adopte des stratégies d'apprentissage par projets pour aider les élèves à acquérir de la confiance et à améliorer leur rendement.

En classe

  • Il va plus loin que le programme d'études avec ses projets environnementaux EcoVision—en construisant une serre tropicale, en concevant un jardin de deux acres et en inaugurant un programme de compostage—qui permettent aux élèves de parfaire leurs qualités de chef, leurs aptitudes en communication et en innovation, ce qui ne serait pas possible en classe.
  • Il a mis sur pied une équipe de robotique pour que les jeunes puissent acquérir des compétences en programmation, conception, mécanique et électronique; il a été l'instigateur d'un intérêt marqué pour les matières STIM dans le centre de l'Alberta.
  • Il intègre la technologie afin d'améliorer l'enseignement et l'apprentissage : l'enseignement assisté par ordinateur se fait le complément des heures de classe dans le cours d'électrotechnologie et de robotique; des vidéos sur Netflix et YouTube permettent de poursuivre le cours sur l'apiculture en hiver, quand les élèves n'ont pas accès aux ruches.
  • Il dirige des voyages à l'étranger afin d'élargir l'apprentissage : des élèves en ont appris sur le recyclage, la biodiversité et la culture autochtone au Costa Rica, et il a conçu des plans de leçons au Kenya.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Il a conclu des accords de partenariat avec un collège, ce qui a mené au programme de mécanotronique et de robotique pour les élèves du secondaire, et avec un autre collège afin d'élaborer le tout premier programme de certificat vert en apiculture au secondaire; des élèves ont ensuite lancé le programme d'apiculture en milieu urbain avec la municipalité.
  • Il a fait partie de l'équipe d'élaboration du programme de Science 30 pour le ministère de l'Éducation de l'Alberta pendant 25 ans, en concevant et testant des questions d'examens novateurs menant au diplôme, et en révisant et notant des examens.
  • Ses groupes d'élèves obtiennent constamment des notes supérieures à la moyenne provinciale; moins d'un pour cent de ses élèves ont échoué ses cours pendant 25 ans, y compris des cours menant au diplôme en chimie et en sciences.
  • Son école a remporté le titre d'école la plus verte au Canada en 2018 (ex aequo en première place); l'équipe de la robotique se qualifie régulièrement pour les championnats mondiaux; Steven a été nommé citoyen de l'année 2018 par la Chambre de commerce locale.
Transcription – Steven David Schultz - Prix du Premier ministre 2019 pour l'excellence dans l'enseignement

[Écran noir s'estompe vers un gros plan d'un homme en situation d'entrevue sur fond blanc. Musique de fond.]

« Je suis devenu enseignant en raison d'autres influences dans ma vie. Mais je suis aussi devenu enseignant parce que je crois que j'ai été créé pour être enseignant. C'est un appel. »

[Transition vers le noir puis vers le blanc avec un plan moyen d'un homme, souriant, à la droite de l'écran. À gauche, les mots suivants apparaissant, une ligne à la fois : Steven David Schultz, École Secondaire Lacombe Composite High School, Lacombe, Alberta. Écran noir de transition vers un gros plan de Steven en situation d'entrevue.]

« Il y a de nombreuses idées innovantes que j'utilise dans ma classe pour aider les élèves à réussir. Je crois que la chose la plus importante que je fais, c'est de permettre à mes élèves de découvrir leurs forces et leurs passions, »

[Voix hors-champs avec transition vers une série de photos, comme suit : Gros plan de Steven, souriant, avec un groupe d'élèves africains avançant la tête ; la serre géodésique de l'école et les plates-bandes surélevées ; un grand groupe d'élèves posent avec une bannière verte 'Eco Vision' et une murale peinte à la main avec un arbre, en arrière-plan ; Steven et des élèves en combinaisons d'apiculteurs devant des ruches.]

« Certains projets novateurs que nous avons créés sont la serre, les jardins de deux acres, l'élevage d'abeilles à miel et d'abeille solitaires… »
[Retour à un gros plan de Steven en situation d'entrevue.]

« … mettre des panneaux solaires sur le toit de notre école. Tous ces projets ont été menés par l'intérêt des élèves, les passions des élèves, les rêves des élèves. »
[Écran noir de transition puis retour à un gros plan de Steven en situation d'entrevue.]

« Je crois que la technologie est seulement un outil. Ce n'est pas une fin en soi, mais un outil précieux. »

[Voix hors-champs avec transition vers une série de photos, comme suit : Steven et un groupe d'élèves déguisés en apiculteurs de l'espace et deux collègues lors d'une assemblée ; un groupe d'élèves et des maquettes qu'ils ont construites, avec Steven et deux collègues.]
« Je pense que la technologie offre aux enseignants — et à moi-même — des possibilités, si on sait s'en servir efficacement. Ça augmente aussi… »

[Retour à Steven en situation d'entrevue.]

« … la capacité de collaborer efficacement avec de nombreux experts de partout dans le monde. Un exemple de ça, ce sont nos plates-bandes surélevées. Nous avons regardé un modèle de durabilité en Suède où ils utilisent des balles de foin de luzerne pour la moitié de la plate-bande surélevée, alors ça absorbe l'eau, crée un lit nutritif qui fournit tous les éléments nutritifs dont les plantes ont besoin pendant une période allant jusqu'à cinq ans. »

[Voix hors-champs avec transition vers une série de photos, comme suit : Steven derrière un lutrin pendant sa présentation aux collègues lauréats sur les pratiques exemplaires dans sa salle de classe ; Steven et des lauréates regardent du matériel imprimé pendant une pause lors de la séance sur les pratiques exemplaires ; Steven et d'autres lauréates et lauréats écoutent et sourient pendant la présentation d'un lauréat ; Steven pose avec Paul Thompson, sous-ministre adjoint, Innovation, Science et Développement économique Canada, après avoir reçu son épinglette des Prix du Premier ministre ; Steven et d'autres lauréates et lauréats s'amusent dans la Cuisine bizarre du Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada.]

« J'ai rencontré des enseignants remarquables. Savoir que je ne suis pas seul, c'est vraiment réconfortant de savoir qu'il y a d'autres enseignants qui prennent de gros risques et prennent des chances et font des sacrifices. Si je pouvais transmettre un message à mes élèves… »
[Retour à Steven en situation d'entrevue.]

« N'arrêtez pas de poursuivre vos passions et vos rêves. Saisissez chaque occasion que vous avez, mais n'oubliez pas de vous arrêter pour dire 'Merci' et alors redonner aux gens qui vous ont aidés à arriver là où vous êtes. »

[Transition vers un écran noir avec le PCIM du gouvernement du Canada, suivi du mot-symbole Canada en blanc.]

Communiquez avec nous!

École Secondaire Lacombe Composite High School
5628, 56e Avenue
Lacombe (Alberta) T4L 1G6
403-782-6615
https://elchs.wolfcreek.ab.ca/
https://unitedroboticslacombe.weebly.com
Facebook : @LCHS.FOG

Date de modification :