Lynn Wilkins: inclusion through new and different learning

Transcription – Lynn Wilkins, Prime Minister's Award recipient

[Black screen fades up to a white background, with the following words appearing, line by line: Prime Minister's Awards. Music playing. Transition to a white and grey screen with medium shot of woman, smiling, on the left side of the screen, with the following words appearing, line by line, on the right and voice over: Lynn Wilkins, Courcelette Public School, Toronto, Ontario.]

[Fade to black and then to photos, with voice over. Photos: Lynn and her students wearing safety glasses posing for a photo; Lynn examining, with two students, a cardboard model; Lynn and students posing in star wars costumes in front of a model starship; Lynn cheering on students in a cardboard boat in a swimming pool; Lynn and a student wearing safety glasses looking at a model made of popsicle sticks; Lynn and students building a structure; Lynn and students in class examining a structure students made; Lynn and students using tools to construct a model; Lynn and students posing for a photo; Lynn guiding a student cutting a piece of wood with a saw, while another student watches.]

Taking an inclusive and adaptive approach to ensuring all students have STEM learning opportunities, Lynn Wilkins prompts creativity and risk taking through design thinking. The cross-curricular Mars Mission Project saw Grade 4–8 students from two school form companies, build an online presence, and construct rockets, landers, rovers and scale models of habitats. She tackles math anxiety with MarchMathness, and helped launch a school wellness initiative.

[Fade to black and then up white and grey screen with medium shot of woman, smiling, on the left side of the screen, with the following words appearing, line by line, on the right: Lynn Wilkins, Courcelette Public School, Toronto, Ontario. Voice over: Lynn Wilkins.]

[Fade to white, with the Government of Canada FIP and then the Canada Wordmark appearing in black.]

Year: 2019 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Lynn Wilkins

Science, Language, Math, Geography, Arts, grades 7 and 8
Courcelette Public School, Toronto, Ontario

"Ms. Wilkins is an amazing teacher and role model, and I found she was always pushing us to do our best work. … She's a very passionate person who cares for her students and who is always trying to find new innovative projects for us to do."  — Former student

Having an invisible disability herself, Lynn Wilkins strives to make her classroom as inclusive as possible through universal design for learning and differentiated instruction. Likewise, she takes an inclusive and adaptive approach to ensuring all students have STEM learning opportunities.

Teaching approach

Lynn's teaching is founded on her respect for all students' strengths, needs and interests, and reflects her belief that all students can succeed. She introduces design thinking to prompt creativity and risk taking, making the inevitable but essential failures fun (class activity videos often have a blooper reel).

In the classroom

  • Uses hands-on projects as a focus for differentiated instruction, inquiry and technology integration: cross-curricular Mars Mission Project saw Grade 4–8 students from two school form companies, build an online presence, and construct rockets, landers, rovers and scale models of habitats.
  • Created online space with assignment outlines, success criteria, lesson materials, exemplars and videos to enhance engagement and let students work and review at their own pace.
  • Provides numerous opportunities for students to show their work: they create commercials featuring a rocket or robot they built, construct small or large group wikis to explain, share and generate ideas, and write blogs, video blogs and webpages to communicate their learning.
  • Introduces extra-curricular opportunities for students to further test their learning: first-time school entries in provincial cardboard boat and video challenge involved students developing, improving and testing designs, while peers created shorted videos about the process.

Outstanding achievements

  • Designed classroom and school electronic surveys to gauge student knowledge gaps, needs and emotions (including math anxiety); responses drove a school improvement plan, tailored professional development, and prompted MarchMathness and school wellness initiative.
  • Leader within her school: works with administrators, teachers and students to foster strong school learning community, address diverse students needs and create positive school atmosphere; spearheading school focus on universal design for learning.
  • Plays provincial role in curriculum consultations, resource writing and teaching; looks to the next generation of educators, though work with education faculties around the province; supports Ontario and international educators through webinars and classroom visits.
Transcription – Lynn Wilkins - 2019 Prime Minister's Award for Teaching Excellence

[Black screen fades up to medium shot of woman in interview setting, against a white background. Music playing.]

"A lot of teachers here have talked about how it was a calling, and it almost is. You kind of don't realize that you want to be teacher, I think, until you are a teacher.

[Fade to black and then back up to white with a medium shot of a woman, smiling, on the right side of the screen, with the following words appearing, line by line, on the left: Lynn Wilkins, Courcelette Public School, Toronto, Ontario. Fade to black and then up to Lynn in the interview setting.]

"I would say the main factor that contributes to student success in the classroom is creating an environment that students want to come to class. They're excited to come to class.

[Jump to close up of Lynn in the interview setting.]

"I think it comes down to relationships with your students. They know that you care about them, that you're happy to see them and that you make sure that what you're teaching and what you're doing is reflected from them. Their voice is heard and they know that their interests, their concerns, their wants and needs are being considered when you're addressing the program."

[Fade to black and then back to Lynn in the interview setting.]

"Something I'm really proud of in my classroom is probably the way I've designed the project-based learning."

[Cut to photos, with voice over. Photos: Lynn recording two students dressed up as Star Wars characters in front of a green screen; Lynn examining, with two students, a cardboard model; Lynn guiding a student cutting a piece of wood with a saw, while another student watches.]

"Students are willing to take risks. I try to make the inevitable failures essential and fun to their learning."

[Cut to back to Lynn in the interview setting.]

"And how I do that is ensuring that students always have a chance to improve. They have a chance to try something again. They have a chance to take a risk and know that it's okay if it doesn't work."

[Cut to photos, with voice over. Photos: Students wearing protective glasses assemble a wooden and aluminum structure; Lynn looks at something a student while other students work with wood.]

"That is probably the thing that I'm most proud of."

[Fade to black and then to photos, with voice over. Photos: Lynn with Paul Thompson, Associate Deputy Minister, Innovation, Science and Economic Development, having received her Prime Minister's Awards pin; Lynn with her husband and sons in front of the Prime Minister's Awards program banner; two photos of Lynn speaking at a podium to her fellow recipients.]

"It's been an amazing experience for me. And, I know I'm very grateful to the people that have nominated me. I'm grateful for the people that wrote the letters …

[Cut back to Lynn in the interview setting.]

"… and I'm so grateful for my students who supported me and believed in me enough that I could get this."

[Fade to black and then back to Lynn in the interview setting.]

"Always be curious. Don't stop learning. Be curious, be curious with your students. I don't think there is a better role model for students than a teacher who is willing to learn with them, learn beside them and take the same risks that we're expecting those students to take."

[Fade to black, with the Government of Canada FIP and then the Canada Wordmark appearing in white.]

Get in touch!

Courcelette Public School
100 Fallingbrook Rd
Scarborough ON M1N 2T6
416-396-6185
Courcelette@tdsb.on.ca
https://schoolweb.tdsb.on.ca/courcelette/Home/portalid/2480

Date modified:

Lynn Wilkins : l’inclusion grâce à des possibilités d’apprentissage nouvelles et différentes

Transcription – Lynn Wilkins, Lauréate du Prix du premier ministre

[L'écran noir s'ouvre sur un fond blanc et les mots suivants apparaissent, ligne par ligne : Prix du premier ministre (PPM) Son de musique perceptible. Transition vers un écran blanc et gris, avec un plan moyen de la femme, souriante, sur le côté gauche de l'écran, avec les mots suivants apparaissant, ligne par ligne, à droite et voix hors champ : Lynn Wilkins, Courcelette Public School, Toronto (Ontario).]

[Extrait en photos avec voix hors champ. Photos : Lynn et ses élèves portant des lunettes de sécurité posant pour une photo; Lynn examinant, avec deux élèves, une maquette en carton; Lynn et des élèves posant en costumes de guerre des étoiles devant un vaisseau modèle; Lynn encourageant des élèves dans un bateau en carton dans une piscine; Lynn et un élève portant des lunettes de sécurité regardant un modèle fait avec des bâtons de popsicle; Lynn et les élèves construisant une structure; Lynn et les élèves en classe examinant une structure fabriquée par les élèves; Lynn et les élèves utilisant des outils pour construire un modèle; Lynn et les élèves qui posant pour une photo; Lynn guidant un élève qui coupe un morceau de bois avec une scie, pendant qu'un autre élève regarde la scène.]

Prenant la peine d'adapter sa façon d'enseigner la science, la technologie, l'ingénierie et les mathématiques pour inclure les élèves de tous les horizons, Lynn Wilkins encourage la créativité et la prise de risques au moyen de la pensée conceptuelle. Grâce à elle, les échecs, inévitables, mais essentiels, deviennent amusants. Les vidéos produites pour ses activités en classe contiennent d'ailleurs souvent un bêtisier! Elle prône une pédagogie différenciée prenant la forme de projets pratiques, qui intègrent également de la recherche d'information et des technologies. Le projet de compétences transversales Mars Mission a été une occasion pour des élèves de la 4e à la 8e année de deux écoles de former des entreprises, de s'implanter sur le Web et de construire des fusées, des modules atterrisseurs, des astromobiles et des maquettes d'habitats à l'échelle. Lynn s'attaque à l'anxiété causée par les mathématiques grâce à MarchMathness et a contribué à l'instauration d'un projet de bien-être à l'école.

[Transition vers un écran blanc et gris, avec un plan moyen de la femme, souriante, sur le côté gauche de l'écran, avec les mots suivants apparaissant, ligne par ligne, à droite : Lynn Wilkins, Courcelette Public School, Toronto (Ontario). Voix hors champ : Lynn Wilkins.]

[L'écran redevient blanc, avec le Programme de coordination de l'image de marque (PCIM) du gouvernement du Canada, puis le mot-symbole Canada apparaissant en noir.]

Année : 2019 – Province: Ontario

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'excellence

Lynn Wilkins

Sciences, langue, mathématiques, géographie, arts, 7e et 8e années
Courcelette Public School, Toronto (Ontario)

« Mme Wilkins est une enseignante incroyable et un modèle à suivre, et j'ai trouvé qu'elle nous encourageait toujours à donner le meilleur de nous-mêmes… C'est une personne très passionnée, qui se soucie de ses élèves et qui essaie toujours de trouver de nouveaux projets novateurs à nous faire faire. »  — Ancien élève

Ayant elle-même un handicap invisible, Lynn Wilkins essaie de rendre sa classe aussi inclusive qu'elle le peut grâce à la conception universelle de l'apprentissage et de la pédagogie différenciée. De même, elle adopte une approche inclusive et adaptative pour s'assurer que tous les élèves ont des possibilités d'apprendre les STIM.

Approche pédagogique

L'enseignement de Lynn repose sur le respect des forces, des besoins et des intérêts de tous les élèves et il reflète bien sa conviction que tous les élèves peuvent réussir. Elle présente la réflexion conceptuelle afin de stimuler la créativité et la prise de risques, en faisant en sorte que les échecs inévitables, mais essentiels, soient amusants (les vidéos sur les activités en classe comportent souvent une séquence sur les faits cocasses).

En classe

  • Elle se sert de projets pratiques pour se concentrer sur l'enseignement différencié et intégrer la recherche et la technologie : dans le projet transdisciplinaire Mars Mission, des élèves de la 4e à la 8e années de deux écoles ont créé des entreprises, établi leur présence en ligne et construit des fusées, des modules atterrisseurs, des minirobots mobiles et des maquettes d'habitats.
  • Elle a créé un espace en ligne comportant la description des tâches, les critères de réussite, les documents de ses leçons, des exemplaires et des vidéos afin de rehausser l'engagement et de laisser les élèves travailler et réviser à leur rythme.
  • Elle offre aux élèves plusieurs occasions de présenter leur travail : ils créent des messages publicitaires pour présenter une fusée ou un robot qu'ils ont construit, ils créent des wikis en petit ou grand groupe pour expliquer, partager et susciter des idées, rédiger des blogues, des blogues vidéo et des pages Web afin de transmettre ce qu'ils ont appris.
  • Elle inclut des possibilités d'apprentissage parascolaire pour que les élèves puissent tester encore plus ce qu'ils ont appris : lors de la première inscription de l'école au défi provincial de bateaux en carton et de vidéos, des élèves ont élaboré, amélioré et mis à l'essai leur conception, tandis que leurs pairs créaient de courtes vidéos sur le processus.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Elle a conçu des sondages électroniques pour la classe et l'école afin d'évaluer les lacunes dans les connaissances des élèves, leurs besoins et leurs émotions (y compris l'angoisse des mathématiques); les réponses ont servi à rédiger un plan d'amélioration de l'école, à personnaliser le perfectionnement professionnel et à lancer les initiatives MarchMathness et sur le mieux-être à l'école.
  • Elle est un chef de file dans son école : elle collaborer avec les administrateurs, les enseignants et les élèves afin de promouvoir une solide communauté d'apprentissage, de répondre aux besoins diversifiés des élèves et de créer une ambiance positive dans l'école; elle dirige l'orientation de l'école vers la conception universelle de manière à favoriser l'apprentissage.
  • Elle joue un rôle capital à l'échelle provinciale pendant les consultations sur le programme d'études, la rédaction des ressources et l'enseignement; elle se tourne vers la prochaine génération d'éducateurs, en travaillant avec des facultés de l'éducation de la province; elle apporte son aide à des éducateurs ontariens et étrangers grâce à des webinaires et à des visites en classe.
Transcription – Lynn Wilkins - Prix du Premier ministre 2019 pour l'excellence dans l'enseignement

[Écran noir s'estompe vers un gros plan d'une femme en situation d'entrevue sur fond blanc. Musique de fond.]

« Plusieurs enseignants ici ont parlé d'un appel, et c'est presque ça. C'est comme si vous ne vous rendiez pas compte que vous voulez être enseignant, je pense, jusqu'à ce que vous soyez enseignant.»

[Transition vers le noir puis vers le blanc avec un plan moyen d'homme, souriant, à la droite de l'écran. À gauche, les mots suivants apparaissant, une ligne à la fois : Lynn Wilkins, Courcelette Public School, Toronto, Ontario. Écran noir de transition vers un gros plan de Lynn en situation d'entrevue.]
« Je dirais que le facteur numéro un qui contribue au succès des élèves en classe est de créer un environnement où les élèves veulent venir en classe. Ils sont excités de venir en classe. »

[Transition vers un gros plan de Lynn en situation d'entrevue.]

« Je pense que ça revient à des relations avec vos élèves. Ils savent que vous vous souciez d'eux, que vous êtes heureux de les voir et que vous vous assurez que ce que vous enseignez et ce que vous faites sont leur reflet. Leurs voix sont entendues et ils savent que leurs intérêts, leurs préoccupations, leurs volontés et leurs besoins sont pris en considération quand vous vous penchez sur le programme. »

[Écran noir de transition et retour à Lynn en situation d'entrevue.]

« Une chose dont je suis vraiment fière dans ma salle de classe, c'est probablement la façon dont j'ai élaboré l'apprentissage par projet. »

[Voix hors-champs avec transition vers une série de photos, comme suit : Lynn filme deux élèves habillés en personnages de Star Wars devant un écran vert ; Lynn examine, avec deux élèves, une maquette en carton ; Lynn guide un élève qui coupe un morceau de bois avec une scie, pendant qu'une autre élève observe.]

« Les élèves veulent prendre des risques. J'essaie de rendre les échecs inévitables essentiels et amusants pour leur apprentissage. »

[Retour à Lynn en situation d'entrevue.]

« Et je fais ça en m'assurant que les élèves ont toujours une chance de s'améliorer. Ils ont une chance d'essayer à nouveau. Ils ont une chance de prendre un risque et savent que c'est correct si ça ne marche pas.

[Voix hors-champs avec transition vers une série de photos, comme suit : Des élèves portant des lunettes de protection assemblent une structure en bois et aluminium ; Lynn regarde un assemblage fait par une élève pendant que d'autres élèves travaillent le bois.]

« C'est probablement la chose dont je suis la plus fière. »

[Voix hors-champs avec transition vers une série de photos, comme suit : Lynn et Paul Thompson, sous-ministre adjoint, Innovation, Science et Développement économique, après avoir reçu son épinglette des Prix du Premier ministre ; Lynn, son mari et leurs fils devant la bannière du programme des Prix du Premier ministre ; deux photos de Lynn qui parle au lutrin devant les autres lauréates et lauréats.]

« Ça a été une expérience incroyable pour moi. Et je sais que je suis très reconnaissante envers les personnes qui m'ont nommée. Je suis reconnaissante envers les gens qui ont écrit ces lettres… »
[Retour à Lynn en situation d'entrevue.]

« … et je suis tellement reconnaissante envers mes élèves qui m'ont soutenue et ont cru en moi suffisamment pour que je puisse avoir ça. »

[Fondu au noir et retour à Lynn en situation d'entrevue.]

« Soyez toujours curieux. N'arrêtez pas d'apprendre. Soyez curieux. Soyez curieux avec vos élèves. Je ne pense pas qu'il y a un meilleur modèle pour les élèves qu'un enseignant qui veut apprendre avec eux, apprendre à leurs côtés et prenez les mêmes risques que nous voulons que les élèves prennent. »

[Transition vers un écran noir avec le PCIM du gouvernement du Canada, suivi du mot-symbole Canada en blanc.]

Communiquez avec nous!

Courcelette Public School
100, chemin Fallingbrook
Scarborough (Ontario) M1N 2T6
416-396-6185
Courcelette@tdsb.on.ca
https://schoolweb.tdsb.on.ca/courcelette/Home/portalid/2480

Date de modification :