Frances Ann Squire: literacy for lifelong learning

Transcription – Frances Ann Squire, Prime Minister's Award recipient

[Black screen fades up to a white background, with the following words appearing, line by line: Prime Minister's Awards. Music playing. Fade to black and then up white and grey screen with medium shot of woman, smiling, on the left side of the screen, with the following words appearing, line by line, on the right and voice over: Frances Ann Squire, Birchwood Intermediate School, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island.]

[Fade to black and then to photos, with voice over. Photos: Frances using a soldering gun to connect a wire; four students sitting at a table looking at laptops; five students standing in a line being interviewed in a news studio; students sitting on the ground in a circle listening to a presentation; four students sitting at a table doing group work; students standing in front of the classroom reading from scripts; students standing and sitting watching a clay demonstration; students sitting in a lounge area playing games; a close up of a student making a "stop racism" poster; two students sitting at desks working with wires and a laptop; a student crouching on the ground, connecting tiles and wires to a laptop; a class of students sitting a desks with laptops.]

Frances Ann Squire stresses creative and digital literacy in her classroom. Students learn to locate, evaluate, use, create and share information responsibly, and make films and podcasts. They virtually followed a climbing expedition and have judged virtual debates by their middle school peers. Integrating human rights education into language arts, students create commercials, run events, fundraise and volunteer for local community organizations. They have also produced award-winning videos on racism. Members of her video game development club have received post-secondary scholarships. Her Maker and Minecraft club regularly draws more than 50 students.

[Fade to black and then up white and grey screen with medium shot of woman, smiling, on the left side of the screen, with the following words appearing, line by line, on the right: Frances Ann Squire, Birchwood Intermediate School, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island. Voice over: Frances Ann Squire.]

[Fade to white, with the Government of Canada FIP and then the Canada Wordmark appearing in black.]

Year: 2019 – Province: Prince Edward Island

Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Frances Ann Squire

Language arts, grade 9
Birchwood Intermediate School, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

"I am always excited to go into her class because seeing how enthusiastic she is to teach makes me excited to learn. I admire her vivacious spirit and caring nature. It is apparent to me that our growth is success in her eyes. Ms. Squire is an outstanding teacher."  — Student

Through her creative and collaborative style, Frances Squire awakens a love and thirst for knowledge in her students. They are enriched by her passion for learning new technologies and creative pursuits. Indeed, she has written two-award-winning children's books, and is a published poet and author.

Teaching approach

Frances emphasizes student choice, hands-on and creative activities, collaboration in her classroom, and gives students opportunities to engage with and learn from community partners. To foster success, she builds a fun, caring, inclusive environment so students feel valued and respected.

In the classroom

  • Stresses creative and digital literacy for personal growth and lifelong learning: students learn to locate, evaluate, use, create and share information responsibly, and make films and podcasts; used technology to virtually follow a climbing expedition and judged virtual middle-school debates.
  • Improved grade 7 and 9 students' writing and reading comprehension: coordinated free, after-school writing program for students, matching them one-on-one or in small groups with pre-service teachers; supports students' participation in Island Literary Awards, with several winning prizes.
  • Instils altruism, sense of social responsibility and global citizenship in students, integrating human rights education into language arts: students create commercials, run events, fundraise and volunteer for local community organizations, and have produced award-winning videos on racism.
  • Takes cross-curricular approach to learning: students researched the history of art through the ages, then focus on one period and one artist to produce a work in that person's style to create a visual timeline; the finished pieces were exhibited at the Confederation Centre of the Arts.

Outstanding achievements

  • Developed several very successful—and popular—after-school programs: video game development club members have received post-secondary scholarships for game and art design; Maker and Minecraft club regularly draws more than 50 students.
  • Co-founded International Virtual Poetry Summit with U.S. educators, featuring celebrity guests and students from around the world; hosts gatherings at a Charlottetown café for students to share their poetry with the public; students collaborate with U.S. peers on online poetry collections.
  • Launched, with two students, the Micro-Library Mobile: students collect, sort and distribute donated books to micro-libraries; recognized by city for community service and promoting literacy.
Transcription – Frances Ann Squire - 2019 Prime Minister's Award for Teaching Excellence

[Black screen fades up to close-up of woman in interview setting, against a white background. Music playing.]

"I think the number one factor that contributes to student success is the connection that the student makes with the teacher."

[Fade to black and then up to white with medium shot of a woman, smiling, on the right side of the screen, with the following words appearing, line by line, on the left: Frances Ann Squire, Birchwood Intermediate School, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island. Fade to black and then up to Frances in the interview setting.]

"I think I do a really great job in integrating arts and technology in the curriculum and make it engaging for the students. The projects I do, I plan really well."

[Cut to photos with voice over. Photos: Students working with circuits at their laptops; four students at a table reviewing texts on their laptops; students watching a demonstration of clay modelling.]

"And I give the students a lot of choice, a lot of flexibility…"

[Cut back to Frances in the interview setting.]

"And, I have the curriculum ideas down and then they take it and run with it."

[Cut to black and then back to Frances in the interview setting.]

"I'm a little nerdy. I like to read. I like to write and I'm a bit of an introvert. And, I found it really hard to fit in into the mainstream. And, I had a teacher when I was in Grade 9, who said to me, 'to take that and go with it and one day you're going to make a difference.' It's hard to say that without … 'You're going to make a difference. That personality. There are students that you're going to work with who need people like you.'"

[Cut to photos, with voice over. Photos: Frances with all the recipients of the Prime Minister's Award for Teaching Excellence on Parliament Hill; Frances with her fellow recipients at the Canada Science and Technology Museum; Frances with Paul Thompson, Associate Deputy Minister, Innovation, Science and Economic Development, having received her Prime Minister's Awards pin; Frances gesturing behind a podium during her presentation to fellow recipients on best practices in her classroom; various recipients looking at printed materials during a break in the best practices sessions; long shot of Frances gesturing behind the podium during her presentation.]

[Cut back to medium shot of Frances in the interview setting.]

"This is quite an honour and a privilege, and I'm humbled. What I really love about this program is the opportunity to come to our capital and to meet with other educators from across the country."

[Cut back to interview setting.]

"This program provides an opportunity for other educators to connect, to network from coast to coast. That's a wonderful thing."

[Cut to photos, with voice over. Photos: Long shot of recipients seated around a u-shaped table listening to a presentation by a fellow recipients at the podium, with images on the screen; Frances and another recipient smiling during a presentation.]

"We attended sessions. The presentations were phenomenal …"

[Cut back to Frances in the interview setting.]

"… and I have so many skills and tools I can take back to my colleagues and to share what's happening across the country."

[Fade to black and then back to Frances in the interview setting.]

"Sometimes, when we go into the classroom, the teacher is the leader, but I think the teacher is also the student in the room. I think that's really important that a student-teacher would allow the students to lead."

[Fade to black, with the Government of Canada FIP and then the Canada Wordmark appearing in white.]

Get in touch!

Birchwood Intermediate School
49 Longworth Avenue
Charlottetown PE C1A 5A6
902-368-6870
https://edu.princeedwardisland.ca/birchwood/
Twitter: @BirchwoodCobras

Date modified:

Frances Ann Squire : la littératie, pour apprendre toute la vie

Transcription – Frances Ann Squire, Lauréate du Prix du premier ministre

[L'écran noir s'ouvre sur un fond blanc et les mots suivants apparaissent, ligne par ligne : Prix du premier ministre (PPM) Son de musique perceptible. Transition vers un écran blanc et gris, avec un plan moyen de la femme, souriante, sur le côté gauche de l'écran, avec les mots suivants apparaissant, ligne par ligne, à droite et voix hors champ : Frances Squire, Birchwood Intermediate School, Charlottetown (Île-du-Prince-Édouard).]

[Extrait en photos avec voix hors champ. Photos : Frances utilisant un pistolet à souder pour raccorder un fil; quatre élèves assis à une table regardant des ordinateurs portables; cinq élèves debout en ligne interviewés dans un studio de nouvelles; des élèves assis par terre en cercle écoutant une présentation; quatre élèves assis à une table faisant du travail de groupe; des élèves debout devant la classe lisant des textes; des élèves assis et debout à regarder une démonstration d'argile; des élèves assis dans un salon en train de jouer à des jeux; un élève en train de produire une affiche «  Stop au racisme  »; deux élèves assis à des bureaux travaillant avec des fils et un ordinateur portable; un élève accroupi sur le sol, reliant des tuiles et des fils à un ordinateur portable; une classe d'élèves assis sur un bureau avec un ordinateur portable.]

Frances Squire met la créativité et la maîtrise du numérique au centre de sa classe. Les élèves apprennent à trouver, évaluer, utiliser, créer et communiquer de l'information de manière responsable et à produire des films et baladodiffusions. Ils ont suivi par voie virtuelle une expédition d'escalade et ont jugé les débats virtuels de leurs camarades d'école. Ils créent des annonces, organisent des événements, font des collectes de fonds et se portent bénévoles pour les organisations communautaires locales, ce qui enrichit les cours de langue en intégrant l'éducation aux droits de la personne. Ils ont aussi produit des vidéos primées sur le racisme. Les membres du club de développement de jeux vidéo de Frances ont reçu des bourses d'études postsecondaires alors qu'ils étaient encore au secondaire. Son club Maker and Minecraft attire régulièrement plus de 50 élèves.

[Transition vers un écran blanc et gris, avec un plan moyen de la femme, souriante, sur le côté gauche de l'écran, avec les mots suivants apparaissant, ligne par ligne, à droite : Frances Squire, Birchwood Intermediate School, Charlottetown (Île-du-Prince-Édouard). Voix hors champ : Frances Squire.]

[L'écran redevient blanc, avec le Programme de coordination de l'image de marque (PCIM) du gouvernement du Canada, puis le mot-symbole Canada apparaissant en noir.]

Année : 2019 – Province : Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'excellence

Frances Ann Squire

Arts du langage, 9e année
Birchwood Intermediate School, Charlottetown (Île-du-Prince-Édouard)

« J'ai toujours hâte d'aller à son cours parce que son enthousiasme à enseigner me donne le goût d'apprendre. J'admire sa vivacité d'esprit et sa nature bienveillante. Il est évident pour moi que notre croissance est une réussite à ses yeux. Mme Squire est une enseignante extraordinaire. »  — Élève

Grâce à son style faisant appel à la créativité et à la collaboration, Frances Squire éveille l'amour et la soif de connaissances chez ses élèves. Elle les enrichit de sa passion pour l'apprentissage des nouvelles technologies et de sa quête d'activités artistiques. En fait, elle a rédigé deux livres pour enfants primés et elle est une poète et une auteure dont les œuvres ont été publiées.

Approche pédagogique

Frances insiste sur le choix des élèves, sur les activités pratiques et créatives, sur la collaboration dans sa classe et elle donne aux élèves des occasions de s'engager auprès des partenaires communautaires et d'en apprendre d'eux. Afin de promouvoir la réussite, elle crée un milieu amusant, bienveillant et inclusif, où les élèves se sentent appréciés et respectés.

En classe

  • Elle insiste sur la littératie créative et numérique pour la croissance personnelle et l'apprentissage continu : les élèves apprennent à repérer, évaluer, utiliser, créer et partager de l'information de manière responsable, et à réaliser des films et des balados; elle s'est servi de la technologie pour suivre de façon virtuelle une expédition d'alpinisme et elle a jugé des débats virtuels d'une école intermédiaire.
  • Elle a amélioré la compréhension de la lecture et de l'écriture des élèves de 7e et 9e années : elle a coordonné un programme parascolaire d'écriture gratuit pour les élèves, en les regroupant deux par deux ou en petits groupes avec des enseignants stagiaires; elle favorise la participation des élèves aux prix littéraires de l'Île, et ses élèves ont remporté plusieurs prix.
  • Elle inculque l'altruisme, le sens de la responsabilité sociale et de la citoyenneté mondiale à ses élèves, en intégrant la formation en droits de la personne dans les arts du langage : les élèves créent des messages publicitaires, organisent des événements, amassent des fonds, se portent volontaires pour des organismes communautaires locaux et produisent des vidéos primées sur le racisme.
  • Elle adopte une approche transdisciplinaire de l'apprentissage : des élèves ont fait des recherches sur l'histoire de l'art à travers les âges, avant de se concentrer sur une période et un artiste afin de produire une œuvre qui représente le style de cette personne et de créer une frise chronologique visuelle; les œuvres finies ont été exposées au Centre des arts de la Confédération.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Elle a élaboré plusieurs programmes parascolaires populaires qui ont remporté beaucoup de succès : des membres du club de développement de jeux vidéo ont obtenu des bourses d'études postsecondaires pour la conception graphique et de jeux; le club Maker and Minecraft attire régulièrement une cinquantaine d'élèves.
  • Elle a été la cofondatrice du sommet virtuel international de poésie avec des éducateurs des États-Unis, mettant en vedette des invités célèbres et des élèves du monde entier; elle organise des rencontres au Charlottetown café où les élèves peuvent présenter leur poésie au public; des élèves collaborent avec des pairs américains à des collections de poésie en ligne.
  • Avec deux élèves, elle a inauguré la Micro-Library Mobile : des élèves recueillent, trient et distribuent des livres qui ont été donnés à des microbibliothèques; la Ville l'a récompensé pour son service à la communauté et sa promotion de la littératie.
Transcription – Frances Ann Squire - Prix du premier ministre 2019 pour l'excellence dans l'enseignement

[Écran noir s'estompe vers un gros plan d'une femme en situation d'entrevue sur fond blanc. Musique de fond.]

« Je crois que le facteur numéro un qui contribue au succès des élèves est le lien que l'élève établit avec l'enseignant.»

[Transition vers le noir puis vers le blanc avec un plan moyen d'homme, souriant, à la droite de l'écran. À gauche, les mots suivants apparaissant, une ligne à la fois : Frances Ann Squire, Birchwood Intermediate School, Charlottetown, (Île-du-Prince-Édouard). Écran noir de transition vers un gros plan de Frances en situation d'entrevue.]

« Je crois que je fais un très bon travail d'intégration des arts et de la technologie dans le cursus et que je le rends attrayant pour les élèves. Les projets que je fais, je les planifie très bien. »

[Voix hors-champs avec transition vers une série de photos, comme suit : Des élèves travaillent avec des circuits sur leurs ordinateurs portables ; quatre élèves à une table révisent des textes sur leurs ordinateurs portables ; des élèves regardent une démonstration de modelage d'argile.]
« Et je donne aux élèves beaucoup de choix, beaucoup de flexibilité… »

[Retour à Frances en situation d'entrevue.]

« Et, je présente les idées pour le cursus et ils le prennent et s'en servent. »

[Écran noir de transition et retour à Frances en situation d'entrevue.]

« Je suis un peu bizarre. J'aime lire. J'aime écrire et je suis un peu introvertie. Et je trouve ça très difficile de m'intégrer dans le courant dominant. Et j'ai eu un enseignant en 9e année qui m'a dit 'de prendre ça et de m'en servir et un jour tu feras une différence.' C'est difficile de dire ça sans… 'Tu feras une différence. Cette personnalité. Il y a des élèves avec qui tu vas travailler et qui ont besoin de gens comme toi.' »

[Voix hors-champs avec transition vers une série de photos, comme suit : Frances et d'autres lauréates et lauréats au Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada ; Frances et les autres lauréates et lauréats des Prix du Premier ministre pour l'excellence en enseignement sur la colline du Parlement ; Frances et Paul Thompson, sous-ministre adjoint, Innovation, Science et Développement économique, après avoir reçu son épinglette des Prix du Premier ministre ; Frances fait un geste derrière un lutrin pendant sa présentation aux collègues lauréats sur les pratiques exemplaires dans sa salle de classe ; différents lauréats regardent du matériel imprimé pendant une pause lors de la séance sur les pratiques exemplaires ; plan éloigné de Frances fait des gestes derrière un lutrin pendant sa présentation.]

[Retour à Frances en situation d'entrevue.]

« C'est tout un honneur et un privilège, et je suis humble. Ce que j'aime vraiment de ce programme, c'est l'occasion de venir dans notre capitale et de rencontrer d'autres éducateurs de partout au pays. »

[Retour à Frances en situation d'entrevue.]

« Ce programme donne une occasion à d'autres éducateurs de tisser des liens, de réseauter d'un océan à l'autre. C'est merveilleux. »

[Voix hors-champs avec transition vers une série de photos, comme suit : Plan éloigné de lauréates et lauréats assis autour d'une table en U écoutant la présentation d'un autre lauréat au lutrin, avec des images à l'écran ; Frances et un autre lauréat sourient pendant une présentation.]

« Nous avons assisté à des séances. Les présentations étaient phénoménales… »

[Retour à Frances en situation d'entrevue.]

« … et j'ai tellement de compétences et d'outils à rapporter à mes collègues et partager ce qui se passe à travers le pays. »

[Écran noir de transition puis retour à Frances en situation d'entrevue.]

« Parfois, quand nous allons en salle de classe, l'enseignant est le dirigeant, mais je pense que l'enseignant est aussi l'élève dans la salle. Je pense que c'est vraiment important que l'élève-enseignant permette aux élèves de diriger. »

[Transition vers un écran noir avec le PCIM du gouvernement du Canada, suivi du mot-symbole Canada en blanc.]

Communiquez avec nous!

Birchwood Intermediate School
49, avenue Longworth
Charlottetown (Île-du-Prince-Édouard) C1A 5A6
902-368-6870
https://edu.princeedwardisland.ca/birchwood/
Twitter: @BirchwoodCobras

Date de modification :