Karen Kennedy-Allin: caring for students so that they care

Transcription – Karen Kennedy-Allin, Prime Minister's Award recipient

[Black screen fades up to a white background, with the following words appearing, line by line: Prime Minister's Awards. Music playing. Transition to a white and grey screen with medium shot of woman, smiling, on the left side of the screen, with the following words appearing, line by line, on the right and voice over: Karen Kennedy-Allin, Weyburn Comprehensive School, Weyburn, Saskatchewan.]

[Fade to black and then to photos, with voice over. Photos: Karen posing behind a computer; four students with paper signs and Karen pointing to one that reads "NADPH"; Karen looking at a computer screen with two students; Karen teaching in front of the classroom; Karen surrounded by students holding up paper signs with words such as "sunlight," "Chlorophyll" and "C02" written on them; Karen standing in the centre of a half-circle of seated students demonstrating a concept with small weights suspended with string; A large group of students in a wooded areas with Karen pointing to a tree with a long stick; Karen in a wooded area, smiling with a long stick over her shoulder and a clipboard in her hand, with a group of four students in the background; a close up of Karen teaching in front of the class; a close up of Karen in a wooded area, smiling with a long stick over her shoulder and a clipboard in her hand.]

Karen Kennedy-Allin's primary directive is that students will not care until they know you care. She shows she cares by adapting her teaching to meet student needs. Students can review video lessons at their own pace. She even produced 10 original video lessons for students to do at home. This leaves physics class time free for inquiry-based activities, like launching marshmallows with catapults. She uses both high-tech gear and whiteboards in her class. Her merry-go-round problem-solving exercise sees students make a circuit of eight whiteboard stations, tackling a new problem at each stop.

[Fade to black and then up white and grey screen with medium shot of woman, smiling, on the left side of the screen, with the following words appearing, line by line, on the right: Karen Kennedy-Allin, Weyburn Comprehensive School, Weyburn, Saskatchewan. Voice over: Karen Kennedy-Allin.]

[Fade to white, with the Government of Canada FIP and then the Canada Wordmark appearing in black.]

Year: 2019 – Province: Saskatchewan

Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Karen Kennedy-Allin

Physics 30, Biology 30 and Environmental Science 20
Weyburn Comprehensive School, Weyburn, Saskatchewan

"Mrs. Allin to us was more than just a teacher. She is a true inspiration of an extraordinary human being. … [She] never gave up on [our son]. She pushed him above and beyond his limits and expectations and occasionally pushed us as well."  — Parents of former student

Even after 25-plus years of teaching, Karen Kennedy-Allin works tirelessly to improve her classes, being of the view that every semester is an opportunity for growth and change. As president of the regional teacher's association, she also supports teachers from across grade levels and disciplines.

Teaching approach

Karen's primary directive is that students will not care until they know you care. She ensures that the students who need the biggest challenges to stay engaged get them, and that those who can only handle smaller ones get what they need. All the while, she strives to give young adults independence.

In the classroom

  • Adapts to various learning styles: students review video lessons at their own pace; she makes class notes available, since some students don't benefit from taking them; produced 10 video lessons for students to do at home so physics class time is free for inquiry-based activities.
  • Emphasizes formative evaluation to student understanding prior to formal assessments; these techniques (e.g. open book assignments, short quizzes) give students feedback so they can improve; students work in groups to discuss practise test answers.
  • Uses both high-tech gear (e.g. probeware and online simulators) and whiteboards: groups of students prepare quick summaries of concepts on the latter to share with the class; merry-go-round problem solving sees students make a circuit of eight stations, each with a problem to solve.
  • Stresses importance of hands-on projects to prompt innovative thinking and learning through trial and error: students launch marshmallows with catapults they have designed, gather data on trajectory, and two days later must be able hit a target in three tries.

Outstanding achievements

  • Conducts student survey at the end of every semester and strives to take into account the constructive feedback the results contain to improve her courses for the next semester.
  • Created school's health and anatomy symposium: students create displays with information on the structure and function of a human organ and how to keep it healthy; the event features interactive learning activities, and parents, the media and the public are invited to attend.
  • Wrote the new Physics 30 curriculum with three other Saskatchewan educators; creates lessons and projects for senior science classes that are shared with all teachers in the province.
  • Received Canadian Association of Physicists Award of teaching excellence in 2017.
Transcription – Karen Kennedy-Allin - 2019 Prime Minister's Award for Teaching Excellence

[Black screen fades up to close-up of woman in interview setting against a white background. Music playing.]

"The number one factor that contributes to a student's success really is the relationship that they have with the teacher."

[Fade to black and then up to white screen with medium shot of woman, smiling, on the right side of the screen, with the following words appearing, line by line, on the left: Karen Kennedy-Allin, Weyburn Comprehensive School, Weyburn, Saskatchewan. Fade to black and then up to close-up of Karen in interview setting.]

"The innovation and best practices that I'm really proud of are my hands-on projects that I've started to incorporate …"

[Cut to photos, with voice over. Photos: Karen looking at a computer screen with two students; Karen and two students looking at one student's work; Karen surrounded by students holding up paper signs with words such as "sunlight," "Chlorophyll" and "C02" written on them; close-up of Karen behind podium making a point during her presentation to fellow recipients on best practices in her classroom; long shot of Karen during her presentation, with a fellow recipient holding up a large sheet of paper illustrating the concept she is describing; Karen smiling during a fellow recipient's presentation; Karen with Paul Thompson, Associate Deputy Minister, Innovation, Science and Economic Development, having received her Prime Minister's Awards pin; Karen with fellow recipients of the Prime Minister's Award for Teaching Excellence on Parliament Hill.]

"And, I say, 'started to incorporate' because I never feel like I'm done. I always try to incorporate as much hands-on activity as I can. I know after this week, after these four days, I'm going back with more motivation, more determination to turn my classroom to the way that I want it."

[Cut back close-up of Kean in the interview setting.]

"Let your students know that you care about them. Make sure that if you're a teacher that you love the kids that you're teaching. If you're just there for the job, it's going to be a lot harder on you and a lot harder on the students."

[Cut to photos, with voice over. Photos: A large group of students in a wooded areas with Karen pointing to a tree with a long stick; four students with paper signs and Karen pointing to one that reads "NADPH"; Karen standing in the centre of a half-circle of seated students demonstrating a concept with small weights suspended with string; Karen in a wooded area, smiling with a long stick over her shoulder and a clipboard in her hand, with a group of four students in the background.]

"When you learn to love them and all of their flaws and all of their difficulties, and you just embrace it and go with, it makes the job so much easier …

[Cut back to Karen in the interview setting.]

"… and so much more fulfilling."

[Fade to black and then back to Karen in the interview setting.]

"The message I would like to send my students—and all of my students, past and present—is that they're the reason I do what I do. They're the reason why I want to get better every semester and every class. I truly do love them … from the bottom of my heart, every single one of them. And, I hope that they see success in their life and that when they think back to being in my class, they remember some of the activities and some of the learning, yes, but most importantly I hope they remember that I cared about them."

[Fade to black, with the Government of Canada FIP and then the Canada Wordmark appearing in white.]

Get in touch!

Weyburn Comprehensive School
629 King Street
Weyburn SK S4H 2S5
306-842-7494
contact.wchs@secpsd.ca
https://www.secpsd.ca/school/wcs/Pages/default.aspx

Date modified:

Karen Kennedy-Allin : se soucier des élèves pour qu’ils se soucient des autres

Transcription – Karen Kennedy-Allin, Lauréate du Prix du premier ministre

[L'écran noir s'ouvre sur un fond blanc et les mots suivants apparaissent, ligne par ligne : Prix du premier ministre (PPM) Son de musique perceptible. Transition vers un écran blanc et gris, avec un plan moyen de la femme, souriante, sur le côté gauche de l'écran, avec les mots suivants apparaissant, ligne par ligne, à droite et voix hors champ : Karen Kennedy-Allin, Weyburn Comprehensive School, Weyburn (Saskatchewan).]

[Extrait en photos avec voix hors champ. Photos : Karen posant derrière un ordinateur; quatre élèves avec des enseignes en papier et Karen montrant une qui porte la mention « NADPH »; Karen regardant un écran d'ordinateur avec deux élèves; Karen enseignant devant la classe; Karen entourée d'élèves tenant des enseignes en papier portant des mots comme « sunlight » (soleil), « Chlorophyll » (chlorophylle) et « C02 »; Karen debout au milieu du cercle des élèves assis montrant un concept avec de petits poids suspendus par une corde; un grand groupe d'élèves dans une zone boisée avec Karen pointant un long bâton vers un arbre; Karen dans une zone boisée, souriant avec un long bâton au-dessus de son épaule et un bloc-notes à la main, avec un groupe de quatre élèves en arrière-plan; un gros plan de Karen enseignant devant la classe; un gros plan de Karen dans une zone boisée, souriant avec un long bâton par-dessus son épaule et un bloc-notes à la main.]

La devise de Karen Kennedy-Allin est simple: l'intérêt des élèves est proportionnel à celui affiché par l'enseignant. Karen montre qu'elle se soucie de ses élèves par l'adaptation de son enseignement en fonction de leurs besoins. Les élèves peuvent suivre les leçons sur vidéo à leur rythme. Karen a même produit dix leçons originales sur vidéo que les élèves peuvent faire à la maison. Ainsi, elle laisse dans ses cours de physique de la place pour une approche par projets, par exemple pour construire une catapulte à guimauves. Elle utilise de l'équipement à la fine pointe et des tableaux blancs dans ses cours. L'une de ses activités consiste à passer d'un tableau blanc à l'autre pour résoudre huit problèmes, un peu comme dans un carrousel.

[Transition vers un écran blanc et gris, avec un plan moyen de la femme, souriante, sur le côté gauche de l'écran, avec les mots suivants apparaissant, ligne par ligne, à droite : Karen Kennedy-Allin, Weyburn Comprehensive School, Weyburn (Saskatchewan). Voix hors champ : Karen Kennedy-Allin.]

[L'écran redevient blanc, avec le Programme de coordination de l'image de marque (PCIM) du gouvernement du Canada, puis le mot-symbole Canada apparaissant en noir.]

Année : 2019 – Province : Saskatchewan

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'excellence

Karen Kennedy-Allin

Physique 30, biologie 30 et science de l'environnement 20
Weyburn Comprehensive School, Weyburn (Saskatchewan)

« Mme Allin a été bien plus qu'une enseignante pour nous. Elle est une vraie source d'inspiration, parce qu'elle est une personne humaine extraordinaire. … [Elle] n'a jamais laissé tomber [notre fils]. Elle l'a poussé à dépasser ses limites et ses attentes et, à l'occasion, elle nous a aussi poussés à aller plus loin. »  — Parents d'un ancien élève

Même après 25 années d'enseignement, Karen Kennedy-Allin travaille sans relâche afin d'améliorer ses cours, puisqu'elle est d'avis que chaque étape est une bonne occasion de croître et de changer. Présidente de l'association régionale des enseignantes et enseignants, elle apporte également son soutien au personnel enseignant de tous les niveaux et disciplines.

Approche pédagogique

Karen a pour son dire que les élèves ne se soucieront pas de quelque chose tant qu'ils ne sauront pas qu'on se soucie d'eux. Elle s'assure que ceux qui ont besoin de relever les plus grands défis pour s'engager les obtiennent et que ceux qui ne peuvent qu'en relever de petits obtiennent ce qu'il leur faut. En même temps, elle cherche à donner aux jeunes adultes un sentiment d'autonomie.

En classe

  • Elle s'adapte à divers styles d'apprentissage : les élèves repassent leurs leçons dans des vidéos à leur propre rythme; elle met ses notes de cours à leur disposition, puisqu'il n'est pas avantageux pour certains élèves de les prendre; elle a produit dix vidéos de ses leçons pour que les élèves puissent les regarder à la maison afin que les heures des cours de physique soient consacrées à des activités fondées sur la recherche.
  • Elle insiste sur l'évaluation formative pour s'assurer que les élèves comprennent avant les évaluations officielles; ces techniques (p. ex., des devoirs avec consultation de documentation et de courtes interrogations) permettent aux élèves d'obtenir une rétroaction afin de s'améliorer; les élèves travaillent en groupe afin de discuter des exercices de réponse à des tests.
  • Elle utilise du matériel de haute technologie (p. ex., le logiciel Probeware et des simulateurs en ligne) et des tableaux blancs : des groupes d'élèves préparent un résumé des concepts sur ce dernier et le partagent en classe; le carrousel de la résolution de problèmes permet aux élèves de faire un circuit composé de huit stations, en réglant un problème à chacune.
  • Elle souligne l'importance des projets pratiques pour susciter la pensée créatrice et l'apprentissage par l'essai et l'erreur : les élèves lancent des guimauves avec des catapultes qu'ils ont conçues, ils recueillent des données sur leur trajectoire et, deux jours plus tard, ils doivent pouvoir atteindre une cible en trois essais.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Elle réalise un sondage auprès des élèves à la fin de chaque étape et s'efforce de tenir compte des commentaires constructifs qui figurent dans les résultats pour améliorer ses cours de l'étape suivante.
  • Elle a créé un symposium sur la santé et l'anatomie dans l'école : les élèves créent des kiosques d'information sur la structure et le fonctionnement d'un organe du corps humain et les façons de le garder en santé; cet événement comporte des activités d'apprentissage interactif et les parents, les médias et le public sont invités à y assister.
  • Elle a rédigé le nouveau programme de physique 30 avec trois autres éducateurs de la Saskatchewan; elle crée des leçons et des projets pour les cours de science du deuxième cycle qui sont partagés avec tout le personnel enseignant de la province.
  • Elle a reçu le prix d'excellence en enseignement de l'Association canadienne des physiciens et physiciennes en 2017.
Transcription – Karen Kennedy-Allin - Prix du Premier ministre 2019 pour l'excellence dans l'enseignement

[Écran noir s'estompe vers un gros plan d'une femme en situation d'entrevue sur fond blanc. Musique de fond.]

« Le facteur numéro un qui contribue au succès d'un élève, vraiment, c'est la relation qu'ils ont avec l'enseignant. »

[Transition vers le noir puis vers le blanc avec un plan moyen d'une femme, souriante, à la droite de l'écran. À gauche, les mots suivants apparaissant, une ligne à la fois : Karen Kennedy-Allin, Weyburn Comprehensive School, Weyburn, Saskatchewan. Écran noir de transition vers un gros plan de Karen en situation d'entrevue.]

« L'innovation et les pratiques exemplaires dont je suis vraiment fière sont mes projets pratiques que j'ai commencé à incorporer… »

[Voix hors-champs avec transition vers une série de photos, comme suit : Karen regarde l'écran d'un ordinateur avec deux élèves ; Karen et deux élèves regardent le travail d'une d'elles ; Karen entourée d'élèves tenant des affiches de papier sur lesquels sont écrits les mots 'sunlight' [traduction : 'lumière du soleil'], 'chlorophylle', 'CO2' ; gros plan de Karen derrière un lutrin, qui explique un concept pendant sa présentation à ses collègues lauréats sur les pratiques exemplaires dans sa classe ; plan éloigné de Karen pendant sa présentation, avec un lauréat qui tient une grande feuille de papier illustrant le concept qu'elle décrit ; Karen sourit pendant la présentation d'un autre lauréat ; Karen pose avec Paul Thompson, sous-ministre adjoint, Innovation, Science et Développement économique, après avoir reçu son épinglette des Prix du Premier ministre ; Karen et d'autres lauréates et lauréats des Prix du Premier ministre pour l'excellence en enseignement sur la colline du Parlement.]

« Et je dis 'que j'ai commencé à incorporer' parce que je n'ai jamais l'impression d'avoir fini. J'essaie toujours d'incorporer le plus d'activités pratiques possible. Je sais qu'après cette semaine, après ces quatre jours, je vais rentrer avec plus de motivation, plus de détermination à transformer ma salle de classe comme je la veux. »

[Retour à Karen en situation d'entrevue.]

« Faites savoir à vos élèves qu'ils sont importants pour vous. Assurez-vous que, si vous êtes enseignant, vous aimez les enfants à qui vous enseignez. Si vous êtes là seulement pour l'emploi, ce sera beaucoup plus difficile pour vous et beaucoup plus difficile pour les élèves. »

[Voix hors-champs avec transition vers une série de photos, comme suit : Un grand groupe d'élèves dans une zone boisée avec Karen qui pointe un arbre avec un long bâton ; quatre élèves avec des affiches et Karen qui en pointe une sur laquelle est écrit 'NADPH' ; Karen se tient au centre d'un demi-cercle d'élèves assis et démontre un concept avec un petit poids suspendu à une corde ; Karen, dans une zone boisée, sourit avec un long bâton sur son épaule et un porte-bloc dans la main, avec un groupe de quatre élèves en arrière-plan.]

« Quand vous apprenez à les aimer et tous leurs défauts et toutes leurs difficultés et vous les accepter et avancer avec, ça rend le travail tellement plus facile… »

[Retour à Karen en situation d'entrevue]

« … et tellement plus satisfaisant. »

[Écran noir de transition et retour à Karen en situation d'entrevue.]

« Le message que je voudrais transmettre à mes élèves — tous mes élèves, passés et présents — c'est qu'ils sont la raison pour laquelle je fais ce que je fais. Ils sont la raison pour laquelle je veux devenir meilleure chaque semestre et dans chaque classe. Je les aime vraiment… du plus profond de mon cœur, chacun d'entre eux. Et j'espère qu'ils auront du succès dans leur vie et qu'ils se souviendront d'avoir été dans ma classe, qu'ils se souviendront de certaines activités et de certains apprentissages, oui, mais surtout j'espère qu'ils se souviendront qu'ils comptaient pour moi. »

[Transition vers un écran noir avec le PCIM du gouvernement du Canada, suivi du mot-symbole Canada en blanc.]

Communiquez avec nous!

Weyburn Comprehensive School
629, rue King
Weyburn (Saskatchewan) S4H 2S5
306-842-7494
contact.wchs@secpsd.ca
https://www.secpsd.ca/school/wcs/Pages/default.aspx

Date de modification :