Language selection

Search

Brendan E. Hagan: passion, class, excellence

Year: 2019 – Province: Alberta

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Brendan E. Hagan

Instrumental music 10, 20, 30, Band 15, 25, 35
Western Canada High School, Calgary, Alberta

"In addition to his students' musical development, Mr. Hagan prioritizes the development of his students as people first and foremost. Always making himself available and being willing to talk with students about their challenges and problems is characteristic of Mr. Hagan."  — Parent

Students (325 at last count) flock to Brendan Hagan's unique and complex band program at Calgary's largest inner-city school and, then they can't stay away. Each June, hundreds of alumni return for the school's year-end concert, held at a Calgary concert hall.

Teaching approach

Brendan's primary goal for his band program is to communicate three messages to students: he cares; there are no limits to what they can accomplish; he will support them all the way. He never turns anyone away, working constantly to support students' well-being, goals and overall direction.

In the classroom

  • Integrates technology into all aspects of band program: scanned and uploaded enlarged scores to a computer to enabled a legally blind student to participate; grads prepare 10-minute video reflecting on their musical development over their three years in band.
  • Instils respect for the band as a team involved in a highly cooperative effort that requires dedication and punctuality (even for 7 a.m. practices) but that rewards them for their work ethic and commitment to a community of peers who share in their musical development.
  • Prioritizes unique formative learning opportunities over striving for awards: students work with teaching faculty from several universities; through partnership with the Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra, professional musicians coach students individually and in small groups.
  • Expands music instruction beyond playing instruments: students from across the city create electronic music with state-of-the-art hardware and software; others learn the principles of composing traditional orchestral music; school bands have played three student-written pieces.

Outstanding achievements

  • Founded Band Leadership Executive to place the work, success and ownership of the band program in student hands: this group of Grade 11s and 12s takes care of room organization, fundraising, social events, merchandise design and sales, and social media.
  • Arranged a partnership with broadcasting company to raise more than $75,000 for specialized instrumental music instruction.
  • Has led five international tours for a total of 850 students to attend workshops with faculty at university and college music schools, hear world-famous orchestra and tour cultural institutions.

Get in touch!

Western Canada High School
641-17 Avenue, SW
Calgary AB T2S 0B5
403-228-5363
westerncanada@cbe.ab.ca
http://schools.cbe.ab.ca/b816
Twitter: @WesternRedhawks

Date modified:

Brendan E. Hagan : la passion, la classe, l'excellence

Année : 2019 – Province : Alberta

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

Brendan E. Hagan

Musique instrumentale 10, 20, 30, Harmonie 15, 25, 35
Western Canada High School, Calgary (Alberta)

« En plus de la formation musicale de ses élèves, M. Hagan donne d'abord et avant tout la priorité au développement de ses élèves en tant que personne. La disponibilité et la disposition à parler avec les élèves de leurs difficultés et de leurs problèmes sont typiques de M. Hagan. »  — Parent

Les élèves (325 au dernier calcul) affluent vers le programme d'harmonie unique et complexe de Brendan Hagan, à la plus grande école du centre ville de Calgary. Puis, ils ne partent jamais. Chaque mois de juin, des centaines d'anciens élèves reviennent pour le concert de fin d'année de l'école, présenté dans une salle de concert de Calgary.

Approche pédagogique

Avec son programme d'harmonie, Brendan vise principalement à communiquer trois messages aux élèves : il se soucie d'eux, il n'y a pas de limite à ce qu'ils peuvent accomplir et il les appuiera jusqu'au bout. Il ne refuse jamais personne. Il travaille constamment pour appuyer le bien être, les buts et l'orientation générale des élèves.

En classe

  • Il intègre la technologie à tous les aspects du programme d'harmonie. Il a numérisé et téléchargé sur un ordinateur des partitions agrandies afin qu'un élève aveugle puisse participer. Les diplômés préparent une vidéo de 10 minutes dans laquelle ils réfléchissent à leur développement musical au cours de leurs trois années dans le programme d'harmonie.
  • Il suscite le respect de l'harmonie en tant qu'équipe participant à un effort collectif qui demande du dévouement et de la ponctualité (même pour les pratiques à 7 h), mais les élèves sont ainsi récompensés pour leur éthique du travail et leur engagement envers une communauté de pairs qui partagent leur développement musical.
  • Il accorde la priorité aux possibilités d'apprentissage formatif plutôt que de viser les récompenses. Les élèves travaillent avec le corps professoral de plusieurs universités. Dans le cadre d'un partenariat avec l'Orchestre philharmonique de Calgary, des musiciens professionnels encadrent les élèves seuls et en petits groupes.
  • Il élargit l'enseignement de la musique au délà de la pratique d'un instrument. Les élèves de la ville entière créent de la musique électronique au moyen de matériel informatique et de logiciel de pointe; d'autres apprennent les principes de la composition de musique d'orchestre traditionnelle; les harmonies de l'école ont joué trois pièces composées par des élèves.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Il a fondé le Band Leadership Executive afin que les activités, les réussites et la propriété du programme d'harmonie soient entre les mains des élèves. Ce groupe d'élèves de 11e et de 12e année s'occupe de l'organisation de la salle, des collectes de fonds, des évènements sociaux, de la conception et de la vente de la marchandise et des médias sociaux.
  • Il a conclu un partenariat avec une société de radiodiffusion pour amasser plus de 75 000 $ pour un enseignement spécialisé en musique instrumentale.
  • Il a dirigé cinq tournées internationales pour un total de 850 élèves qui ont participé à des ateliers avec le corps professoral dans des écoles de musique d'universités et de collèges, ont entendu un orchestre de renommée mondiale et visité des institutions culturelles.

Communiquez avec nous!

Western Canada High School
641-17 Avenue, SW
Calgary (Alberta) T2S 0B5
403-228-5363
westerncanada@cbe.ab.ca
http://schools.cbe.ab.ca/b816
Twitter: @WesternRedhawks

Date de modification :