Mary Elizabeth McCaw: planting the seed of learning

Year: 2019 – Province: British Columbia

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Mary Elizabeth McCaw

Kindergarten
Departure Bay-Eco School, Nanaimo, British Columbia

"Liz McCaw, though small in stature and quiet of voice, is that kind of giant—one who inspires her young learners to be open to dream … . She plants a seed deep in their hearts with the hope that, when in full bloom, they will know they can be everything that they choose to be."  — Colleague

In her unique Outdoor Kindergarten Program, Liz McCaw combines outdoor learning and the Reggio Emilia approach to teaching to create rich learning experiences for her students.

Teaching approach

Liz models being an active learner in the class beside her students, and weaves opportunities for them to develop independence and learn how to cooperate and collaborate. Students participate in project work that allows them to stretch across disciplines.

In the classroom

  • Provides an ever-changing natural environment for her students to actively explore, taking them to the forest and beach four days a week
  • Develops the "languages" of science, technology, engineering, art and math with her students: outside, they observe the natural cycles of plants, animals and seasons, and construct forts, dams and bridges; inside, they look at natural elements with a digital microscope attached to a projector.
  • Utilizes imaginative story play, modelling the use of props, character and loose parts to bring stories alive: inspired by their outdoor learning experiences, children present their writing or oral storytelling in small groups, with partners or as a whole class.
  • Builds rich learning frameworks: for example, shares a picture book with the class, encouraging turn-and-talk and A/B partner sharing to deepen comprehension; the class may then watch a video of the same story and later use the familiar narrative to create their own stories.

Outstanding achievements

  • Wrote and published a book outlining her approach to outdoor education, Outside Our Window: Developing a Primary Nature Program , covering learning activities, developing classroom resources and collaborative community partnerships, and accessing grants.
  • Runs, with a local preschool teacher, a monthly drop-in storytelling and play workshop for families and their three- and four-year-old children, with a space for parents to chat while the children play.
  • Leads professional development for fellow teachers and early childhood educators, including a multi-part learning series on Reggio Emilia-inspired practice and a session on embedding First Nations principles of learning in a primary program.
  • Has redesigned learning environments for a new nature school, several preschools and a number of elementary classrooms to meet children's learning needs and developmental levels.

Get in touch!

Departure Bay-Eco School
3004 Departure Bay Road
Nanaimo BC V9T 1B4
250-758-6541
communications@sd68.bc.ca
https://db.schools.sd68.bc.ca/
https://crazyforkindergarten68.blogspot.com

Date modified:

Mary Elizabeth McCaw: semer les graines de l’apprentissage

Année : 2019 – Province : Colombie-Britannique

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

Mary Elizabeth McCaw

Maternelle
Departure Bay-Eco School, Nanaimo (Colombie-Britannique)

« Liz McCaw, malgré sa petite taille et sa voix douce, est en quelque sorte une géante, celle du genre qui inspire ses jeunes apprenants à s'ouvrir au rêve… Elle sème une graine au plus profond de leur cœur, dans l'espoir qu'ils sauront, une fois à pleine maturité, qu'ils peuvent devenir tout ce qu'ils choisissent de devenir. »  — Une collègue

Dans le cadre de son programme de maternelle en plein air unique, Liz McCaw combine l'apprentissage extérieur et l'approche Reggio Emilia pour enrichir l'expérience d'apprentissage de ses élèves.

Méthode d'enseignement

Liz fait figure d'apprenante active en classe au côté de ses élèves et leur offre la possibilité de développer leur autonomie et d'apprendre à coopérer et à collaborer. Les élèves participent à des projets qui leur permettent de couvrir plusieurs matières.

En classe

  • Elle offre à ses élèves un milieu naturel en perpétuel changement qui leur permet d'explorer activement, en les emmenant en forêt et à la plage quatre jours par semaine.
  • Elle développe le « langage » des sciences, de la technologie, du génie, des arts et des mathématiques avec ses élèves : à l'extérieur, ils observent le cycle naturel des plantes, des animaux et des saisons et construisent des forts, des barrages et des ponts; à l'intérieur, ils étudient des éléments naturels au moyen d'un microscope numérique fixé à un projecteur.
  • Elle met en scène des scénarios imaginatifs pour montrer comment utiliser des accessoires, des personnages et des objets pour donner vie à des histoires : les enfants, inspirés par leurs expériences d'apprentissage en plein air, présentent leur récit sous forme écrite ou verbale par petits groupes, par pairs ou tous ensemble.
  • Elle crée des cadres d'apprentissage enrichissants. P. ex., elle partage avec la classe un livre d'images et encourage les élèves à échanger avec un camarade pour approfondir leur compréhension. La classe peut alors regarder une vidéo de cette même histoire et utiliser par la suite un récit familier pour créer leurs propres histoires.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Elle a écrit et publié un ouvrage exposant sa méthode d'enseignement en plein air intitulé Outside Our Window: Developing a Primary Nature Program, qui propose des activités d'apprentissage, des façons de développer des ressources pédagogiques et d'établir des partenariats communautaires de collaboration et d'obtenir des subventions.
  • Elle organise, avec une éducatrice préscolaire locale, un atelier mensuel de conte et de jeu où les parents peuvent laisser leurs enfants de trois et quatre ans et se réunir entre adultes pour échanger.
  • Elle dirige une activité de perfectionnement professionnel pour ses collègues et des éducateurs de la petite enfance, y compris un programme d'apprentissage en plusieurs séances inspiré de l'approche Reggio Emilia et une séance sur l'intégration des principes d'apprentissage des Premières Nations dans un programme primaire.
  • Elle a modifié des milieux d'apprentissage pour une nouvelle école en nature, plusieurs centres préscolaires et classes du primaire afin de répondre aux besoins d'apprentissage et aux stades de développement des enfants.

Prenez contact!

Departure Bay-Eco School
3004 Departure Bay Road
Nanaimo (Colombie-Britannique) V9T 1B4
250-758-6541
communications@sd68.bc.ca
https://db.schools.sd68.bc.ca/
https://crazyforkindergarten68.blogspot.com

Date de modification :