Language selection

Search

Orysya Romanivna Tsybukh-Petryshyn: bringing history and students alive with technology

Year: 2019 – Province: Manitoba

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Orysya Romanivna Tsybukh-Petryshyn

History, grade 11
Sisler High School, Winnipeg, Manitoba

"Joining in different groups used to be one of my weaknesses but, because of Ms. Petryshyn, I am now able to tackle the challenges of participating in groups, while still focusing on my studies, which is a massive impact to make in my adult life."  — Former student

A trained musician, Orysya Petryshyn came to Canada from Ukraine in 1995 and decided to become a teacher. While continuing her education, she learned English. She now teaches largely second-generation Canadians and new arrivals, empathizing with their struggles and leading them to success.

Teaching approach

Orysya is very proud of her new country and seeks to instil that pride in her students, while sharing her Ukrainian heritage. She believes that education is the only way future generations will be able to maintain democracy and prevent tragedies such as genocides from happening again.

STEM In the classroom

  • Integrates technology into history class to bring it to life: in the very first unit in Manitoba on Ukraine's Holodomor Genocide, students collaborated with peers in the Interactive Digital Media and Networking and Cyber Security Academy programs to publish a book on this dark chapter in Ukrainian history, accompanied by a website and various digital media resources.
  • Brought the Holodomor Mobile Classroom Tour to the school to expose students and teachers to a state-of-the-art digital learning experience (in a bus); students spoke at the tour launch at the provincial legislature with the premier in attendance.
  • Integrates fine arts, music, audio and video with history: students created video interviews, commissioned artwork and wrote essays to explore the work and legacy of the school's namesake, and are building an online multimedia museum to house this work, along with historical documents and photographs of immigrant families homesteading in rural Manitoba in the 1920s.

Outstanding achievements

  • Spearheaded school's involvement in national Canada 150 and Me project: only school from division chosen to host students from across Canada for a week to explore the challenges and opportunities young Canadians face; two of her students won a competition to attend similar forums in Halifax and Montréal, and all students participated in a national event in Ottawa.
  • Under her guidance and coaching, numerous Sisler students come out on top in history-related competitions: for example, a Grade 11 History class placed first in Winnipeg on the Historica Canada Citizenship Challenge, with one student achieving a perfect score.
  • Leads WE Day and other school social justice activities, with students inspired to raise thousands of dollars for charity and receiving Governor General's Caring Awards for these and other efforts.

Get in touch!

Sisler High School
1360 Redwood Avenue
Winnipeg MB R2X 0Z1
204-589-8321
https://www.winnipegsd.ca/schools/sisler
Facebook: @Sislerhighschool

Date modified:

Orysya Romanivna Tsybukh-Petryshyn: faire vivre l’histoire et les élèves grâce à la technologie

Année : 2019 – Province : Manitoba

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

Orysya Romanivna Tsybukh-Petryshyn

Histoire, 11e année
École secondaire Sisler High, Winnipeg (Manitoba)

« Auparavant, me joindre à différents groupes était l'un de mes points faibles, mais grâce à Mme Petryshyn, je suis maintenant en mesure de relever le défi de participer à des groupes, tout en me concentrant sur mes études, ce qui a un impact énorme dans ma vie adulte. »  — Ancien étudiant

Musicienne de formation, Orysya Petryshyn est arrivée d'Ukraine au Canada en 1995 et a décidé de devenir enseignante. Elle a appris l'anglais tout en poursuivant ses études. Elle enseigne maintenant surtout aux Canadiens de deuxième génération et aux nouveaux arrivants, faisant preuve d'empathie à l'égard de leurs luttes et les menant au succès.

Approche pédagogique

Orysya est très fière de son nouveau pays et cherche à inculquer cette fierté à ses élèves, tout en partageant son héritage ukrainien. Elle estime que l'éducation est le seul moyen pour les générations futures de préserver les valeurs de démocratie et d'éviter que des tragédies, telles que les génocides ne se reproduisent.

Les STIM en salle de classe

  • Elle intègre la technologie dans les cours d'histoire pour leur redonner vie. Dans la toute première unité au Manitoba sur le génocide de l'Holodomor en Ukraine, les élèves ont collaboré avec leurs pairs des programmes Académie des médias et réseaux numériques interactifs et de la cybersécurité (Interactive Digital Media and Networking – Cyber Security Academy) pour publier un livre sur cette page sombre de l'histoire ukrainienne, accompagné par un site Web et diverses ressources médiatiques numériques.
  • Elle a amené le bus des classes mobiles en hommage de l'Holodomor (Holodomor Mobile Classroom Tour) à l'école afin d'exposer les élèves et les enseignants à une expérience d'apprentissage numérique de pointe (dans un autobus); les élèves ont pris la parole lors du lancement de la visite à l'Assemblée législative provinciale en présence du premier ministre.
  • Elle intègre les beaux-arts, la musique, l'audio et la vidéo à l'histoire. Les élèves ont créé des entrevues vidéo, commandé des œuvres d'art et rédigé des essais pour explorer le travail et l'héritage de l'école du même nom. Ils construisent un musée multimédia en ligne pour accueillir ces œuvres, ainsi que des documents historiques et des photos de familles immigrantes vivant dans les campagnes du Manitoba pendant les années 20.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Elle a été le fer de lance de la participation de l'école au projet national Canada 150 + Moi, la seule école de la division choisie pour accueillir des élèves de partout au Canada pendant une semaine afin d'explorer les défis et les possibilités auxquels font face les jeunes Canadiens. Deux de ses élèves ont gagné un concours pour participer à des forums similaires à Halifax et à Montréal, et tous ont participé à un événement national à Ottawa.
  • Sous sa direction et son encadrement, de nombreux élèves de l'école Sisler se sont illustrés dans des concours portant sur l'histoire. Par exemple, une classe d'histoire de la 11e année a remporté un concours à Winnipeg dans le cadre du Défi de la citoyenneté d'Historica Canada à l'issue duquel un élève a obtenu une note parfaite.
  • Elle dirige la Journée UNIS et d'autres activités de justice sociale dans les écoles, avec des élèves inspirés à recueillir des milliers de dollars pour des œuvres de bienfaisance et à recevoir le Prix du Gouverneur général pour l'entraide en récompense de ces efforts et d'autres.

Contactez-nous!

Sisler High School
1360 Redwood Avenue
Winnipeg (Manitoba) R2X 0Z1
204-589-8321
https://www.winnipegsd.ca/schools/sisler
Facebook : @Sislerhighschool

Date de modification :