Language selection

Search

Greg Speiser: building solid foundation for thinking and learning

Year: 2019 – Province: Manitoba

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Greg Speiser

Math and physics, grades 10 to 12
Nelson McIntyre Collegiate, Winnipeg, Manitoba

"The neat thing about Mr. Speiser's class is that the conversations would continue in the hallway. … Mr. Speiser has the unique ability to awaken the curiosity within even his most sceptical students without them even knowing."  — Student

A big-picture thinker, Gregory Speiser constantly reaches out for new and different ways of teaching and learning in all subject areas, and is playing a key role in his school's pedagogical transformation.

Teaching approach

To Greg, the memorization of formulas is a distant second to having students learn fundamentals and develop a solid conceptual foundation to think from. He then guides and empowers his students to run seminars to help them reinforce their learning through presentation and dialogue.

In the classroom

  • Employs "modelling instruction" to help clarify physics concepts: rather than following the traditional lecture-then-practise approach, students do guided inquiries; extends this technique to include computer 3D modelling so students can answer questions beyond their math skills.
  • Uses "whiteboarding" problem-solving approach: students work in groups on questions, growing to trust their peers, take risks and appreciate the value of learning through error and reflection.
  • Augmented his flipped classroom to give students more time and opportunities to practise, so they can understand concepts better; students must demonstrate mastery prior to moving on; this breeds success and confidence, and helps students set learning goals rather than meet deadlines.
  • Connects science learning to the global community: for example, students work with an international student-led research program, tracking and photographing polar bears; students also support watershed research by doing water testing in nearby rivers.

Outstanding achievements

  • Developed two components of school's Weeks Without Walls program, in which students can explore areas of interest for a week when classes are suspended: his coding and robotics, and wilderness programs have created avid coders and nature-lovers among the students.
  • Selected to be board EdTech Mentor, based on his exceptional use of technology and innovative pedagogy in his teaching, including creating a class that combines 3D modelling and physics, screencasting his lessons, and offering self-paced and personalized learning opportunities.
  • Has become the science expert on the school's Grade 9 interdisciplinary team, even though he doesn't teach in that grade; his colleagues value his measured and useful input, which is based on his multi-faceted approach to teaching.

Get in touch!

Nelson McIntyre Collegiate
188 St. Mary's Road
Winnipeg MB R2H 1H9
204-237-0219
charlene.smallwood@lrsd.net
https://www.lrsd.net/schools/NMC/Pages/default.aspx
Twitter: @gregspeiser, @nmcLRSD

Date modified:

Greg Speiser: bâtir des bases solides pour la réflexion et l’apprentissage

Année : 2019 – Province : Manitoba

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Greg Speiser

Mathématiques et physique, de la 10e à la 12e année
Nelson McIntyre Collegiate, Winnipeg (Manitoba)

« Ce qui est bien avec la classe de M. Speiser, c'est que les conversations se poursuivent dans le corridor… M. Speiser a le don d'éveiller la curiosité, même chez les élèves les plus sceptiques sans même qu'ils s'en rendent compte. »  — Un élève

Perspicace, Gregory Speiser est constamment à la recherche de méthodes d'enseignement et d'apprentissage nouvelles et différentes dans toutes les matières et il joue un rôle prépondérant dans la transformation pédagogique de son école.

Méthode d'enseignement

Pour Greg, l'apprentissage fondé sur la mémorisation de formules ne permet pas aux élèves d'apprendre des notions de base et de développer de solides fondements conceptuels pour mener une réflexion. Il guide les élèves et les amène à organiser des séminaires pour les aider à consolider leur apprentissage par l'exposé et le dialogue.

En classe

  • Il utilise l'« enseignement par modélisation » pour clarifier des concepts physiques : plutôt que de suivre l'approche traditionnelle du cours magistral suivi d'exercices, les élèves font des enquêtes dirigées; il intègre à cette technique la modélisation 3D par ordinateur qui permet aux élèves de répondre à des questions qui dépassent leurs connaissances en mathématiques.
  • Il utilise la démarche de résolution de problèmes sur « tableau blanc électronique » : les élèves se penchent en groupe sur les questions, en viennent à faire confiance à leurs pairs, assument des risques et comprennent l'importance de l'apprentissage par l'erreur et la réflexion.
  • Il a enrichi sa classe inversée pour donner aux élèves davantage de temps et d'occasions de pratique, afin qu'ils comprennent mieux les concepts. Les élèves doivent faire preuve de maîtrise du concept avant de passer au suivant, ce qui favorise la réussite et la confiance et aide les élèves à fixer des objectifs d'apprentissage plutôt que de respecter des échéances.
  • Il établit un lien entre l'apprentissage des sciences et la collectivité mondiale : p. ex., les élèves collaborent à un programme de recherches international dirigé par des étudiants en suivant et photographiant des ours polaires. Les élèves appuient également des recherches sur les bassins hydrographiques en effectuant des tests sur l'eau des rivières des environs.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Il a développé deux volets du programme « Weeks Without Walls » de l'école qui suspend les cours pendant une semaine pour permettre aux élèves d'explorer un domaine d'intérêt dans la collectivité : grâce à ses programmes sur le codage et la robotique et sur la faune, des élèves sont devenus des amoureux du codage et de la nature.
  • Il a été nommé mentor EdTech en raison de son utilisation exceptionnelle de la technologie et de sa pédagogie innovante. Il a notamment créé un cours qui allie la modélisation 3D et la physique, fait des captures d'écran de ses leçons et offert à ses élèves des possibilités d'apprentissage personnalisées et selon leur rythme.
  • Il est devenu le spécialiste des sciences de l'équipe interdisciplinaire de la 9e année, même s'il n'enseigne pas à ce niveau. Ses collègues tiennent en haute estime ses interventions modérées et utiles qui reposent sur sa méthode d'enseignement polyvalente.

Prenez contact!

Nelson McIntyre Collegiate
188 St. Mary's Road
Winnipeg (Manitoba) R2H 1H9
204-237-0219
charlene.smallwood@lrsd.net
https://www.lrsd.net/schools/NMC/Pages/default.aspx
Twitter : @gregspeiser, @nmcLRSD

Date de modification :