Language selection

Search

Benjamin Kelly: A master of STEMpathy education

Transcription – Benjamin Kelly, Prime Minister's Award recipient

[Black screen fades up to a white background, with the following words appearing, line by line: Prime Minister's Awards. Music playing. Fade to black and then up white and grey screen with medium shot of man, smiling, on the left side of the screen, with the following words appearing, line by line, on the right and voice over: Benjamin Kelly, Caledonia Regional High School, Hillsborough, New Brunswick.]

[Fade to black and then to photos, with voice over. Photos: Benjamin standing holding a tablet in front of  him; Benjamin at a table with a tablet computer in front of him, speaking to five students and pointing to something on the table; a close up model of building made of wood; student looking at a 3D model on a large computer screen; students sitting around a laptop, looking at large computer screen in a classroom; two students sitting at a table with a model car on it, looking at a tablet; a student wearing virtual reality goggles, holding a controller and standing beside a desktop computer.]

Believing that "the world has enough flashlight apps," Benjamin Kelly encourages students in his wildly popular STEM programs to develop real solutions to real problems. He created the first K–12 dronography program in Canada. In it, students practise disaster relief deliveries and do flood damage surveys. His STEMpathy Centre is a safe space that attracts students from all grades to practise their STEM skills, build community and connect with the world.

[Fade to white with close-up shot of man, smiling, on the left side of the screen, with the following words appearing, line by line, on the left:

[Fade to black and then up white and grey screen with medium shot of man, smiling, on the left side of the screen, with the following words appearing, line by line, on the right: Benjamin Kelly, Caledonia Regional High School, Hillsborough, New Brunswick. Voice over: Benjamin Kelly.]

[Fade to white, with the Government of Canada FIP and then the Canada Wordmark appearing in black.]

Year: 2019 — Province: New Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Benjamin Kelly

Technology, Computer Science, Math, Cybersecurity, Digital Productions, Entrepreneurship, Co-op Education, Environmental Science and Media Studies, grades 6–12
Caledonia Regional High School, Hillsborough, New Brunswick

"The technology he has in his room is incredible. … There is always so much going on and he keeps adding more and more. I love how he creates a project mission with us and lets us choose how we accomplish that mission."
— Student

Every single student at Caledonia Regional High enrols in Benjamin Kelly's STEM program, giving him direct access—and a positive influence over—every graduate from this small rural school.

Teaching approach

Benjamin focuses on empathy and global competencies in his many courses and extracurricular activities, while creatively supporting students' STEM mastery. With his catchphrase, "The world has enough flashlight apps," he encourages students to develop real solutions to real problems.

STEM in the classroom

  • Created the STEMpathy Centre where students can reach out to peers around the globe through Skype, increasing their sense of belonging; the room is a safe space for high school students to build community via STEM activities, and a spot for middle schoolers to practise their STEM skills.
  • Harnesses the video game Minecraft for learning: for example, students from six continents are building responses to the UN Sustainable Development Goals in a shared world Benjamin set up.
  • Encourages students to pursue personalized learning through STEM: one designed the Pink Flag for Anti-Bullying Awareness now sold and flown across Canada; another developed an app to translate common school phrases from Arabic into English for newcomers to the school.
  • Provides opportunities to pursue STEM outside the class: students helped hand-release Atlantic Salmon into a river system, and designed and released a high-altitude STEM balloon

Outstanding achievements

  • Responsible for many firsts the school has achieved, including having the first K–12 dronography program in Canada (students practise disaster relief deliveries and do flood damage surveys with a fleet of more than 10 drones); students were the first creators of iOS apps in Atlantic Canada.
  • Leads school's Community Engagement Professional Learning Community: attracts co-op and professional development opportunities, along with advanced technology not seen in schools.
  • Named Apple Distinguished Educator Advisory Board Member for the Americas, Microsoft Innovative Educator Fellow, New Brunswick STEM Educator of the Year Award and an NB Innovator (a rare provincial honour he shares with the inventor of the scuba tank).
  • Provincial leader in creating and piloting STEM and digital citizenship education resources, and was part of teams that created the province's STEM curriculum for grades 6 to 10.
Transcription – Benjamin Kelly- 2019 Prime Minister's Award for Teaching Excellence in STEM

[Black screen fades up to medium shot of man in interview setting against a white background. Music playing.]

"The main factor that I believe contributes to a student having success at school would be the relationship between the teacher and the student."

[Fade to black and then to photos, with voice over. Photos: Benjamin Kelly at a table with a tablet computer in front of him, speaking to two students and pointing to something on the table; a student wearing virtual reality goggles, holding a controller and standing beside a desktop computer.]
"If a student and a teacher have a great relationship, it goes beyond student learning and it can actually strengthen school communities."

[Fade to white with close-up shot of man, smiling, on the right side of the screen, with the following words appearing, line by line, on the left: Benjamin Kelly, Caledonia Regional High School, Hillsborough, New Brunswick. Fade to black and then up to close-up of Benjamin in the interview setting.]

"In my classroom, I have a program that I call STEMpathy. And, it's more than just a fancy name. It's the combination of the two things that I believe my students need moving forward."

[Cut to video of Benjamin speaking to his fellow recipients from behind a podium during his presentation on best practices in the classroom.]

[Voice over.]

"STEM is great, but there was a piece missing, an ingredient missing from my program."

[Cut back to Benjamin in the interview setting.]

"And, when I discovered that it was empathy, it changed everything for me. So, from now on, we are focussing on empathy as a purpose in STEM class."

[Fade to black and then back to close-up of Benjamin in the interview setting.]

"You can just make a flashlight app, but the world has enough flashlight apps, so what we do is we look for our purpose. We've had students making translating apps for Syrian students in the classroom. We've had students making soundboard apps for non-communicative students. With drones, we've got the first drone program in Canada in our school. So instead of just flying for fun and drone racing, what we do is we do flood surveying, disaster relief of first aid using drones. So, it's really finding that purpose to help others."

[Jump to medium shot of Benjamin in the interview setting.]

"So I really feel by adding empathy to my STEM program, I'm really setting our kids up not only for success in their careers but also to be successful citizens in the future."

[Fade to black and then to video of Benjamin giving his best practices presentation; photos of various recipients listening; Benjamin interacting with fellow recipients; more video of his presentation.]

[Voice over.]

"My ideal classroom has been influenced greatly by being here at the Prime Minister Awards, and meeting those other teachers from across the country who are just outstanding."

[Cut back to Benjamin in the interview setting.]

"I would actually try to balance my classroom 50/50, if not more, outside. Get the kids outdoors more. Get them doing experiential learning outside but, at the same time, when we're in the classroom, there would be no sitting. It would be standing desks everywhere, if we did have desks."

[Fade to black and then back to Benjamin in the interview setting.]

"I start with a mission. So the kids know that the first five minutes are mine. I love that trade off with them because I say, 'The first five minutes are mine. The rest of the time is yours and ours, together."

[Fade to black and then to photos, with voice over. Photos: students sitting around a laptop, looking at large computer screen in a classroom; student looking at a 3D model on a large computer screen]

"After I pitch that mission, I'm not a facilitator. I get in there with the kids and I actually get dirty."

[Cut back to Benjamin in the interview setting.]

"But I really find I can learn more working with the students on their projects than just simply circulating around and facilitating the project.

[Fade to black and then to photos with voice over. Photos: Benjamin posing with the other recipient of the Prime Minister's Awards for Teaching Excellence in STEM and a Mountie on Parliament Hill; Benjamin giving the thumbs up with Paul Thompson, Associate Deputy Minister, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, having receiving his Prime Minister's Awards pin; Benjamin and his son trying out some of the exhibits at the Canada Museum of Science and Technology.]

"If I could tell my students anything, I'd want to thank them for always having an open mind and diving head first into the wildness that I often bring to the classroom."

[Fade to black, with the Government of Canada FIP and then the Canada Wordmark appearing in white.]

Get in touch!

Caledonia Regional High School
35 School Lane
Hillsborough NB E4H 3B8

506-734-3710
Donna.Godfrey@nbed.nb.ca; http://caledonia.nbed.nb.ca
Twitter: @CRHSNB, @BBTNB

Date modified:

Benjamin Kelly : Maîtrise de l'enseignement des STIMpathes

Transcription – Benjamin Kelly, Lauréat du Prix du premier ministre

[L'écran noir s'ouvre sur un fond blanc et les mots suivants apparaissent, ligne par ligne : Prix du premier ministre (PPM) Son de musique perceptible. Transition vers un écran blanc et gris, avec un plan moyen de la femme, souriante, sur le côté gauche de l'écran, avec les mots suivants apparaissant, ligne par ligne, à droite et voix hors champ : Benjamin Kelly, Caledonia Regional High School, Hillsborough (Nouveau-Brunswick).]

[Extrait en photos avec voix hors champ. Photos : Benjamin debout, tenant une tablette devant lui; Benjamin debout à une table avec une tablette devant lui, parlant à cinq élèves et montrant quelque chose sur la table; un modèle réduit d'un bâtiment en bois; un élève regardant un modèle 3D sur un grand écran d'ordinateur; des élèves assis autour d'un ordinateur portable, regardant un grand écran dans une classe; deux élèves assis à une table avec une voiture modèle sur la table; un élève portant des lunettes de réalité virtuelle, tenant un contrôleur et debout devant un ordinateur de bureau.]

Convaincu que le monde en a plus qu'assez d'applications lampe de poche, Benjamin Kelly encourage les élèves à développer, dans ses très populaires cours de science, technologie, ingénierie et mathématiques, des solutions qui répondent à des problèmes réels. C'est lui qui a créé le premier programme de dronographie pour les élèves du primaire et du secondaire au Canada. Dans ce programme, les élèves s'exercent à acheminer des vivres en situation de crise et de faire des relevés des dommages causés par une inondation. Son STEMpathy Centre est un espace sûr qui attire des élèves de tous les niveaux et où ils peuvent mettre à l'épreuve leurs compétences en science, technologie, ingénierie et mathématiques; bâtir leur communauté et se brancher au reste du monde.

[Transition vers un écran blanc et gris, avec un plan moyen de la femme, souriante, sur le côté gauche de l'écran, avec les mots suivants apparaissant, ligne par ligne, à droite : Benjamin Kelly, Caledonia Regional High School, Hillsborough (Nouveau-Brunswick). Voix hors champ : Benjamin Kelly.]

[L'écran redevient blanc, avec le Programme de coordination de l'image de marque (PCIM) du gouvernement du Canada, puis le mot-symbole Canada apparaissant en noir.]

Année : 2019 — Province : Alberta
Lauréate d'un Certificat d'excellence

Benjamin Kelly

Technologie, Informatique, Mathématiques, Cybersécurité, Productions numériques, Entrepreneuriat, Éducation coopérative, Études en sciences de l'environnement et des médias, de la 6e à 12e année.
Caledonia Regional High School, Hillsborough (Nouveau-Brunswick)

« Les technologies qu'il a dans sa salle de classe sont incroyables.... Il se passe toujours tellement de choses et il n'arrête pas d'en ajouter davantage. J'adore sa façon de créer une mission de projet avec nous et de nous laisser ensuite décider comment faire pour nous acquitter de cette mission. »
— Élève

Chaque élève du Caledonia Regional High s'inscrit au programme de STIM de Benjamin Kelly, ce qui lui donne non seulement un accès direct à tous les anciens de cette petite école rurale, mais aussi la capacité d'exercer une influence positive sur eux.

Approche pédagogique

Benjamin met l'accent sur l'empathie et les compétences générales dans ses nombreux cours et activités parascolaires, tout en soutenant avec créativité la maîtrise des STIM par les élèves. Sous le slogan « Le monde a assez d'applications pour les lampes de poche », il encourage les élèves à trouver les vraies solutions à des problèmes réels.

Les STIM en salle de classe

  • Il a mis sur pied le Centre de STIMpathie (STIMpathy Centre) où les élèves peuvent communiquer avec leurs pairs du monde entier grâce à Skype, ce qui accroît leur sentiment d'appartenance à un groupe. La salle de classe est aussi un havre où les élèves du secondaire peuvent bâtir leur communauté grâce aux activités liées aux STIM et un endroit où les collégiens peuvent mettre en pratique leurs compétences en STIM.
  • Benjamin exploite des outils, tels que le jeu vidéo Minecraft aux fins d'apprentissage. Par exemple, des élèves de six continents formulent des réponses aux objectifs de développement durable de l'ONU dans un univers commun qu'il a créé.
  • Il encourage les élèves à poursuivre un apprentissage personnalisé en STIM. L'un d'eux a conçu le Drapeau rose pour la sensibilisation à l'intimidation qui est maintenant vendu et qui flotte partout au Canada et l'autre a développé une application pour traduire les phrases courantes de l'arabe en anglais pour les nouveaux arrivants à l'école.
  • Il offre des possibilités de poursuivre les cours en STIM à l'extérieur de la classe : les élèves ont aidé à relâcher à la main un saumon de l'Atlantique dans un réseau hydrographique, puis conçu et relâché un ballon STIM à haute altitude.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Responsable de nombreux projets pionniers de l'école, dont le premier programme de dronographie de la maternelle à la 12e année au Canada (les élèves s'entraînent aux livraisons de secours en cas de catastrophe et font des enquêtes sur les dommages causés par les inondations avec une flotte de plus de dix drones); les élèves ont été les premiers créateurs des applications iOS au Canada Atlantique.
  • Il dirige les activités d'engagement communautaire — communauté d'apprentissage professionnelle de l'école (Community Engagement Professional Learning Community), explore et exploite les éventuelles possibilités de perfectionnement coopératif et professionnel, ainsi que des technologies de pointe qui n'existent pas dans les écoles.
  • Il a été nommé membre distingué du Conseil consultatif des éducateurs d'Apple (Apple Distinguished Educator Advisory Board) pour les Amériques, membre du Conseil consultatif de l'éducateur innovateur de Microsoft (Microsoft Innovative Educator Fellow), prix de l'éducateur de l'année en STIM du Nouveau-Brunswick et prix de l'Innovateur du Nouveau-Brunswick (un honneur provincial rare qu'il partage avec l'inventeur de la bouteille de plongée).
  • Chef de file provincial dans la création et la mise à l'essai de ressources en STIM et en éducation à la citoyenneté numérique, et il faisait partie des équipes qui ont élaboré le programme provincial de STIM de la 6e à la 10e année.
Transcription – Benjamin Kelly - Prix du Premier ministre 2019 pour l'excellence dans l'enseignement des STIM

[Écran noir s'estompe vers un gros plan d'un homme en situation d'entrevue, sur fond blanc. Musique de fond.]

« Le principal facteur qui contribue à la réussite scolaire d'un élève est la relation entre l'enseignant et l'élève. »

[Écran noir de transition avec voix hors-champ. Photos comme suit : Benjamin Kelly à une table avec une tablette électronique devant lui parle à deux élèves et pointe quelque chose sur la table ; une élève se tient à côté d'un ordinateur, elle porte des lunettes de réalité virtuelle et tient une manette de contrôle.]

« Si un élève et un professeur ont une bonne relation, cela va au-delà de l'apprentissage des élèves et peut renforcer les communautés scolaires. »

[Écran noir de transition, puis retour à l'écran blanc avec un plan moyen d'un homme souriant, à la droite de l'écran. À gauche, les mots suivants apparaissent, une ligne à la fois : Benjamin Kelly, Caledonia Regional High School, Hillsborough, New Brunswick. Écran noir de transition, puis gros plan de Benjamin en situation d'entrevue.]

« Dans ma classe, j'ai un programme que j'appelle STEMpathy. Et, c'est plus qu'un joli nom. C'est la combinaison des deux choses dont mes élèves ont besoin pour aller de l'avant. »

[Coupure vers une vidéo de Benjamin qui se tient derrière un lutrin et parle aux autres lauréates et lauréats lors de sa présentation sur les pratiques exemplaires dans sa classe.]

[Voix hors-champ.]

« Les STIM sont super, mais il manquait un élément, un ingrédient dans mon programme. »

[Retour à Benjamin en situation d'entrevue.]

« Et, quand j'ai découvert que c'était de l'empathie, ça a tout changé pour moi. Donc, à partir de maintenant, nous nous concentrons sur l'empathie comme une finalité dans la classe de STIM. »

[Écran noir de transition et retour à un gros plan de Benjamin en situation d'entrevue.]

« Vous pouvez simplement créer une application de lampe de poche, mais le monde a assez d'applications de lampe de poche, alors ce que nous faisons, c'est que nous cherchons à atteindre notre finalité, c'est pourquoi nous avons demandé à des élèves de traduire des applications pour des élèves syriens dans la classe. Nous avons eu des élèves qui ont fait des applications de caisse de résonance pour des élèves non communicatifs. Avec les drones, nous avons le premier programme de drones au Canada dans notre école. Donc, au lieu de nous contenter de voler pour le plaisir et de faire des courses de drones, nous faisons des levés d'inondation, des secours d'urgence en cas de catastrophe à l'aide de drones. Alors, c'est vraiment de trouver cette finalité pour aider les autres. »

[Saut à un plan moyen de Benjamin en situation d'entrevue.]

« En ajoutant de l'empathie à mon programme de STIM, je prépare vraiment nos enfants non seulement à réussir dans leur carrière, mais aussi à devenir des citoyens qui réussiront dans l'avenir. »

[Écran noir de transition vers une vidéo de Benjamin pendant sa présentation sur les pratiques exemplaires ; photos de différents lauréats et lauréates qui écoutent ; Benjamin interagit avec les autres lauréates et lauréats ; retour à la vidéo de sa présentation.]

[Voix hors-champ.]

« Ma classe idéale a été grandement influencée par le fait d'être ici à la cérémonie de remise des prix du Premier ministre et de rencontrer d'autres enseignants de partout au pays qui sont tout simplement exceptionnels. »

[Retour à Benjamin en situation d'entrevue.]

« En fait, je tenterais d'équilibrer ma classe 50/50, sinon plus, à l'extérieur. Faire sortir les enfants plus souvent. Leur faire de l'apprentissage par l'expérience à l'extérieur, mais, en même temps, quand nous sommes en classe, il n'y aurait pas de places assignées. Il y aurait des stations de travail debout partout, si on en avait. »

[Écran noir de transition et retour à Benjamin en situation d'entrevue.]

« Je commence par une mission. Alors les enfants savent que les cinq premières minutes sont à moi. J'adore cet échange avec eux parce que je leur dis : 'Les cinq premières minutes sont à moi. Le reste du temps, c'est à vous et à nous, ensemble.' »

[Écran noir avec voix hors-champ et série de photos, comme suit : Des élèves assis autour d'un ordinateur portable regardent un grand écran d'ordinateur dans la classe ; un élève regarde un modèle 3D sur un grand écran d'ordinateur.]

« Après avoir lancé cette mission, je ne suis pas un facilitateur. J'y vais avec les enfants et je me salis. »

[Retour à Benjamin en situation d'entrevue.]

« Mais je trouve vraiment que je peux apprendre plus en travaillant avec les élèves sur leurs projets que simplement en circulant et en animant le projet. »

[Écran noir avec voix hors-champ et série de photos, comme suit : Benjamin pose avec d'autre lauréate des Prix du Premier ministre pour l'excellence dans l'enseignement des STIM et un membre de la GRC en tunique rouge; Benjamin, le pouce en l'air, pose avec le premier ministre après avoir reçu son certificat des Prix du Premier ministre ; Benjamin, le pouce en l'air, pose avec Paul Thompson, sous-ministre adjoint, Innovation, Science et Développement économique Canada, après avoir reçu son épinglette des Prix du Premier ministre ; Benjamin et son enfant testent différentes activités au Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada.]

"Si je pouvais dire quelque chose à mes élèves, je voudrais les remercier de toujours avoir l'esprit ouvert et de plonger la tête la première dans la folie que j'apporte souvent à la classe."

[Transition vers un écran noir avec le PCIM du gouvernement du Canada, suivi du mot-symbole Canada en blanc.]

Contactez-nous!

Caledonia Regional High School
35 School Lane
Hillsborough (Nouveau-Brunswick) E4H 3B8

506-734-3710
Donna.Godfrey@nbed.nb.ca; http://caledonia.nbed.nb.ca
Twitter : @CRHSNB, @BBTNB

Date de modification :