Language selection

Search

Arda Thomson: inspiring the next generation of female scientists and engineers

Year: 2019 — Province: Manitoba
Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Arda Thomson

Kindergarten (science, math, social studies, language arts, art)
Balmoral Hall School, Winnipeg, Manitoba

"I feel absolutely privileged that my daughters have had the opportunity to learn from a teacher who believes in STEM, believes in pushing the boundaries of what women can accomplish, and believes in girls education and academic excellence."
— Parent

Arda Thomson helps very young girls develop a depth of knowledge of science and research typical of much older students and guides them to become confident, curious, resilient and globally aware—the next generation of scientists and engineers.

Teaching approach

Arda provides stimulating and purposeful learning opportunities that address the needs of students to foster their intellectual, social, emotional and physical development. She ensures that each of her young female students can see what she can be every single day.

STEM in the classroom

  • Immerses students in STEM: they learn the scientific method and design process, and keep journals to record their predictions, observations and conclusions; questions arising in Show and Teach go on the Wonder Wall to be answered through teacher-guided class research and discussion.
  • Ensures children have a variety of experiences with technology while appropriately limiting screen time: they do online research, working with Grade 4 buddies to design posters showing their work, and using a Bee-Bot to practise addition and subtraction and learn the rudiments of coding.
  • Collaborates with technology teacher to enhance learning: students record their presentations on the rights of a child, using a green screen to synchronize pictures they had drawn of children who have rights and those who do not with their voices.
  • Focuses classroom activity centres around tinkering and building: children can make structures with large wooden bricks and lumber, use tools such as levels and meter sticks, and explore magnetism (with magnets), optics (with lenses), and pressure and buoyancy (sinking and floating submarine).

Outstanding achievements

  • Spearheads school's annual STEAM-themed fair, a day-long festival with guest speakers and booths set up for exploring; involves representatives from outside organizations to share their expertise; older students lead activities for junior school students.
  • Chosen to join a provincial committee, involving the government and some of the largest engineering firms in the province, to come up with a plan to reach the goal of having 30 percent of the practising engineers in Manitoba be women by 2030.

Get in touch!

Balmoral Hall School
630 Westminster Avenue
Winnipeg MB R3C 3S1

204-784-1600
info@balmoralhall.ca
www.balmoralhall.com
Twitter: @balmoralhall

Date modified:

Arda Thomson : Inspirer la prochaine génération de femmes scientifiques et ingénieurs

Année : 2019 — Province : Manitoba
Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

Arda Thomson

Maternelle (sciences, mathématiques, études sociales, arts du langage, art)
École Balmoral Hall, Winnipeg (Manitoba)

« Je me sens absolument privilégiée que mes filles aient eu l'occasion d'apprendre d'une enseignante qui croit aux STIM, qui croit qu'il faut repousser les limites de ce que les femmes peuvent accomplir et qui croit en l'éducation des filles et en l'excellence scolaire. »
— Parent

Arda Thomson aide les très jeunes filles à développer une connaissance approfondie des sciences et de la recherche qui est typique des élèves beaucoup plus âgés et les guide pour qu'elles aient confiance en elles-mêmes, qu'elles deviennent curieuses, résilientes et conscientes au niveau mondial. En d'autres termes,préparer la prochaine génération de scientifiques et d'ingénieurs.

Approche pédagogique

Arda offre des possibilités d'apprentissage stimulantes et utiles qui répondent aux besoins des élèves afin de favoriser leur développement intellectuel, social, émotionnel et physique. Elle veille à ce que chacune de ses jeunes élèves puisse voir ce qu'elle peut être chaque jour.

Les STIM en salle de classe

  • Elle favorise l'immersion de ses élèves dans les STIM. Ils apprennent la méthode scientifique et le processus de conception, et tiennent un journal pour noter leurs prédictions, observations et conclusions; les questions soulevées dans la démonstration et l'enseignement sont écrites sur le mur des questions (Wonder Wall) pour obtenir des réponses par des recherches et des discussions dirigées par les enseignants.
  • Elle veille à ce que les enfants aient des expériences variées avec les technologies tout en limitant convenablement le temps passé à l'écran. Ils font des recherches en ligne, travaillent avec des camarades de 4e année pour concevoir des affiches montrant leur travail et utilisent un Bee-Bot pour pratiquer l'addition et la soustraction et apprendre les rudiments de la programmation.
  • Elle collabore avec le professeur de technologie pour améliorer l'apprentissage : les élèves enregistrent leurs présentations sur les droits de l'enfant, en utilisant un écran vert pour synchroniser les images qu'ils ont dessinées des enfants qui ont des droits et de ceux qui n'en ont pas avec leur voix.
  • Les activités en classe sont axées sur le bricolage et la construction. Les enfants peuvent fabriquer des structures avec de grosses briques de bois et du bois d'œuvre, utiliser des outils comme des niveaux et des bâtons de mesure et explorer le magnétisme (avec des aimants), l'optique (avec des lentilles), la pression et la flottabilité (sous-marin coulant et flottant).

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Elle est le fer de lance du salon annuel sous le thème des STIM à l'école, un festival d'une journée avec des conférenciers invités et des kiosques d'exploration; des représentants d'organismes externes y participent pour partager leur expertise; des élèves plus âgés dirigent des activités pour les élèves des écoles primaires.
  • Elle a choisi de se joindre à un comité provincial, avec la participation du gouvernement et de certaines des plus grandes firmes d'ingénierie de la province, pour élaborer un plan visant à atteindre l'objectif d'avoir 30 pour cent de femmes parmi les ingénieurs en exercice au Manitoba d'ici 2030.

Contactez-nous!

Balmoral Hall School
630 Westminster Avenue
Winnipeg (Manitoba) R3C 3S1

204-784-1600
info@balmoralhall.ca
www.balmoralhall.com
Twitter : @balmoralhall

Date de modification :