Craig Morrison: at-risk youth have something to offer

Year: 2019 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Craig Morrison

All, with focus on art and design, and business entrepreneurship, grades 9–12
Oasis Skateboard Factory, Toronto, Ontario

"After a short time at the school, I realized that I was in an environment that allowed me to be successful because my peers and the teachers are so supportive that it actually feels like they want me to succeed."  — Student

The Oasis Skateboard Factory program flips the charity model for reaching young people on its head. Running this small design and skateboard building business, Craig Morrison creates opportunities for as-risk youth to be seen as people with something to offer not as empty vessels to be filled up.

Teaching approach

Craig seeks to engage students who do not fit into the regular school system. Immediately calming and encouraging, he creates a relaxing and welcoming atmosphere, while giving them thoughtful critiques and feedback on their work.

In the classroom

  • Reaches out to community partners and creative professionals, so students learn from people actually doing their jobs, who then serve as mentors; for example, they meet throughout the year with the staff of a company that specializes in branding, who help them build their own brands.
  • Organizes a project with an Indigenous theme each semester; students have created boards with artwork by local artists on the theme of water, for example.
  • Helps students develop skills and increase their confidence by, for example, teaching a class of 25 community members to build skateboards over an eight-week program, or applying for and winning a grant to use for their own businesses.
  • Introduces students to how power can be used in good and bad ways, which is useful knowledge for students who have struggled with the power dynamic in the regular school system.

Outstanding achievements

  • Founded and has run for 14 years the school board's annual alternative school art show.
  • Won the Ontario Art Education Association's Art Educator of the Year award in 2012.
  • Honoured, along with fellow program staff and students, by The Learning Partnership as official Champions of Education in 2018.

Get in touch!

Oasis Skateboard Factory
Scadding Court Community Centre
Room 3, 707 Dundas St. West
Toronto ON M5T 2W6
416-393-0845
Oasis@tdsb.on.ca
http://oasisskateboardfactory.blogspot.com/
Facebook: @OasisSkateboardFactory
Instagram: @oasisskateboardfactory

Date modified:

Craig Morrison: les jeunes à risque ont quelque chose à offrir

Année : 2019 – Province : Ontario

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

Craig Morrison

Toutes les matières, avec une attention particulière sur l'art et le design, et l'entrepreneuriat d'affaires,
de la 9e à la 12e année Oasis Alternative Secondary School – Oasis Skateboard Factory, Toronto (Ontario)

« Peu de temps après mon arrivée à l'école, j'ai réalisé que j'étais dans un milieu qui me permettait de réussir parce que mes pairs et les enseignants sont si encourageants que j'ai l'impression qu'ils veulent me voir réussir. »  — Un élève

Le programme Oasis Skateboard Factory secoue le modèle caritatif pour atteindre les jeunes. En exploitant cette petite entreprise de design et de fabrication de planches à roulettes, Craig Morrison permet aux jeunes à risque d'être vus comme des personnes ayant quelque chose à offrir plutôt que comme des vases vides qui doivent être remplis de savoir.

Méthode d'enseignement

Craig cherche à intéresser les élèves qui ne trouvent pas leur place dans le système scolaire ordinaire. D'emblée calme et encourageant, il crée une atmosphère relaxante et accueillante, tout en leur formulant des critiques et des commentaires réfléchis sur leur travail.

En classe

  • Il fait appel à des partenaires et à des professionnels créatifs de la collectivité pour que les élèves puissent apprendre des gens mêmes qui font leur travail et qui font figure de mentors. P. ex., ils rencontrent en cours d'année les employés d'une entreprise spécialisée en stratégie de marque qui les aident à créer leur propre marque.
  • Il organise chaque semestre un projet au thème autochtone. P. ex., des élèves ont créé des planches enjolivées d'œuvres d'artistes locaux sur le thème de l'eau.
  • Il aide les élèves à développer des compétences et à renforcer leur confiance, p. ex., en enseignant à une classe de 25 membres de la collectivité à fabriquer des planches à roulettes dans le cadre d'un programme de huit semaines ou en les aidant à demander et à obtenir une subvention pour leur propre entreprise.
  • Il enseigne aux élèves de quelle manière le pouvoir peut servir à bon ou à mauvais escient, une notion utile pour les élèves qui ont éprouvé des problèmes avec la dynamique du pouvoir dans le système scolaire ordinaire.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Il a fondé l'exposition d'art annuelle de l'école alternative du conseil scolaire et l'a organisée pendant 14 ans.
  • Il a remporté en 2012 le prix de l'enseignant en art de l'année décerné par l'Ontario Art Education Association.
  • En 2018, lui et ses collègues et élèves du programme ont été nommés officiellement Champions de l'éducation par le Partenariat en éducation.

Prenez contact!

Oasis Skateboard Factory
Scadding Court Community Centre
Room 3, 707 Dundas St. West
Toronto (Ontario) M5T 2W6
416-393-0845
Oasis@tdsb.on.ca
http://oasisskateboardfactory.blogspot.com/
Facebook : @OasisSkateboardFactory
Instagram : @oasisskateboardfactory

Date de modification :