Language selection

Search

Terrance Alonza Saunders: culturally relevant learning leads to better learning

Year: 2019 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Terrance Alonza Saunders

Language Arts, Social Studies, Drama and Dance, and Associate Host Teacher, grades 6–8
Lawrence Heights Middle School, Toronto, Ontario

"Mr. Saunders transformed my daughter from a timid and shy duckling into a confident and eloquent swan [in a Grade 8 theatre production]. He saw something in her and did not let a special education designation prevent her from shining."  — Parent

Following in the footsteps of his mother, who was a teacher for 40 years, Terrance Saunders has worked since 1989 in a Toronto neighbourhood with one of the city's highest child poverty rates. By now having taught multiple generations, he has always been committed to students' success.

Teaching approach

Taking an anti-oppression and inclusive approach, Terrance works to ensure his teaching is culturally relevant to his students, believing that students can learn better when they are understood, feel loved and are held to a high standard.

In the classroom

  • Encourages students to explores and discuss controversial topics: for example, a theatre production looked at the traditional narrative of Confederation from the perspective of non-signatories to the British North America Act through dialogue, tableau, dance, music and costumes.
  • Uses an inquiry-based model to generate higher order thinking in students: asking and answering questions about the role of education in society, and how the school board could rethink Remembrance Day assemblies to reflect the contributions of all Canadians.
  • Strives to make school a success for Black Canadian children: for example, to engage the students and emphasize the value of education, he introduced them to a book about a man who returned to slavery to teach other slaves to read and write.
  • Harnesses drama and dance, integrated with language arts and other subjects, to tap into student interest and energy, and build self-esteem and inspire confidence; students read widely and take part in drama productions to give them the courage to speak truths.

Outstanding achievements

  • Commissioned to teach a community drama workshop to address the issues of displacement, community violence and economic well-being as part of a larger community revitalization effort.
  • Held Position of Responsibility at board's Africentric Alternative School, creating its first celebrations of the Day Against Homophobia and Transphobia and leading activities for African Heritage Month.
  • Served as coordinator of fine arts program within university education faculty, placing teacher candidates in a variety of socio-economic and ethnically diverse communities, and helping them develop culturally relevant lessons.

Get in touch!

Lawrence Heights Middle School
50 Highland Hill
Toronto ON M6A 2R1
416-395-2620
lawrenceheights@tdsb.on.ca
https://schoolweb.tdsb.on.ca/lawrenceheights/

Date modified:

Terrance Alonza Saunders: l’apprentissage adapté à la culture conduit vers un meilleur apprentissage

Année : 2019 – Province : Ontario

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

Terrance Alonza Saunders

Arts du langage, études sociales, théâtre et danse, et enseignant d'accueil associé, de la 6e à la 8e année
Lawrence Heights Middle School, Toronto (Ontario)

« Grâce à M. Saunders, le petit canard timide et discret qu'était ma fille s'est transformé en un cygne confiant et éloquent [dans une production théâtrale de la 8e année]. Il a vu quelque chose en elle et n'a pas laissé son statut d'enfant aux besoins spéciaux l'empêcher de briller. »  — Un parent

Suivant les traces de sa mère qui a enseigné pendant 40 ans, Terrance Saunders œuvre depuis 1989 dans un quartier de Toronto affichant l'un des taux de pauvreté infantile les plus élevés de la ville. Au fil des nombreuses générations qu'il a formées, il s'est toujours engagé à favoriser la réussite des élèves.

Méthode d'enseignement

Par son approche inclusive et anti-oppressive, Terrance veille à ce que son enseignement soit adapté à la culture de ses élèves, estimant que les élèves apprennent mieux lorsqu'ils se sentent compris, aimés et soumis à des normes élevées.

En classe

  • Il encourage les élèves à explorer et à aborder des sujets controversés : p. ex., en présentant le récit traditionnel de la Confédération du point de vue des non-signataires de l'Acte de l'Amérique du Nord britannique dans le cadre d'une production théâtrale alliant dialogues, tableaux, danse, de musique et costumes.
  • Il utilise un modèle d'apprentissage par investigation pour susciter chez les élèves une réflexion de haut niveau : questions et réponses sur le rôle de l'éducation dans la société et sur la façon dont le conseil scolaire pourrait revoir les assemblées du jour du Souvenir afin de tenir compte des contributions de tous les Canadiens.
  • Il s'efforce d'assurer la réussite scolaire des enfants canadiens noirs : p. ex., pour mobiliser les élèves et souligner la valeur de l'éducation, il leur a présenté un livre sur un homme qui est redevenu esclave pour enseigner la lecture et l'écriture aux autres esclaves.
  • Il intègre le théâtre et la danse aux arts du langage et à d'autres disciplines pour exploiter les domaines d'intérêt et l'énergie des élèves, et pour renforcer leur estime de soi et leur donner confiance. Les élèves lisent beaucoup et participent à des productions théâtrales qui leur donnent le courage de dire des vérités.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Il a été chargé d'animer un atelier dramatique communautaire sur les questions de déplacement, de violence communautaire et de bien-être économique dans le cadre d'un vaste effort de revitalisation de la collectivité.
  • Il a, dans le cadre d'un poste à responsabilité dans une école alternative afrocentriste du conseil scolaire, mis sur pied les premières célébrations de la Journée internationale contre l'homophobie et la transphobie et coordonné des activités dans le cadre du Mois du patrimoine africain.
  • Il a, à titre de coordonnateur du programme de beaux-arts de la faculté d'éducation de l'université, placé des candidats enseignants dans différentes collectivités diversifiées sur les plans socioéoconomiques et culturels et les a aidés à développer des enseignements adaptés à la culture.

Prenez contact!

Lawrence Heights Middle School
50 Highland Hill
Toronto (Ontario) M6A 2R1
416-395-2620
lawrenceheights@tdsb.on.ca
https://schoolweb.tdsb.on.ca/lawrenceheights/

Date de modification :