Calvin D. Van Eek: caring, compassionate and dedicated to student success

Year: 2019 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Calvin D. Van Eek

Human Development, World Cultures, Personal Life Management, Philosophy, Working with Infants
and Young Children, grades 11 and 12
Waterloo Oxford District Secondary School, Baden, Ontario

"[Mr. Van Eek places] everyone on the same level of respect and importance in the classroom. He does not hold himself at a higher level, and believes that we the students also have potential. He genuinely listens and appreciates our opinions."  — Student


Towering over his students, Calvin Van Eek is a gentle giant, known for his caring, compassion and dedication to student success, and for energizing and engaging classes. Beginning his teaching career in the federal corrections system, he is the long-time head of his school's family studies department.

Teaching approach

Calvin is thoughtful listener, who tries to develop the same skill in his students. With a background in psychology, he works to understand where his students are coming from and to support them in a positive manner.

In the classroom

  • Integrates technology in a variety of ways: students dictate class notes using Google Read and Write, and explore the development of language by examining and discussing artificial intelligence voices; students learning to care for children analyze the data collected by an infant simulator.
  • Incorporates cross-curricular teaching into social science classes: for example, he uses real sheep brains when introducing brain structure and development; students create posters of critical human growth periods to ground them in the basics of growth and reproduction.
  • Prioritizes students' mental health, not scheduling tests on the same days as other teachers and being flexible with due dates; works closely with guidance counsellors and others to support students who are struggling and, in fact, became a guidance counsellor himself for two years.

Outstanding achievements

  • Chairs the school board's family studies subject matter association, helping colleagues enhance assessment and evaluation for courses in this area.
  • Active participant in the school community, running a hand-drumming club, coaching the alpine ski team, catering fundraisers and helping run the annual feast the school puts on for 200 seniors.
  • Facilitates professional development sessions on, for example, using new digital tools in teaching and evaluation, and on supporting student mental health initiatives.
  • Has acted as a mentor in the New Teacher Induction Program.

Get in touch!

Waterloo Oxford District Secondary School
1206 Snyder's Road West
Baden ON N3A 1A4
519-634-5441
carolyn_salonen@wrdsb.ca
https://wod.wrdsb.ca/
Twitter: @WOCarpeDiem

Date modified:

Calvin D. Van Eek: bienveillant, compatissant et dédié à la réussite des élèves

Année : 2019 – Province : Ontario

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

Calvin D. Van Eek

Développement humain, cultures du monde, préparation à la vie, philosophie, travail avec les
nourrissons et les jeunes enfants, en 11e et 12e années
Waterloo Oxford District Secondary School, Baden (Ontario)

« En classe, M. Van Eek traite chacun avec le même niveau de respect et d'importance. Il ne se met pas sur un piédestal et croit que nous les élèves avons également du potentiel. Il écoute et valorise vraiment nos opinions. »  — Un élève


Surplombant ses élèves, Calvin Van Eek est un gentil géant, reconnu pour sa bienveillance, sa compassion et son dévouement à la réussite des élèves, et pour sa faculté à énergiser et à mobiliser les classes. Il a fait ses débuts en tant qu'enseignant dans le système correctionnel fédéral et il est depuis longtemps à la tête du département des études familiales de son école.

Méthode d'enseignement

Calvin est un auditeur réfléchi qui tente de développer la même compétence chez ses élèves. Diplômé en psychologie, il s'efforce de comprendre d'où viennent ses élèves et de les appuyer de manière positive.

En classe

  • Il intègre la technologie de nombreuses façons : les élèves dictent des notes de classe au moyen de Google Read and Write et étudient l'acquisition du langage en examinant et en analysant les voix de l'intelligence artificielle; les élèves qui apprennent à s'occuper des enfants analysent les données recueillies par un simulateur de bébé.
  • Il intègre l'enseignement pluridisciplinaire dans ses cours de sciences sociales : p. ex., il utilise de véritables cervelles de mouton lorsqu'il parle de structure et de développement du cerveau; les élèves créent des affiches sur les grandes étapes de la croissance du corps humain pour s'imprégner des rudiments de la croissance et de la reproduction.
  • Il met au premier plan la santé mentale des élèves en évitant de planifier des tests les mêmes jours que d'autres enseignants et en étant flexible au sujet des dates d'échéance. Il travaille en étroite collaboration avec des conseillers d'orientation et d'autres ressources pour appuyer des élèves qui éprouvent des difficultés et, en fait, a lui-même été conseiller d'orientation pendant deux ans.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Il préside l'association sur les études familiales du conseil scolaire, et aide ses collègues à améliorer l'évaluation des cours dans ce domaine.
  • Il participe activement à la communauté scolaire en dirigeant un club de tambour à main, en entraînant l'équipe de ski alpin, en s'occupant des campagnes de financement et en aidant à planifier la fête annuelle qu'organise l'école pour 200 aînés.
  • Il anime des séances de perfectionnement professionnel, notamment sur l'utilisation de nouveaux outils numériques pour l'enseignement et l'évaluation et sur l'appui aux initiatives en matière de santé mentale des élèves.
  • Il a agi à titre de mentor dans le cadre du programme d'insertion professionnelle du nouveau personnel enseignant.

Prenez contact!

Waterloo Oxford District Secondary School
1206 Snyder's Road West
Baden (Ontario) N3A 1A4
519-634-5441
carolyn_salonen@wrdsb.ca
https://wod.wrdsb.ca/
Twitter: @WOCarpeDiem

Date de modification :